We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Adobe House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belton Chalet to your Saves list
Belton Chalet
12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We loved the Adobe House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in the Adobe House near the Belton Chalet the first week of August. What a charming house! I would highly recommend it to families. The house was beautiful! There are two bedrooms and a set of bunks in the oversized hallway. Bathroom upstairs only has a bath but it worked out fine. Great location for those who want a little more privacy than a typical hotel or chalet. Free WiFi was nice too and the gas fireplace. Included a outdoor grill and firepit for campfires. I recommend eating at the dinner next to the gas station at the bottom of the hill. Thanks Belton for providing such a cool house for our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    22
    19
    10
See reviews for
44
104
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castricum
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Last week we stayed one night in beautiful Glacier Park during our 6 week trip to the Mid-West and North-West of the USA. Our remembrance to the Park is hardly to describe: splendid alpine nature, bears, mountain goats, walking in the snow, etc. However mentioning the name Belton Chalet remembers us to only one thing: noise, much and frequent noise. We had booked already in October 2011 a (balcony) room, because we were told that lodging in National Parks should be booked in time. What we paid for appeared to be for a small, adequately but simply furnished room, with a balcony, shared with all other rooms. However, only a very few guests were using the balcony and after a minute or so we understood why: the terrible and constant noise of traffic on the main road right before the hotel and long trains. Also in the room the noise was spoiling our (expensive) stay. During the night we woke up regularly because of the trains.
We told the receptionassistant the next morning about our feelings and she was surprised that apparently Belton had not informed us when we made our reservation, about possible inconvenience caused by traffic and trains because complaints are made frequently by guests. She confirmed that this is always done in order to let guests know what to expect. By the way: earplugs are a standard attribute in the room which proves the seriousness of the problem. We told her that, if we had known, we would not have booked in this hotel or at least we would have asked for a (cheaper) room at the backside of the building.
The tariff we had to pay, $ 170 plus tax for such a (small) room with a real noiseproblem, is ridiculous! In fact you should get a discount when booking a frontroom.
About the restaurant: we were told that as hotelguests, no reservation was needed, being with 2 persons only. When we entered the restaurant is looked like a beehive. A group had just arrived and no tables were available. We only could sit in the bar where waiters rushed along your table in order to serve the crowded restaurant. It is said that the quality of the restaurant is good but this is no place for an intimate dinner-for-two. We took a small salad and left.

Be warned!!

Dick and Maaike Gorter
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Do not take a (balcony)frontroom. You will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The story of the re-hab of the Belton Chalet is long and not what this review is for - but rest assured, we owe the owners a huge thanks for saving this great building and then making it availble for food and boarding. And the food - so well done. It seems lately the gourmet-local-healthy food bandwagon has gotten a few folks on board that overdo the ingredients with an outcome that's often a mash of flavors and things that don't quite work together. Not so here - i was apprehensive as indeed the menu is full of uncommon ingredients in uncommon blends, but oooohhh did they get it right. We had 3 different meals and all were just scrumptious. And not too expensive. Be sure and check the hours they are open before you go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Belton Chalet for five nights and loved it for three of them, but found it nearly impossible to sleep for two because of the temperatures - 90s during the day meant the room stayed over 80 degrees at night. It is a charming place, very nice staff, good location and excellent restaurant, but the lack of air conditioning means I cannot recommend it for a mid-summer stay. The other problems we had were mosquitos and noise, we had a first floor room on the parking lot and people came and went at all hours (some because of Amtrak's erratic schedule) and the noise from the room above (sounded like shoes and suitcases being dropped) bothered us all five nights. Larger carpets (than the present 3' x 5') are needed on the second floor. But for May-June and fall, the lesser problems could be overlooked and hopefully it would be cool enough at night to be able to sleep. Be aware of some false advertising - especially "live music" ( the staff could not remember when this occurred), and "books and games available" (a few ancient books and four children's games) - take your own books and Scrabble for the evenings.

Room Tip: Try on the front - the trains and traffic noise may still be less than the parking lot noise - and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I sayed at the Beltan Chalet for two nights while visiting glacier nat'l park. Very clean and not too noisy with the trains going by during the night. Had a room on the opposite side of the tracks. Only downside, no balcony which would have been nice. When it is hot, as it was in July (above 90) it takes a long time for the rooms to cool down. Even with the fan in the room it was difficult sleeping. The staff was most helpful and very courteous. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked two nights at the Belton Chalet. Really enjoyed the rich, historic ties of the place to its railroad past. Loved hearing and seeing all the trains travel through. Bed was comfortable. Very clean with all the amenities you would expect from such a historic Inn. Loved the fact that there was no TV, radio or phone. The staff gave us helpful info for hiking and other activities. Loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Belton Chalet for 3 nights in July 2012. We were visiting Glacier National Park. We really enjoyed this hotel. It is very attractive (more so than the photos on the hotel's website) and historically significant in terms of the building both of the railroad and of Glacier National Park. it is like an old time hotel. The lobby is something out of a movie, and you can leave your room key in the open partition box mounted behind the front desk when you go out. You don't have to do so, of course, but it is quaint to do so. The staff is very nice, and there is a concierge to help you. While there is no restaurant open at the Chalet for breakfast, there is a restaurant about a 1 minute walk away. There is coffee and tea set out in the morning, and you can buy pastries for breakfast in the lobby if you want.

The location is as close as you can get to the West Glacier entrance to the park so it is very convenient if you are visiting the park. The rooms are not fancy or very large, but they are nice and tasteful. The sink is in the room, and the shower and toilet are in the toilet room. The bed is very comfortable. There is no TV, telephone, or alarm clock. There is no cell service for AT&T, but I do not know about other carriers as I did see someone else using a cellphone. There is wireless. There are nice views from the windows, especially the front ones facing the park. There is a train that goes by occasionally and blows its whistle so that might be an issue for some. The train did not really bother us as we were on the back corner. I am not sure that it would be much of a problem on the front side, however, unless you were a light sleeper.

There is a story that a ghost inhabits the place. One of the other guests actually told my wife that a door had been mysteriously opened for his friend the previous night but no one was there to open it. He was not kidding. it is supposed to be a friendly ghost.

The Chalet has an excellent restaurant and a tap room that open about 3:00 p.m. We ate at the restaurant one night and found the food so good that we came back the next night. The restaurant is reasonably priced especially if you order the "bowl" selections and share the bowls. The portions of some of the bowls were quite large. The ravioli bowl and the cheese and fig appetizer were so good that my mouth is watering as I write this review. There is also a really nice porch so that you can eat outside to enjoy the weather and the beautiful scenery.

The biggest problem is getting a reservation. We made our reservation about a month in advance but could only stay there for 3 of the 6 nights that we were visiting the park. Make reservations early. Personally, if given the choice, I would like to stay at a hotel like this one more than at a very nice Doubletree Hotel like the one we stayed at in Missoula earlier in our vacation. Of course, there is no Doubletree near West Glacier, but I imagine that you get the point. The Belton Chalet has character that make up for the absence of some of the luxuries of the newer hotel chains. If I go back to Glacier, this is where I first will try to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belton Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.