We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Campground"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Campground
12070 U.S. 2, P.O. Box 447, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel amenities
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Great Campground"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Eight of us "flatlanders" from Florida camped at Glacier Campground on July 1 & 2, 2012 (2 campsites). We had a great time in spite of the somewhat rainy weather. We had an awesome BBQ dinner in the on site covered pavilion during a major downpour. We stayed plenty dry, enjoyed many drinks and played foosball while the cooks prepared our dinners to order. I was very impressed with the layout of the campground, large, shaded, private campsites with water and elec. hookups. The restrooms/showers were great, very clean ! This is a large, well managed campground. The owners/operators could not have been nicer. Probably the best thing about this campground is the location, about a mile south of the west entrance to Glacier National Park. It is close to Lake McDonald, Avalanche Creek and the Going to the Sun Highway and Logan Pass. Great hiking with spactacular scenery at every turn. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone and everyone. They even have small cabins for those who don't camp. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We found this place via Trip Advisors. We stayed for two nights - July 12 and 13, 2012. As was said before , the sites were wooded and spaced out nicely. The shower room was clean and since we were tent camping , a welcome thing to have available. The owners drove by each day to pick up our garbage which we were grateful for since the only place to drop off , that I found was near the office area.
What I enjoyed the most was their food. They have an open air dining area behind the office that is run by graduated students of the Culinary School in Kalispell. Clayton was the head chef and his ribs and his chicken were wonderful. With Hunter and Janie assisting.

Just so everyone knows, the cafe is open to anyone, not just campers.

Our stay here was comfy and enjoyed by us both. We tent camped this time but we will be back with our fifth wheeler next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to like this campground. The sites are wooded and very well done. The bathrooms are mostly clean. The folks are very nice and easy to deal with.

But. 

There is only one trash can for 100 plus sites? Only one dish washing sink as well? Also, the Wifi is only at the office. Additionally, the showers are a bit wonky... You have to walk through the changing area of one to get to the next one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Ok, so first off, we stayed in one of the cabins...as I recall it was #7. That said, I tent camp a great deal and this place would work great for that as well.

The cabin was great and a tremendous value. The one I stayed in had 2 full beds, power (you may want to bring an extension cord depending on your needs), small fridge, a few chairs and I small table. The porch had a table and chairs as well. Very comfy, and there was a small portable heater (this was mid/late May-but we toughed it out in our sleeping bags) if you need it. Really loved the cabin for the $.

The bathrooms were very clean, and heated. I showered only once but everything was perfect. We did laundry, and while my girlfriend handled that she only had good things to say.

The Wifi worked very well from my car (I had to check in for work, but I was in a rush to go on a hike).

There were grills available for the cabins. The one shared between Cabin #7 and the other cabin was old and seemed a bit tired, but it worked for our needs, and it was covered by a small structure which was helpful in case it rained.

The store near reception had reasonable prices although we didn't need anything...Bear Spray was $40 which was the cheapest I have seen, and it was made by Counter Assault which is THE BRAND to have from everything I have read. Luckily I never needed it, but I saw 3 bears on the trip and heard of several more...including one Grizzly in Yellowstone. Don't forget to make some noise while hiking! Oh yeah, the location of this place can't be beat. You are a 1-2 minute drive from the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have traveled 8 months from Alaska to Ushuaia on our motorcycles. We prefer to camp for free somewhere in a national forest but sometimes went to campground for a shower, laundry and WIFI.
This place was for us amazing. Every campsite has large old trees around it which gave it a very nice atmosphere. The showers and toilets were in a good shape and clean. We loved the big livingroom next to the reception where you could hang out and work on your computer. (No WIFI at the camp sites) And especially we loved the amazingly cool cafe (which is not part of the campground business) where the serve the best breakfast and really good food.
I read the very bad review and feel sorry for the guy who was treated so badly. I can somehow imagine the owners being a little caught up with themselves, maybe even a bit tired after running this place for many years, but since we never had any issues, we only had a fantastic experience in this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

We couldn't believe this place wasn't jam packed. All the spaces are wooded and pretty private. It is extremely quiet, excepting the train that comes through the area often. The staff was very friendly, and there were clean showers, and working laundry facilities. We were sad to leave after 7 nights there and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Glacier Campground for two nights while on a motorcycle trip. There are tons of RV and tent camping sites as well as a few cabins. The first night we stayed in a small cabin with a double bed and a twin bunkbed. You have to provide your own linens in the cabins but using a sleeping bag worked out well. You have to walk to the restrooms and share showers with several other campsites. The next night we stayed in a newer larger cabin with two queen beds. It was a lot more spacious and seemed brighter. The beds were also much more comfortable in the larger cabin. Each site had a picnic table out front as well as two camp chairs. There was also access to a firepit and BBQ.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glacier Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Campground

Address: 12070 U.S. 2, P.O. Box 447, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Glacier Campground Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Campground West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glacier Campground to your Saves list