We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures

Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures
12 North Lake Powell Boulevard, Page, AZ 86040
928.645.2266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Tours & Activities in Page
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer private scenic tours of area Slot Canyons with the primary toured canyon being Secret Canyon. We also tour to Staircase, and Passage canyons which are located in the Waterholes Canyon drainage. We guarantee there to be no crowds, offering tours that limit people inside the canyon to 10 or less. We also offer specialized photography tours that allow for extended time shooting within the canyons.
CLEVELAND
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A secret gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my wife took this tour on a beautiful morning in September. Our guide Matt was an amazing informative man. We learned a lot of things about local people , there life and also about the flora and fauna of the indian reservation area. We visited both the "fourth canyon" and the "secret canyon". They were amazing - specially in secret canyon we had an out of the world experience. Colors - shades - and patterns in the sandstone were really fascinating. It also helped that we two were the only tourist visiting the slot canyon that time with Matt. He showed us lot of cool photography locations and helped me with taking different low light shots. It was really nice of him to allow using the tripod during the tour - though they are not supposed to allow it during a regular tour. We enjoyed the canyon for more than an hour it was all for ourselves - the twists and turns in the colored sandstone really mesmerized us. On the same day we also visited the lower antelope canyon. The secret canyon is not as beautiful as lower antelope in terms of winding structures, but its very near. However, duc to much lesser penetration of sunlight in the secret canyon the experience was unreal. It also helped that there was nobody else in the canyon and the entire area was all for ourselves for more than an hour.
We were also supposed to visit two other slot canyon as part of the tour but they were flooded that time so we could not go there. On the way back matt did several cool (also scary) acrobatics with the Hummer. That beast really have some power - I must say. After we came back to office he gave us directions for several other cool places and rock formations in an around. I strongly recommend this trip for everybody - if you want to have a private encounter with a slot canyon. The trip did not involve much hiking and in my opinion everybody will be able to enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    12
    2
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“If you are in the area this is a MUST DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this using trip advisor, booked on the phone from the UK and arrived not really sure what to expect. It was fantastic from start to finish, Vance was our guide driver, he was funny and informative, plus not a bad driver!!!!!

The canyon was something to see, with changing colours and temperatures, Vance set up my camera and my photos were great, he even took some for me but I won't be telling my friends that!

He allowed us loads of time to wander round and to take photos, he entertained us with stories about his career, he was so enthusiastic.

Th hummer drive was unbelievable what that vehicle is capable of was awesome.

It is 21/2 hours of pure entertainment DO IT.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Secret Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

we came to Page specifically to tour Antelope Canyon. After reading reviews of it -- excessively crowded and rushed, we looked for something else. The Hummer adventures offer an off road tour to Secret canyon. Wow what a place. They are the only group that goes there so there are no crowds and you can take your time. The canyon is awesome -- 2.5 times the length of Antelope. This is a definitely a must do!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome guide, awesome experience!! No one but us in the slot canyon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I were visiting the Lake Powell area last week and decided to book the Secret Canyon slot tour with Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures after reading numerous reviews and forums recommending this company and reading about how overcrowded the Antelope slot canyons have become. We were not disappointed.

We showed up at Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures about 20min before our tour departed (we did the 12noon tour) and were greeted immediately when we walked in. We were then greeted by our tour guide, Vance, who introduced himself and the other tour members. We were amazed to realize that it was only us and one other couple that would be on the tour.

We headed out to secret canyon (part of Waterhole Canyon) in the hummer and Vance entertained us with a number of interesting facts about the Navajo lands and the attractions in the area. We were visiting the area during a time of intense rain storms and were pleased that Vance addressed the safety issue with slot canyons and flash floods and explained that the Slot Canyon Hummer Adventure guides are all outfitted with a satellite phone that is connected to the national weather service so if there is any possibility of a flood, the guides would receive warning 45min to 1hr in advance.

Once we arrived at the canyon, it was a short walk to the mouth of the canyon and that's where the fun began. Vance walked us through the canyon and gave us as much time as we wanted to take photos and explore. He made sure that everyone had the right settings on our cameras so that our photos would accurately show the beautiful red hues of the rock in the slot. We were the only people in the canyon until our way out when we passed another one of Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures' small tour groups just coming into the canyon.

The canyon was amazing. The couple that was on our tour had done the Antelope Canyons years ago and commented that Secret Canyon was actually longer and nicer than the Antelope Canyons, and WAY less crowded. There are numerous tour guides with rights to the upper Antelope Canyon and they can take up to 70 people per tour. Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures only takes about 40people per day and only goes into the canyon when the light is good.

Although the tour price does seem high, it is worth every penny for this experience. I would recommend skipping the Antelope Canyons and spending your time and money here. Vance was an awesome guide-very friendly and full of interesting stories and facts. He grew up in the area and we loved hearing about his adventures in the area when he was younger.

This is a must do!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“SO COOL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was one of the best tours we've done!! It's small and very personal. They only let a few tours go in per day, so when you're there, no one else is. You have the canyon to yourself. It's amazing. The hummer ride is so much fun and then you walk into this unbelievable slot canyon. Our guide took pictures, taught the kids to climb up into these little "caves" and basically made the tour perfect for our family. After doing this tour, I wouldn't go to the bigger tours at the more popular slot canyon in the area...I would absolutely make sure that I could go back on this tour....PHENOMEANAL!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slot Canyon Hummer Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.