We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diners Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
One mile Gustavus Road, PO Box 60, Gustavus, AK
+1 800-649-5220
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Gustavus
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: I am the owner of Gustavus Inn. Our restaurant was named "America's Classic 2010" by the James Beard Foundation. Although we are a hotel, I thought we should appear in the Gustavus, Alaska restaurant listings. We serve dinner nightly to our hotel guests and if we have room, a few extras. Our menus rotate during the week depending on guest preferences. There is only one entree, always seafood and garden bounty. Nightly we feature a foraged wild edible on the bar or table. Meat is served only to accommodate house guests by prior order. Since we prepare everything from scratch onsite, we can happily accommodate dietary restriction with advance notice. My suggestion for dining at the Gustavus Inn is to stay here for guaranteed reservations in the dining room.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diners Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On a recent trip to Gustavus we learned the hard way that the Gustavus Inn has a “policy” of bumping dinner guests if they end up with enough guests staying at the Inn to fill their dining room, even if the dinner guests have reservations. We live in nearby Juneau and made plans last spring to stay at a friend’s cabin in Gustavus in July. We made reservations for dinner at the Inn months in advance because we know summer is a busy time for Gustavus. On the afternoon of the day of the dinner, when we were already in Gustavus, the Inn called to inform us that our dinner reservation was canceled because they had just booked more overnight guests and there was no room at the table. The owner was unapologetic, telling us that we were told of their policy when we made the reservation. We weren’t told. If we were, we wouldn’t have tried to eat at the Inn. After all, what’s the use of a reservation that can be canceled with little advanced warning? I’ve since heard that the Inn canceling dinner reservations is a common occurrence. Fortunately for us, we were welcomed for dinner at the Bear Track Inn. The food there was delicious and the ambiance pleasant and I recommend it as a place to stay or dine for your Gustavus visit. Lisa W.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoALGustavus_Ak, Owner at Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
So sorry you were not able to dine with us and that we did not communicate well. Since our restaurant is in support of our house guests, we only can add people if our 30 seats are not taken by those staying here. Since every dinner reservation is an empty room for us, there is always the possibility of getting bumped at the last minute since we are primarily a hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed. The only way to be certain of a reservation in our dining room is to stay here especially at the peak of the season. We will try to find a more concrete system of conveying this to everyone involved in the reservation process, perhaps an email confirmation with our policy clearly spelled out. We hope you will try again if you visit Gustavus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eat Here!! Super yummy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We didn't stay here because of price, but we did eat dinner here twice. The Inn is amazing, and the food spectacular. I loved the family style dinner, the fresh fish and the straight from the garden salads. Best place to eat in Gustavus. (dinner is at 6:30..apps at 5:45, get there early, have some apps and sit on the patio, very nice)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best kept Secrete in a 400 person town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved loved loved our meal here! Started with crab and halibut sushi rolls! BBQ white salmon, melts in your mouth! Roasted potatoes from the garden and field greens with petals from their garden. Homeade cheesecake with rhubarb and a mint chocolate ice cream pie.

The loveliest meal with fresh cut flowers and family style table. We even sat with local Gustavus folks. Make a reservation to stay at th inn, it's inclusive and worth it! Lovely Homested dating back 3 generations! The food is worth the reservation wait!

Since we were not B&B guests we paid $50 pp and it was family style with abundant food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfully creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Splendid isolation with fresh seafood and home grown vegetables, picked each day from their garden. Every meal was something to look forward to, food and company, lots of happy people even though it was the end of the season.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A negative experience to remember”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, it was a nice experience and an Alaskan Ale always helps things out, but the food was just ok. The setting is quite bucolic but the seafood in particular won't make you feel "wow I am truly in Alaska"... But if you are in Gustavus you will do ok here.

Well, what can I say about this James Beard award-winning experience. We called ahead of time and asked about the food that we heard was excellent from the staff at our lodge. But we learned a valuable lesson, ask the staff if they have actually eaten at the $150+ a couple place and if it was any good. This was just one of those times where the hype did not add up in the least.

Now, this may seem unrealistic or harsh but this was the worst meal I have ever had. From food to service to treatment as humans, I cannot express enough how awful everything was (save the rhubarb pie).

To explain, we did call ahead as stated above and asked about the restaurant. The owner told us it was family-style and that it featured dishes and ingredients from the area including various seafood and garden-grown elements. On the surface, this was exactly the experience we were looking for. This was going to be real Alaska!

We got there well enough, quaint looking place. We sat with others (and everyone seemed to be staying at the inn as well) and made the introductions. Then the waitress started coming by plopping food stuffs in casserole dishes on the table. We thought, ok maybe this is the appetizer, but no the food was all served at once and it was some type of whitefish casserole dish made with mayonnaise of all things. That was it for the entrée, a runny, mayo-based casserole dish for $75. Now the salad and pie at the end were good, but we were expecting a feast of Alaskan proportions as told to us by others and as suggested on the website with their photos of crab legs and such. My wife inquired and we were able to get a dry pork chop to at least tide our hunger.

Ok, so we were prepared to just grin and bear it realizing the error of our ways. But we are the type of people who say what we mean when someone asks how everything was. So as we were checking out the waitress who wasn’t very attentive to begin with asked and we said we were disappointed with the quality and level of the food. She went and got the owner/chef. We explained what we were expecting at that a mayo casserole dish was somewhat disappointing. He proceeded to say forget it and get out without any further discussion.

So sheepishly, we left. We were never so embarrassed in all our lives at an eating establishment. We never asked not to pay, we simply wanted to voice our disappointment as any regular customer would when they didn’t get what they thought was right (particularly at such high prices).

The story unfortunately does not end there. As we were walking back to the main road the owner comes out of the house and says he never has experienced this in his 30+ year career, a couple unwilling to pay (which is never what we voiced). He said “at least leave our waitress a tip”. I said that was not a problem and went to hand him $40 but he said “no give it to her”. I told him I was not going back in there in front of all the regular inn guests due to his embarrassing remarks. And so concludes the worst meal ever from all angles…

Do not go here. I am a fair reviewer as evidenced elsewhere on TripAdvisor and hope you take this review to heart. I will never forget this experience…

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay also viewed


Been to Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.