We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they do their best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Save Saved
You added Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
20% off Whale Watching
Ranked #1 of 10 Gustavus B&B and Inns
illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“they do their best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

they do their best to make you feel at home. breakfast meals were very good and freshly cooked. we did rent a car to explore better than the bikes would allow. i believe we covered every mile of road in town. one thing i will say is take care of getting something for your evening meal early, or you could be out of luck.7pm is roll up the street time as far as stores or restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose this bed and breakfast based on the positive reviews and can say that we were very glad we did. Our hosts Jan and Ella are hard working, innovative, gregarious and generous people. The home is cozy and comfortable complete with games for relaxing moments. We were also surprised and pleased to enjoy locally grown and home made foods such as dandelion and spruce syrup and wild mint tea. Additionally, they go out of their way to help you plan and execute your activities. Lastly I would like to add that my ten and thirteen year old sons especially enjoyed the company and fun they had exploring with Jan and Ella's son. Oh, and we should add that they have laundry capabilities that were necessary for a family traveling very lightly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We chose WI based on the reviews we read here. After our visit last month I completely agree with everything the other reviewers have said. They really want their guest to have a good time and work very hard to make this happen. While we were there the Glacier Bay Park boat went out of service one morning. This was something beyond their control, but they were very concerned and tried to do all they could for the guest that missed this fantastic park excursion. Great food, very comfortable accommodations, interesting conversations with a wide variety of travelers. Janish and Ella are the best host ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently returned from a three night stay at Wild Alaska. Janish and Ela were extremely accomodating with everyone. The breakfast meals were all good home cooking. Since we did not have a car, they offered to transport us to/from the airport, to Glacier Bay or "town". We used the bicycles to get around as well. We felt at home, enjoyed their lively conversations and children.

I would highly recommend this B&B, especially if you like to socialize with people from all parts of the world. This is the real Alaska experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is as close as I can imagine to witnessing the pioneering spirit of Alaska. Janish and Ela have built a family and a home here with their own hands and ingenuity. Ela, and especially, Janish have stories to tell, and they don't need much urging to tell them.

The B&B is a cozy wood building made by Jan from trees on his property. Our room, the only one with a private bath, was spacious and comfortable. The public area had a nice fireplace which kept the whole house warm. The family lives nearby on the property.

The hot breakfasts were generous and always included items homemade by Jan and Ela with local ingredients such as blueberries or spruce buds. The optional dinners at the shared table were excellent and featured local fish which Jan cooked in the oven on a wooden board which he designed and made.

Room Tip: Have at least one dinner with Jan and Ela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Wild Alaska in early June. We had just finished a 7 day cruise and wanted to balance that with 5 nights in one spot. This was a great decision! We loved totally immersing ourselves in the little town of Gustavus. We spent a lot of time at Glacier Bay National Park - kayaking, hiking, boating with the National Park Service. In between, we got to stay at WAI and enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Ella and Janish. They provided stories, advice, great conversation, awesome breakfasts, and a comfy warm place to call home - making the overall experience one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Janusz and Ella made as feel like at home. They are absolutely great hard working people with knowledge and connections to help you and to make your visit in Alaska most memorable. Best hosts you can wish for. Their place is very clean, food is great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Address: 1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Alaska Inn cedar house is located in lovely little town of Gustavus/Glacier Bay, Alaska -One of the most beautiful spots in the entire state, and a perfect gateway to Glacier Bay National Park.Enjoy Wild Alaska’s free service that helps you arrange outdoor adventures of your choice: whale-watching, Glacier Bay Tour, sport fishing, hiking, bird watching, photography, and kayaking that are available nearby. This small family run business would like to provide you with the best, warm, friendly service at competitive prices and most fun possible. Included in price is Airport/Ferry pick up and drop off.Hot breakfast is included at no extra charge for guests.Also free wireless, free parking and free use of bicycles.After busy day of adventures and activities you can warm up by the fire place, rest and enjoy home cooking during your stay at cozy Wild Alaska Inn.This charming wooden house in Gustavus, Alaska is 0.3 miles to Wild Alaska Charters and also is the closest Inn to the Glacier Bay National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Alaska Inn At Glacier Bay Gustavus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.