We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed in This Property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belton Chalet to your Saves list
Belton Chalet
12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very Disappointed in This Property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Room was VERY small and there is no place to put toiletries. Bathroom was about the size of bathroom on a cruise ship. Bed was comfortable and clean. In the evening the desk clerk lit the fireplace which was lovely for a while. However, after a while the smell becomes a bit overwhelming and it wafted up to our second floor room and remained there most of the night. Breakfast was strictly continental and quite sparse - nothing special at all. We checked out after one night.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    62
    22
    19
    10
See reviews for
45
105
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2005

Well we arrived in West Glacier area without a room reservation and saw the lodge off HWY2 and with the cars in the parkwaythought it it would be well booked but it was getting late, my husband and I were tired and just wanted to shower and eat, so we gave it a go. Lucky for us, there was a cancellation and we were shown the room before hand by the front desk girl, were given the off season price of $90 for the night including breakfast. The room faced the back and she told us those rooms were a bit quieter (as it's a railroad chalet and the railroad is just across the way). Be prepared as the rooms are vintage and there were no telephones or televisions but we found the mobile worked most of the time.
The front desk girl suggested the restaurant & pub, located in the original chalet below the lodge. She rang down to book us a table straightway. She also mentioned that there had been recent bear activity, which was quite exciting. (one doesn't hear that at a regular lodging facility!) which made for brilliant conversation when we got back home, we talked to other guests who had seen a black bear there, but I'm afraid we had missed out. The meal was incredible.I opted for a buffalo meatloaf with mashed potatoes and my husband opted for the filet of beef which he said was brilliant. Our waitress was a local girl who we chatted with and turns out she was quite knowledgeable about the park. She recommended a day hike along the highline trail from Logan pass which took us to Granite Park Chalet where we rested and looked through the park telescope down at bear valley where the Grizzly bears are known to mull about. We didn't see any grix, but we did meet a few beautiful white mountain goats with young along the trail.
It was an all day hike including return time, but since we were only there a couple of days, was well worth it and while your high up in the mountains, it was a farily steady hike.

At the end of the day were chuffed with the whole experience and made for a lovely memorable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2004

The chalet was like a trip to the past. We had a deluxe room that was a little larger, but all rooms were nicely furnished and our balcony offered great views. The housekeeping was impeccable and the linens crisp and clean. The staff was oustanding and they also offered a deluxe continental breakfast we didn't even know came with the room. Would stay again without hesitation. They warned us of the train noise, but really it didn't bother us. Great place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2004

I stayed at the Belton and loved it. The rustic charm and charater of the building made the trip to Glacier the most relaxing trip in a long while. Loved sitting on the balconies and gazing at the Rockies. The building and grounds were spotless, staff very friendly and accommodating. The resaurant and bar were more than one could ask for. Yes, the walls are thin and yes, you can hear conversations but all was quiet by 10pm as everyone wants to get up early to enjoy the park. The continental breakfast gives you the perfect start to the day. The Belton is a perfect spot to stay if you don't like roughing it. And far more romantic and quieter than the larger hotels in Glacier. I'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2004

The Belton Chalet was a pleasant surprise. While the rooms are small, the recent renovation makes them lovely and comfortable. Yes, the walls are thin, but the hotel is historic and charming, and the beds comfortable. The biggest surprise was the restaurant, which served us the best meal we have had in ages! We arrived around 6:30pm and had dinner on the deck surrounding the restaurant with Glacier Nat'l Park in view. I would highly recommend the Belton Chalet to anyone spending time in and around Glacier Nat'l Park!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2004

When I booked a room with the owner of this historic lodge, I told her I didn't want to be around cigarette smoke. She assured me the Belton Chalet was completely non-smoking and recommended a room with a balcony. She never mentioned that people can smoke on balconies and on the porch. When my husband and I arrived, our room was full of cigar smoke from the fellow in the next room smoking on the balcony. While we waited for the manager to ask him to ask him not to smoke, we realized that even if he stopped, the people on the other side could light up. And the rooms and balconies are so tiny, if anyone in the balcony rooms smoked, that smoke would come into our room. And what if they had a conversation out there? We'd have to listen to it. There's no air conditioning, so you can't close the windows. Also, because the rooms are so tiny, there are many guests in the lobby, cooled by windows off a porch where people can smoke. The manager told us that when a certain entertainer with lung disease plays in the bar, they have to close all the windows so he can breathe. If you get a non-balcony room, you might be okay. We got a full refund and went on to find a room in Whitefish. Belton Chalet has a pretty building, but don't stay here unless you're willing to be around smoke.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2004

Stayed in the honeymoon suite in July 2004. Suite was not really a suite, but one small room. Very comfortable beds, but not overall worth the high price tag unless you're used to the price range. Balcony is not private, but only accessible through the hallway and is shared with adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belton Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.