We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antelope Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antelope Canyon

Antelope Canyon
Page, AZ 86040
928 698-2808
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Page
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located near Lake Powell, this "slot" canyon is considered sacred by the Navajo.
Anniston, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Antelope Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing experience! We went to Antelope Canyon and had a blast! Great place for pictures. We only had one day in Page. We decided to visit Antelope Canyon and Horseshoe Bend, Both places were better than expected!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,731
    354
    110
    47
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Page, Arizona
1 review
“Antelope Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best pictures taken there. Guides are excellent and try thier best to get you great picture opportunity. Would do this again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very crowded so think twice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The slot canyon itself is worth the visit if it were not for the crowds that you do not see in any of the pictures you see of the location. Problem is that to get to the Canyon you have to go via one of the official Guides on a 4 wheel drive along a dried up rive. Since the best time to visit the Canyon is between noon and 2pm everybody is there at the same time! The Guides do their best to allow you to get clear and nice shots in the Canyon but once in there it is like being in the rush hour of an underground station. We were there in July so peak season and our visit in the Canyon did not last more than 20 minutes. So if you plan to go there try an off peak time or a special photographer extended visit and in any case expected to be rushed in and out of the Canyon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Guide Nate (Carol Big Thumb)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nate was very good. He showed us what photos to take because of his experience with what he knew were the shots not to be missed. He was very respectful and helpful expecially when I had a difficult time climbing over rocks etc.
He was also very patient and considerate through out the full day tour.
I highly recommend him to be your guide if you ever decide to visit the amazing slot canyons, as they are also called. Although it is called Antelope canyon, we didn't see one antelope, just a few cows and bulls.
Anyway Allan, Phil and I enjoyed the tour immensely. My photos came out great, too.
Hats off to Nate. He's really a super guy!
Patricia Price, tour of Tuesday, July 23,2013

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a beautiful and fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited upper and lower Antelope Canyon.
Upper canyon is the most visited. It gets crowded. You drive by jeep to the entrance of the canyon. It's abouncy ride. Your guide points out the picture opportunities (special shapes) and gives practical photography tips. Upper canyon is darker. The light does not prenetrate as deep as in Lower. Our guide did also a good job in chasing other tourists away to be able to take pictures.
Upper is the most expensive of the two. Aldult rate is 45$ for the 10, 11am and 12pm visits. For the 8:45am, 1pm and later visits the adult rate is 25$. We booked the tours at the entrance of the canyon. Canyon tours can also be booked in town (Page).

Lower canyon is different. It has more light. the views are more about the shapes of the rock and less about the light effects. Lower is more adventurous. With ladders and through small passages you go down and up the canyon. Kids love it. Adult rate is fix at 20$. You access the canyon on foot. This canyon is less accessible than upper.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antelope Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antelope Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Antelope Canyon to your Saves list