We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Bridge National Monument

Rainbow Bridge National Monument
San Juan County, Navajo Reservation, Page, AZ
520-608-6404
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 attractions in Page
Type: Geologic Formations, Monuments/ Statues
Activities: Hiking, Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The world's largest natural bridge, nearly as high as the Statue of Liberty, spans 275 feet across the water.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took the Rainbow Bridge cruise from the Lake Powell Resort. It was a beautiful trip around the lake.

The walk to the monument is quite a trip, but well worth it. There are areas that are steep and the sand is very soft. However, if you can make the trek, it won't disappoint.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    50
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It took a long time to get to the Rainbow Bridge - six hour boat trip to spend 90 mins walkingand viewing the Rainbow Bridge. Interesting talk from ranger. Not really sure whether it was worth it having seen other natural bridges in this area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake View, AL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I very much enjoyed the boat trip across Lake Powell. The short hike to Rainbow Bridge was nice, even in full sun. I took some awesome pics! I even enjoyed the boat trip back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Take the speedboat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The usual way to visit Rainbow Bridge is to take the concessionaire's tour boat out of Wahweap Marina near Page. However, because of the low water (not likely to change anytime soon) what would normally be a five hour trip now takes seven hours! Others have complained about crowding and other discomforts of this large tour boat, but for us it was also a matter of the time involved. Our solution was to take the speedboat tour out of Antelope Point Marina - http://antelopepointlakepowell.com/recreation/tours-2/

This is essentially a private tour for 2-6 people, so the cost is a little higher. The beauty of it is that travel time is cut to about one hour each way (rather than three), leaving you a little extra time – about an hour and a half – for the mile-and-one-quarter hike each way to the Bridge. There is also an afternoon tour, so that you get out there when the sun is at your back and the bridge is properly illuminated if you want to take a photo. The other tour leaves in the morning and all you see is the shady side of the arch. The box lunch was good, too. The only complaint I would raise is that it is hard to take good photos of the glorious scenery from a fast-moving speedboat, but that's pretty minor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took the boat tour from Lake Powell Resort. The trip out included an audio tour (available in many languages) that was informative - nothing on the trip back. The bridge is visited after a 1.5 mile easy R/T hike. A Park Service volunteer was there to give some background and history on the area. We really enjoyed the hike and boat trip in. The boat trip back seemed like it would never end. Get a seat on the top of the boat going out and go downstairs (out of the sun) for the trip back. WARNING- they advertise this as a 5.5 - 6 hour trip. NOT TRUE. We left at 7:30 am and did not get back till after 3:00 or nearly 8 hours. We assumed we would be back around 1:00 for lunch based on their information. So bring lunch - they do not provide any. Nevertheless it is a great trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Bridge National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Bridge National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Bridge National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Bridge National Monument to your Saves list