We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antelope Canyon

Antelope Canyon
5975 Hwy 98, Page, AZ 86040
928 698-2808
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Antelope Canyon like an insider
Top Rated
$196*
and up
Antelope Canyon and Glen Canyon Scenic Tour
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Page
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located near Lake Powell, this "slot" canyon is considered sacred by the Navajo.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I visited Lower Antelope Canyon last week and had a fantastic time! They open at 8 am during the summer months and we arrived for the 8:45 tour. Our group consisted of 11 people which was a very nice number - not too big for folks to get in your way. Our guide was very informative and kept folks out of the way of others so that everyone could get pictures without anyone being in them. He also showed us the best angles to take the picture to ensure a magazine-quality image, sometimes taking the picture himself! We never felt rushed and got to thoroughly enjoy the slot canyons. In fact, we ended up staying 1 1/2 hours instead of the usual one hour!

As others have noted, there are some rather steep stairs that need to be climbed down (and up when exiting). Some are on a few steps and others are rather long. As long as your take your time, you'll be fine.

Make sure your guide points out the dinosaur tracks located near the beginning of the tour. Very neat!

Certainly an outstanding tour and experience! I would suggest that nobody leaves Page without taking it. Worth every penny.

FYI: During the summer months, you want to get there early in the morning or later in the afternoon for the best pictures. Unlike some other canyons, Lower is NOT ideal in the middle of the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,246
    447
    143
    58
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to the lower canyon with Ken's tours. Wasn't too crowded, and as other reviews said, more climbing up and down on steel steps (more like wide ladders). Our guide, Aaron, offered to take pictures of folks numerous times, which was cool. And, he had a buddy (didn't get the name) who brought up the rear, and played a flute of some kind while sitting perched up high on shelves in the canyon walls. Nice addition to the atmosphere. The place is big enough that you can do a little spreading out and take pictures of the beautiful walls and corridors without people getting in the way. Don't worry about getting those sunbeam pictures, they're a little overdone in my opinion, and the effect is caused by tossing handfuls of sand in the air, so the dust can catch the sunlight; a little dicey for your expensive camera gear (*don't* try to change lenses while you're down there!). $20 for the tour + $6 for the Navajo tribal fee. Totally worth it. $52 for my wife and myself + $5 tip we gave to Aaron.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lower Antelope Canyon Tour - Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose Antelope Canyon as a vacation spot because of other reviews and pictures we saw on Trip Advisor. We drove to the lower canyon early to go on the first tour at 8AM. Cost is $26 per person. For the lower canyon, it is a very short walk from the parking area to the entrance and a little longer from the exit. In the attached pictures, you can see the "crack" in the ground that is the canyon entrance. It was an easy climb down to the canyon sandy floor and easy to navigate through to the exit. The light coming down from the "crack" provided ample light for pictures and made navigating easy. Our guide helped everyone setup their cameras for the best settings to get the best exposures and colors. Unfortunately, he dropped two of the cameras (one was mine and the telescoping action of the lens is now broken). Suggest you set up your own camera. The colors and shapes in the canyon are fantastic. We were very happy we chose this as a vacation spot. Also got to visit relatives in the area. See my next review on the Upper Antelope Canyon Tour with Overland Canyon Tours

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lower Antelope Canyon was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband had to choose between lower & upper antelope canyon. I'm so glad we choose lower. It costs $26 per person to enter the canyon. There is a 'guide' to show you the way but it is easy to find. We spent about 1 hour in the canyon and got amazing photos. Everyone on the tour allowed the others to take photos and go slowly. There is some going down ladders so I would suggest good shoes. Some younger people had flip flops on and it looked hard to climb down/up. We absolutely loved our trip here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Antelope canyon is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

So, after reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to do the lower antelope canyon. When we arrived in Page we discovered that you can do upper, lower, or boat. When you drive on hwy 98 you'll see several ( maybe 3 ) turn offs for upper canyon tours, but only one for lower. It is easier to spot when traveling toward to west, as you can read the sign from that direction only. The tours are offered by kens guided tours, website: www.lowerantelope.com/ You can not make reservations. It doesn't appear that you would need to anyway. We had no wait. We DID take our 4 year old. Another couple on our tour had their approx 18 month old. Totally no big deal with kids. There are ladders, so you will have to carry them or walk before and cautiously lead them ( what we did). The guide told us good spots to take pics and took several family shots for us. Cost us approx $70 for entry for 2 adults and 1child. We tipped $20 to the guide. I have no idea if that was a fair tip, they don't give recommendations but do have a sign that tips are appreciated. It took us about an hour to do the tour. You do need to be able to twist and turn thru the cave with your body, no problem for a 4 year old , but could be a problem for someone older. The temps drop as you go down into the ground, so it was fairly comfortable even in June ( we are from phoenix, so our gage may be off, lol). Porta potties available at start/finish. So great. Hope you enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antelope Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antelope Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.