We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate whale watching experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Sound Express Whale Watching

Cross Sound Express Whale Watching
Gustavus, Gustavus, AK
888-698-2726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Gustavus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: To begin with...I do not delete, hide or edit ANY reviews on this page. That being said...our vessel is 50’ long with seating for 28 passengers and an open back deck with a rain awning for viewing and photography of the whales and wildlife. We depart from the Gustavus City dock which is approximately 9 miles from Glacier Bay Lodge and Glacier Bay. From there we generally take the 7.2 mile crossing in Icy Strait to an area by Chichigof Island known as Point Adolphus. The crossing takes about 35 minutes and quite often we will check out Sea Otters on the way over. Once we get to PA (Point Adolphus) we position ourselves near the whales and shut off the engines so we can drift with them and we place our Hydrophone in the water to hear their sounds over our speaker system. Although we always see whales (up close) we usually also see many Stellar Sea Lions, Bald Eagles and sometimes the occasional Alaska Brown Bear strolling the shores of Chichigof Island. During the course of the tour we offer information about the area, the whales, and the other wildlife we encounter. On the average we see Orca (Killer Whales) about a dozen times a season.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ultimate whale watching experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day out with Captain Todd on the Taz. His knowledge of the whales and wildlife and love of the area made the day exceptional. We had fabulous views of humpbacks enjoying a 'massage' in the kelp beds, feeding in synchronised groups and sounding all around us. He was also able to tell us so much about the sea otters rafting up with their babies, the large numbers of bald eagles and all the wildlife.
A truly memorable day with a great character.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Abundant whales, serene setting, listening to the whales, exhilirating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a small boat, holds about 25 passengers, so you can move all around the boat as the whales swim on all sides of you. When we found a pod of whales, the captain would turn off the motor. There we were in the beautiful bay, with the mountains around us, listening to the whales blow and whistle like trains, and slap their pectorals or breach. Our captain had a sharp eye and spotted birds and wildlife on the beach. He was as enthusiastic as if it was his first trip.

It was glorious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, AK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

An incredible whale watching experience! We were surrounded by whales. I can see why the locals refer to Capt. Todd as the "whale whisperer" He was able to put our boat in the perfect position to be approached by the whales. The small boat makes the experience extra special. Don't miss this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best whale watching on planet Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Four of us (2 couples) spent 4 delightful hours with Captain Todd and Amy whale watching from The Taz one afternoon in the third week of Aug. '12. Even though we have taken other whale watching tours elsewhere, this surpassed them all. After a quick traverse of the Icy Strait to Point
Adolphus spotting the occasional sea otter, we arrived to find scores of humpbacks. Unlike the other times we've seen these magnificent creatures, the shear numbers and variety of behavior made the whole experience qualitatively different. The whales variously came as loners, synchronized swimming pods of about 10, breachers, tail bangers, or vociferous belchers. It was a continuous show, all in set in the sun drenched quiet of Icy Bay surrounded by a ring of snow capped mountains. The Taz is equipped with hydrophones, so guests can listen to a whale concert accompaniment to their virtuoso water ballet. The Taz graciously offers free drinks and snacks, though most of us were too engrossed by Nature to take time to try them. Our trip was complicated by The Taz having to go assist the Baranoff Wind, which runs the Glacier Bay tours. Baranoff Wind had struck a rock earlier that day and was taking on water. We sincerely appreciate Captain Todd for giving us such a tour under these unusual circumstances. The boat was always operated in a safe manner, yet the tour was very relaxed. Bookings can either be made directly or through your lodge (we stayed at the Glacier Bay N.P.Lodge).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a wonderful trip................... We whale watched on Taz yesterday & just loved it.Small numbers so plenty of room for viewing & photo's. 40 + humpbacks, mums & calves playing,lots of breaching & splashing & the 'whale talking' was amazing. Best value for money in Alaska.We would do this tour again in a heartbeat Thank you Taz for a great trip

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Sound Express Whale Watching also viewed

 
Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Cross Sound Express Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Sound Express Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.