We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So crowded!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Guided Tour of Lower Antelope Canyon

Ken's Guided Tour of Lower Antelope Canyon
Page, AZ 86040
(928) 606-2168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Activities in Page
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So crowded!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to the lower falls because people said it was just as beautiful but not as crowded. We waited about an hour in line for tickets because they don't take reservations. Then they took us down in a group of 90 people (despite that the website says they take a maximum of 15 people). It was beautiful but extremely crowded and we heard nothing the guide said. He said at the beginning of the canyon that he would be pointing out things and people should pass the information back to the person behind them. Really??? With 90 people, and half don't speak English? Very poor tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    30
    11
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Worth time and patience....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This rating is for the tour only. The scenery and topography of Antelope Canyon is definitely 5 stars, but there's room for improvement on the tour side. Visiting during the busy holiday weekend and peak hours wasn't ideal, but unavoidable during Zion road trip.

Based on reviews, expected the heat, lines, and crowds, but was hoping to get photo passes. Sadly, told one pass per group so we packed away tripods for another visit. With a combined group of three tours, they provided only two guides, front and rear.

The stairs down into canyon and back up were steep, but manageable. First section no handrails so stepping down backwards not so crazy. Traveling through canyon was VERY slow, but unhurried for photos, nice! Felt middle travelers missed on the story-telling and points of interest. Also, was looking forward to flute music, but later learned our guide passed it on to another group following behind.

Our guides were helpful, took group photo and ensured we wouldn't need photoshop for any enhancements, and they were right! Most of all, enjoyed the tight spaces, changeable colors and textures in the canyon...it's an amazing place and well worth your time and patience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing canyon!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're close to Page you have to go to Antelope Canyon, it's very beautiful. Furthermore, our guide was really nice, he tell you the best spots to take the best photos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW! Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really enjoyed the lower canyon tour. While the "guides" were not following us or guiding us through, they were definitely friendly and giving us tips/info whenever we ran into them.
It is a little trickier as there are a couple areas that get very narrow and/or footing is not stable - but overall pretty easy.
The are stairs with handrails and its a little narrow in spots but can easily get through it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than Upper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really enjoyed the lower canyon tour. While the "guides" were not following us or guiding us through, they were definitely friendly and giving us tips/info whenever we ran into them.
The best part was that most people were gone at the 4pm tour - which is the last tour of the day. While not completely empty, because there are so many turns and shifts it does seem that it is empty.
It is a little trickier as there are a couple areas that get very narrow and/or footing is not stable - but overall pretty easy.
Only downside - we were not allowed tripods at 4pm - if you do a photography tour you may want to take the 3pm tour if you want use of your tripod. Make sure you ask not to pay the permit fees again if you do an upper canyon tour - and take the receipts with you.
We liked this better than the upper canyon tour, as time was not as limited and we didn't feel rushed through. and as I said earlier, it seemed as though there were less people as the canyon is narrower and turns a quite a bit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Guided Tour of Lower Antelope Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Guided Tour of Lower Antelope Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's Guided Tour of Lower Antelope Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.