We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Northern Resort
12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Home in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in Two Bear cabin. Private, never knew anyone was around because the staff is very quiet at night. Two porches, upstairs and downstairs. Lots of room, clean and beautifully furnished. I stayed 5 nights and that was not long enough. Cute little caboose that sells coffee and dips for snacking at night. YOU will thank me for staying here. Kelly Serdynski Gray

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cabins...cute place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnegie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for the start of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Osprey Chalet and we just loved it. It was practically a private house with a kitchen, living room, and then upstairs was the bedroom. We chose to go to the local grocery store and cook a lot while we were here to save some money. We even used the grill on the front porch one night. Even though the fireplace was gas, it did a great job added that something extra to make is super romantic and relaxing. Unfortunately, we came after the season ended in October so we weren't able to take advantage of some of their other amenities, but it was still perfect. And location and proximity to Glacier National Park was perfect. Just a quick 2 minute drive and we were in the park. Waking up and having coffee on the porch and seeing the snow capped mountains was breathtaking. We're already looking forward to coming back for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabin, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife, son and I spent three nights at this resort in mid-September, certainly the off-season. The chalet we stayed in was roomy and well appointed. When we arrived late the office was closed but they had left our keys in an envelope with a nice note explaining the shorter office hours in the off-season. We stopped at the office the next day and took care of the paperwork that needed to be done with a charming young lady (who I believe was one of the owners). Each day while we were out, the chalet was cleaned and tidied up.

We did a lot of research on lodging in the Glacier Park area before we made reservations at Great Northern. We were all very happy with our decision. It was a very relaxing experience and I can assure you anytime we are in the West Glacier area, we will be staying at Great Northern Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enoroughly enjoyed this location. The chalet had a loft bedroom with 2 beds and a kitchen and living area and bath downstairs. It needed some maintenance and upkeep work but the location so near the entrance to Glacier National Park was great. It had a wonderful balcony that was great in the early mornings and early evenings with a great view of forest and mountains. Even with lots of activity around, it was amazingly quiet.

Room Tip: We were in Two Bear Cabin that could easily sleep 4 and 6 with the sleeper sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were in one of the chalets, which was very warmly decorated and well appointed. Excellent beds and tasteful bedding, kitchen with everything one might need. Decent size bathroom on second floor.
The ambiance is great and the owner made us feel especially welcome, helping us out on where to go hike off the beaten track, where to go to see wildlife etc.
The young crowd running the day to day business were all super friendly and efficient and made us feel a little younger than we really are. We were traveling with our teenage children and both of them also thought this place is 'awesome'.
Went on one of their Whitewater Rafting adventures, riverside dinner included. Can not sing their praise enough. See separate review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent three nights in the Wapiti cabin. It was clean, spacious and had comfortable beds. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially Bailey. It is right on a busy highway, however it was quiet at night. Far as not having air conditioning, we found that it wasn't needed. The days were in the 80's and it cooled into the 50's at night. Plus they provided several fans. Our family of five did a full day rafting trip which includes a scenic float, lunch and rapids. My husband and I enjoyed it all, but our kids (ages 8,11 and 13) found the scenic float a little too slow. I would recommend only doing the half day if rafting with younger children. Lunch was very good- we had steak, veggie burgers, two different salads, bread and a brownie. My husband and son went fly fishing which they enjoyed. We spent several days hiking in the park without a bear sighting then ended up seeing a black bear right next to the resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We did the overnight rafting trip - two adults and two teenage children - and it was a blast. The guides were friendly and personable. The food was a HUGE step above any other rafting company in Glacier...and we have rafted with other companies in past years.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 log cabins provide a perfect base camp for exploring beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you. Enjoy a full kitchen with all linens, dishes and cookware. Resort activities include whitewater rafting and fishing trips, as well as paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Northern Resort to your Saves list