We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pie and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Highland Restaurant

Glacier Highland Restaurant
12555 Hwy 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
(406) 888-5427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in West Glacier
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pizza, Soups
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pie and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ate here several times during our stay. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Very good coffee. Excellent pie -- we had gooseberry, huckleberry, and lemon meringue.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vannes
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
“Trout and berries make us happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A good adress also known by locals(and often it's signification of quality...).
The trouts are excellent and the berry pies the best in this part of Glacier.
Very good choice of local beers.
Good efficient service

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food mixed service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay and on the first night the 2 young female staff were very good and attentive and helpful. We ordered 2 pizzas which the waitress told us were very big pizzas to share so we had one between us which was huge but very good. Unfortunately for my husband I am vegetarian so because the only size of pizza was big he had to make do with the vegetarian one. As nice as they are it would be nice if they were smaller so people can have their own choice. We didn't have room for the famous huckleberry pie so went back a second night. Unfortunately different staff 'didn't' great us on entering and things went downhill from there. It is a seat yourself so you have to be spotted entering the restaurant and finding your own table otherwise you can sit there for quite while trying to catch the staffs eye. When we finally got spotted not through lack of trying, & we got a young man who didn't really seem to know what he was doing. He took our order for food and drinks and we didn't see him anywhere near our table again until I caught the ladies eye again. My pasta with cheese wasn't as good as the pizza, very bland so I asked for the chilli flakes we had on the pizza the night before but the young man couldn't find any. So I asked for the parmesan instead and smothered the pasta. We had pre ordered a piece of huckleberry pie to share but the young man gave us the bill instead of our pudding so we sent him away to get our pie. He also couldn't add up, we worked out later, and didn't get a tip. So I would recommend the food especially the pizzas and the huckleberry pie - good luck getting the right staff.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huckleberry waffles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed a couple of days in Glacier and ate at the restaurant twice. Breakfast was great (huckleberry waffles) and dinner? Pizza and Moose Drool beer; it doesn't get any better than that!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Huckleberry Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved the food. Ate there 3 times while vacationing in West Glacier. The huckleberry pancakes were delicious. Dinners were good too. We had burgers, homemade fries, and a great pizza. Huckleberry and Razzleberry pie for dessert. Only thing I would suggest is allow plenty of time to eat and have lots of patience as they don't have enough servers and they kept forgetting things that we needed. other than that it was a great place. Owner should just get more help and it would be perfect!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Highland Restaurant also viewed

 
West Glacier, MT
 

Been to Glacier Highland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Highland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.