We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lake views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Powell Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Powell Resort to your Saves list
Lake Powell Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Lakeshore Drive, Page, AZ 86040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Page
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful lake views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a lovely resort is on Lake Powell in Page, AZ. We asked for a 1st floor room facing the lake since we didn't want to carry our luggage to the 2nd floor because there are no elevators. The clean and spacious room had a lovely patio with access to the meandering walkway around the resort. The 2nd floor rooms had balconies. The lighting in the bathroom needed to be brighter, but there was a sink outside the tub and toilet with adequate lighting. We had a refrigerator and a Keurig with plenty of coffee pods. Wifi was in the lobby. I didn't find this unusual since Wifi is spotty at best in northern AZ and southern UT.

There are a few pools with one near the lobby with access to the bar, snack bar and restaurant which was lovely at night. The firepit at the pool was lit and we enjoyed a glass of wine outside at sunset. There are a few picnic tables between the buildings if you want to have your food outside. There were other casual restaurants on the property too.

We took an early morning lake cruise which was quite nice but you had to walk down the paved steep cliff to get to the boat. A golf cart was provided for those who couldn't make the walk. We enjoyed dinner at the marina restaurant and the hotel provides a golf cart service down the cliff to the restaurant. Just go to the lobby and the staff will call for a cart for you.

The resort is just minutes away from the Glen Canyon Dam. Explore the National Park visitor's center and take a dam tour.

Room Tip: If you have trouble carrying luggage ask for a 1st floor lake view room since there are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    472
    370
    186
    93
See reviews for
405
600
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

After reading the reviews we were worried about this resort. We were pleasantly surprised. Nice check in. Marina room (bldg 3) . Was new,clean, great view, comfortable. The only major drawback is the lack of sustainable wifi. This is not acceptable in 2014! Shower could have used more light since my husband shaves in there. Overall, great, relaxing resort. Good tour, decent dining. Pool area needs updating (bldg 4). Broken railing, poor filter, cracks. We would go there again!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A spacious room with a balcony and views to die for! The ground were beautifully manicured and we saw rabbits, hares, a road runner and lots of birds close by. The pool by reception was chilly but not busy and it had a choice of loungers in the sun or shade. The other pool was always busy and seemed more child orientated. Restaurant service on the first night was poor, 11 coach trips had arrived that day and our waiter was not happy and let it be known! The food was good although we had to hassle to get our drinks served. In contrast the next night was wonderful, we sat on a table in the huge windows overlooking the lake, service was good and the food great. Breakfast was also enjoyable and the lady who made the omelettes a delight to chat to. Disappointing that wifi was only available in reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel has a great location on Lake Powell which is a huge man made lake. The room was in a lodge style set up which was clean and a good size. Wifi was available in lobby area only but was free. There are a number of restaurants available. We had lunch in a casual pizzeria type place which was fine. We had evening dinner in the more formal Rainbow Room which was very good. We had a nice drink afterwards in the bar area while the children could play away in the adjoining lobby area. There are 2 swimming pools - both nice. We booked a boat trip on the lake and in particular saw Antelope Canyon which is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just set your expectations for this resort - has some major glitches as run by a food corporation (Aramark) and not really a hotel company like Marriott, etc. Two examples were - ate at the marina restaurant, and did not bring us silverware even after entrees arrived, and we asked 3 times. When I finally went to ask for it inside (were were seated outside), they said they "ran out" but were washing more. The restaurant was at least 1/3 empty by the way… Second - no extra toilet paper in room besides that on roll..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The only thing special about this resort is the lake, so don't settle for being in a room without a lake view if you can help it! When we first checked in, they put us in a room to the back far from the lake and told my husband there was nothing they could do. He went back after seeing the room and asked to be moved, and let them know we were willing to pay extra if needed. For an extra $40 a night, we were moved to a poolside lake view room. (We were staying two nights).
We ate at the bar restaurant that night and were fairly happy with the food and great view which was basically the same as the rainbow room without the cost and hassle.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We drove almost 500 miles from Santa Fe to Lake Powell and while it was a long day, it was a beautiful drive through a desolate area of the country full of small hills and isolated towns in 102 degree weather. Navajo Nation left us speechless - especially the Round rock region.

We were happy to arrive at the Lake Powell Resort although finding it is not easy (you would think they could spend the money and put signs up on Route 98).

We had set our expetations and done our homework and asked to be in a the "renovated" part of the "resort" so luckily we got Building 7 (#7 and #8 are the new buildings aparetnly) and all I can say is that its a decent Motel 6 - so I can't imagine what the unrenovated part is like ....

We have absolutely stunning lake views (defintely glad we got the lake view upgrade even though its $330 a night) and the walkways to the pools and lobby are beautiful and clean.

The driftwood lounge which is the no-reservation bar/restaurant has excellent food - we couldn't believe the quality or taste given that the Lake Powell Resort is basically a Motel 6 with a monopoly in the area which means they have unbelievable views but not much else:
- if you lose your one pool towel per person for your entire stay its $25 and that assumes they give you enough for the number in your party to begin with;
- there is little to no Wifi (they claim a storm blew it out but when you speak to the employees and managers they say that its a bandwidth issue). Can Aramark (who runs the hotel) really not afford a few additional WiFi routers ? You basically can get on in certain areas of the hotel and even then, for just three minutes at a time !
- half the time when you call the operator or front desk from your room no one picks up
- we lost an item in the lobby and restaurant and called and they said it wasn't there; we went in person and they said it wasn't there; we asked the boat tour desk and one young lady was nice enough to actually go in the back and sure enough the items were in the lost and found in the back !
- the pools have beautiful views but are so crowded you'd think you're at club med in miami and I'm not sure how sanitary the water is ....
- laundry machines - half broken, half leave the clothes wet

All in all - its breath-takingly beautiful; definitely don't miss the kayaking trips (book through Hidden Canyon Kayak) - the kids loved jumping off little cliffs! shockingly good food at Driftwood Lounge ( we didn't try the Rainbow Room), the Antelope Canyon Boat Tour was jaw-dropping but in terms of overall service it is no higher than a Motel 6 .... actually at a Motel 6 you would have WiFi ! Very disappointing given the $330 per night rate for a lakeview room - I am just grateful we were in the renovated building.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room in building 7 or 8 and assume no wifi even though they say they have wifi - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Powell Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Powell Resort

Address: 100 Lakeshore Drive, Page, AZ 86040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Powell Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A combination marina, hotel, campgrounds, and restaurant in the Lake Powell area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Powell Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Powell Hotel Page
Lake Powell Page

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Powell Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.