We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Powell Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Powell Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Powell Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Lakeshore Drive, Page, AZ 86040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Page
Dallas, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed one night after our boat tour which was very nice. We had actually booked at the other motel on the other side of the lake without realizing that. The front desk was very helpful in getting us a room. The only problem was that we had booked a view room and they did not have any view rooms. Since we had booked early at a special rate the inside room was the same rate. I felt like we should have been given a small credit but what can you say when it's your fault. The room was nothing fancy typical motel although the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    438
    334
    165
    80
See reviews for
370
540
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two nights during a 14-day tour. We didn't realize when we booked that this location caters to bus tours - both overnight guests and those accessing the marina for day tours of the lake. As a result, the reception lobby is extremely crowded as is the diningroom at both breakfast and dinner. We had been booked for a lake tour from the hotel, but instead of putting up with more crowds we decided to rent our own boat and toured the lake at our leisure. The grounds at this hotel are gorgeous, but the rooms could use some updating. The pool closest to our room had a snack bar, but it was not open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of Trafalgar tour. The tour bus pulled up to awaiting bell boys passing their time by spitting which didn't give a great first impression.

The setting is very nice as the hotel is located on the bank of Lake Powell. There are 2 decent swimming pools onsite. Free wifi is provided in the lobby but not in rooms.

Rooms were clean, comfortable with a door leading to an individual outdoor area with table and chairs.

Front desk service was varied, some people were great but others held back chatting/playing with their phones rather than serving.

The restaurant was run very badly and let the resort down. An overly complicated ticketing process was used to access the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. This process was not explained by anyone but somehow involved multiple staff members, multiple queues and vouchers and a lot of unnecessary hanging around even during quiet times.

During all of this there were many vacant tables in the restaurant yet this unnecessary queuing was always on show here. Having stayed at many lodges/hotels with far busier restaurants throughout the USA, Canada and elsewhere no other place seemed to overcomplicate and mess up such a simple process as much as this resort did.

Restaurant staff always seemed flustered and rushed and even volunteered to guests how busy they were and how long their shifts were. Staff insisted guests from completely unrelated groups share tables despite many empty small and large tables being available. This was an odd way to approach things for a restaurant that presented as a more fine dining option with fine dining prices rather than a hostel.

This hotel clearly has a captive audience being the only option in the area and therefore appears to be able to continue operating despite what seems to be very poor management, procedures and staff motivation/morale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a room at Lake Powell Resort and Marina the weekend before Christmas, the staff was very courteous...and wonderful at this time of year. Jeff was friendly and gave us a bit of history about Lake Powell and the Resort. Thank you. The restaurant was closed this time of year, but the bar menu was delicious, and the wonderful girl working the bar was sweet, attentive, and also shared her stories about Lake Powell. The closest town/city to Lake Powell is Page,AZ which didn't have much for restaurant choices or accommodations, Lake Powell Resort was an excellent choice, the rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. Everything you could need, and we had a gorgeous view of the lake. There was a well kept fitness room to use with a sauna. Two pools that were closed for the season but you can see how this would be great in the summer. Lake Powell Resort also allows dogs, and the dogs had a blast, there was so many places for them to included and people were nice to them. We did a tour of Antelope Canyon, Glen Canyon, and other natural treasures where Lake Powell Resort is central. It only took two hours to get to Zion National Park from here, in the summer the Grand Canyon North Rim is not far, and you can get to Monument Valley, and by boat see Rainbow Bridge...I highly recommend. Beautiful place to stay...and lots of natural parks and monuments to enjoy near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The only good thing about this Hotel is the view, IF you have a room with lakeview.
The Hotel looks like a artifact from sovjet times, the rooms are dark, and the reception a bit snobby.

If you plan to have a good sleep there, unplug all electric devices (fridge, AC, even the lamp was making noises) when you follow these tips, you'll sleep like a baby.

In low season don't expect any breakfast, lunch, dinner or whatsoever,because this place is truly dead.

Room Tip: Choose lakeview, the receptionist won't ask you to upgrade, you'll just get a room wih a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were here in the offseason (Nov). Very quiet. Front desk was friendly and helpful with some activity suggestions. Rooms were Ok, average. Tried to eat in the lounge (restaurant closed) but we sat there for 20 minutes and the staff would not come over. We asked twice to get some service and they all said sure but no one came over. The bartender said he would send someone over, even when I asked if we could get some drinks from him and take them to a table. Some ladies at the next table told us the service was really lousy and it's better to drive the 15 minutes to Page - which we did. We went to Page for breakfast also. We would not recommend in the off season unless you get a very cheap rate. Just stay in Page.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location and view is amazing. The only way my stay could have been better is if I was on a houseboat, which due to the cost is out of the question. The area has everything you need to have an great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Powell Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Powell Resort

Address: 100 Lakeshore Drive, Page, AZ 86040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Powell Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A combination marina, hotel, campgrounds, and restaurant in the Lake Powell area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lake Powell Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Powell Hotel Page
Lake Powell Page

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Powell Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.