We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour with smaller group size” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overland Canyon Tours

Overland Canyon Tours
48 S. Lake Powell Blvd., P O Box 4075, Page, AZ 86040
928-608-4072
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Activities in Page
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour with smaller group size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

OK, first, you're going to be in Upper Antelope Canyon with LOTS of other people, but Overland Canyon tours keeps its group sizes smaller and you benefit from that. I took a photo tour and was one of only two people on the tour. The advantage of the photo tour is that you have twice the time in the canyon, are able to use your tripod (essential for high quality photos), and the general tour groups need to go around you and stop to give you an opportunity for photos without people in them. In addition, your tour guide will advise you where to stand to capture the shots and point out interesting features/designs. It's worth the extra cost of a photo tour. Jackie, my tour guide, said that the owner of Overland is a photographer herself and appreciates the needs of photographers, thus the smaller tour sizes. Other operators (Tsosies, for example) had tour sizes of 20+.

We travelled to the Canyon in enclosed SUVs. Another company ferried their customers in open sided vehicles - a very dusty prospect for traveling to the cayon entrance.

A bit of photography advice: if you don't have pro level camersas and lenses that are well sealed, consider bringing a rainsleeve (<$8) for your camera to protect it from the sand/dust. And don't forgot your lenshood to avoid flare. Tripod is a must, but with it you'll come away with FANTASTIC photos.

In October, we didn't get the classic beam of light, BUT we did not need to contend with the crowds that you'll face May-July. Midday tours are considered prime time and the cost is higher to reflect that. In october, I signed up same day for my tour, but for the peak season, you will need to make reservations months in advance if you want to be on a prime-time tour.

Tour price includes a fee for admission to tribal lands. Keep your ticket and you won't have to pay the fee again if/when you take a Lower Antelope Canyon tour (and I recommend that, too).

In addition, Overland overs various tour combos that include other canyons in the area without the crowds.

I loved my tour and, better yet, loved my photos!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    23
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“You won't get lost in the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This company limits the number of people on a tour: 1 to 6 typically, or perhaps 8 if just the Upper Antelope Canyon tour. We did a Combo tour of Upper Antelope and Canyon X. The lady booking us was extremely helpful and really pushed us to start early. We met our guide Robin at 7:45 am and were on the road before 8 am. When we got to Upper Antelope Canyon, we were one of the very first tours there, and Robin was able to get us in, thru and out without having to hassle with the BIG group tours. We actually got photos of the best spots with NO ONE but us in them. From there we headed to Canyon X where we were the ONLY people to tour it that day! We meandered thru at our own pace, had lunch in the canyon, etc. Couldn't have been better. And Robin was a perfect guide. He accomodated our every whim, never dawdling but never rushing us. He was great at pointing out best photo spots, and took many photos of the 2 of us in the most picture perfect locations. To cap it all off, Robin is Native American and helped educate us on customs, sweat lodge & peyote ceremonies, etc. It was an outstanding 6 hours of PRIVATE heaven.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Slot Canyon Guides & Trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have gone with Overland Canyon tours 4 times. Three times to Upper Antelope Canyon, all on the extended photo tour, and once to Canyon X. Their guides to Upper Antelope were excellent! This place can be a real mob and Overland's guides worked with the other guides to help us get clear shots while in the canyon. On the Canyon X trip we were with the owner and he went out of his way to help us. This trip was almost cancelled due to weather and he suggested we think about going another time as we would probably only get into parts of the canyon. Well being from out of town we pressed and sure enough one area was to wet and muddy. But, he worked with us to get some very good shots, even considering the poor conditions. This tour is a bit pricey but on a good day worth it. We will go with them again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The lesser evil of all the evils.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This company provides closed vehicles to the canyon, bottled water, and only leads small groups.The canyon is crowded no matter who you go with, its just that some tour companies are more patient than others. Our guide was as patient as she could be, but you get the feeling she does this so many times a day that she is on autopilot now. She did point out all the famous features and take everyones pictures, but her enthusiasm was a little lacking. Once in the canyon you get pushed through like a herd and its a little frustrating b/c you cant just take time to enjoy and appreciate. We took the 1015 tour, so maybe it woudl be better if you go at a later time in the afternoon. I was happy I went, felt we did the best we could considering how overly populated this destination is, but was a little let down in the end.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hank with his magic flute was wonderful. He took the time to make sure we all had great photos and understood why they were great. The blue "other" company I wouldn't waste your time on. Our group had 6 people in it so hank was able to do the more 1 on 1 teaching without feeling rushed. Hands down I would recommend this tour for anyone! It's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Overland Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overland Canyon Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.