We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, good ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Old West Steakhouse

Ken's Old West Steakhouse
718 Vista Ave., Page, AZ 86040
520-645-5160
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 48 Restaurants in Page
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“OK food, good ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We "stumbled" across Ken's Steakhouse, looked rundown from the outside but we gave it a go as there seemed to be a shortage of decent restaurants in Page. It was early, about 6:30pm so not many diners. My wife and I ordered pork ribs which were OK. The ambiance was good and probably very lively when the live band started later in the evening but as we had an 8 hour jet lag kicking in we gave it a miss

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    42
    33
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redington Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OK Food, Great People and Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

So Ken's Old West doesn't have the best food I've ever eaten. And it is kind of dark, but it's the happening place in Page on a Saturday night or Monday holiday Sunday night as was our case.

I had the Beef Ribs I was remembering from eating at other restaurants years ago as being moist and tender because they are from the area of the cow used to make prime rib. Unfortunately mine were overcooked and dry and doused in BBQ sauce I should have expected and didn't want. But the salad bar was decent and the baked potato nice. Mom had pork chops she loved.

The highlight, though, was the entertainment that starts at about 8-ish. We moved into the back where there was a small bar and lots of tables. Had we known, we would have taken a dinner table back there. But the local band that played a sort of country-rock-reggae was fun and I don't know if listening and signing with them or watching all the locals get up and dance was better.

I don't know if I'd go back if it was a night without live entertainment. But the service was good and friendly, so if a band was playing - I'd return. I'd probably order something different and ask the to hold the sauce. We did have fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just about as bad as a restaurant can be.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Terrible food, average service from the one person in the whole restaurant that was smiling, and the staff was smoking right outside the front door. The decor was a run down 1980's feeble attempt at western color... Filthy, dusty, and smelly is what it is now. We should have walked out and gone elsewhere. We were starving so we stayed. I won't repeat that mistake again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Slow service, old food. The joint was full of tour groups surely because they are a captive group and didn't have a choice. The food was simply bad, and waiting for a table in an empty restaurant never feels good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If the apathy of the staff doesn't ruin your appetite, then the food they serve you will. Went to this restaurant looking for a little flavor of the southwest but ended up walking out after receiving some of the worst service in memory. where's the love, Kens?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Old West Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Old West Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's Old West Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.