We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cabin, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Northern Resort
Save
You added Great Northern Resort to your Saves list
12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Super cabin, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Only 2 minutes from entrance to Glacier Natl Park. We chose the 2 bedroom for our family of 6 and had plenty of room. Super clean, full kitchen and lots of towels. Balcony and porch were very comfortable. Yard is well kept and lovely to spend a quiet evening. We will definitely come back here. Plus they can arrange for fishing and rafting excursions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Humble, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a family vacation and we have the larger of the chalets. Everything we needed was provided except for our food, naturally! The beds were very very comfortable, along with the pillows. The place was clean and we had plenty of towels. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We given a very nice chalet to stay in, it was just perfect for the two of us. There is even a BBQ grill outside on the terrace which we used in the evenings, we were there for three nights. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff kept it that way for us, we can be a bit messy....
The staff were very helpful in telling us of all the things that we could do and see while in West Glacier.
There is a funny old caboose that sells organic sandwiches and salads and the Yogurt ice cream was was delicious , I had mine with jelly beans and gummy bears as a topping, going back to childhood here. They also do a very good expresso coffee which for a European is very important.
We also went on a rafting trip which was such good fun and our guide Josh was so funny and telling us little stories about the different parts of the rapids extra....
Hopefully we will be able to come again next year as it was such a relaxing and fun holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in Two Bear cabin. Private, never knew anyone was around because the staff is very quiet at night. Two porches, upstairs and downstairs. Lots of room, clean and beautifully furnished. I stayed 5 nights and that was not long enough. Cute little caboose that sells coffee and dips for snacking at night. YOU will thank me for staying here. Kelly Serdynski Gray

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cabins...cute place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for the start of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Osprey Chalet and we just loved it. It was practically a private house with a kitchen, living room, and then upstairs was the bedroom. We chose to go to the local grocery store and cook a lot while we were here to save some money. We even used the grill on the front porch one night. Even though the fireplace was gas, it did a great job added that something extra to make is super romantic and relaxing. Unfortunately, we came after the season ended in October so we weren't able to take advantage of some of their other amenities, but it was still perfect. And location and proximity to Glacier National Park was perfect. Just a quick 2 minute drive and we were in the park. Waking up and having coffee on the porch and seeing the snow capped mountains was breathtaking. We're already looking forward to coming back for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabin, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife, son and I spent three nights at this resort in mid-September, certainly the off-season. The chalet we stayed in was roomy and well appointed. When we arrived late the office was closed but they had left our keys in an envelope with a nice note explaining the shorter office hours in the off-season. We stopped at the office the next day and took care of the paperwork that needed to be done with a charming young lady (who I believe was one of the owners). Each day while we were out, the chalet was cleaned and tidied up.

We did a lot of research on lodging in the Glacier Park area before we made reservations at Great Northern. We were all very happy with our decision. It was a very relaxing experience and I can assure you anytime we are in the West Glacier area, we will be staying at Great Northern Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enoroughly enjoyed this location. The chalet had a loft bedroom with 2 beds and a kitchen and living area and bath downstairs. It needed some maintenance and upkeep work but the location so near the entrance to Glacier National Park was great. It had a wonderful balcony that was great in the early mornings and early evenings with a great view of forest and mountains. Even with lots of activity around, it was amazingly quiet.

Room Tip: We were in Two Bear Cabin that could easily sleep 4 and 6 with the sleeper sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 log cabins provide a perfect base camp for exploring beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you. Enjoy a full kitchen with all linens, dishes and cookware. Resort activities include whitewater rafting and fishing trips, as well as paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.