We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations met” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Motel
Save Saved
You added Vista Motel to your Saves list
12340 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expectations met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Neat, clean, and comfortable. A great place to stay close to the Glacier NP; about a five minute drive to the park boundary. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room, even though relatively small, had an exceptionally comfortable bed. Breakfast was toast, bagels, tang, and instant oatmeal. About two miles away is a very nice restaurant where fancier breakfasts are available. Internet worked well in our room. The price is very reasonable for the location and it appears the lack of amenities are reflected in the lower price --- no A/C, phones, or TV. But you are there for the Park. It met the lodging needs for us perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Vista Motel was a pleasant surprise as the online photos did not do it justice. We had Cabin 22, an adorable little cabin with lots of wood in the ceiling and a lovely, recently redone bathroom. It was very private and cozy--king bed. We had a little deck in the front to sit on if we wanted to and pool (didn't use) across the driveway. The breakfast was not great, but that's because they don't have a kitchen in that building. It would have been nice to have real juice instead of Tang, but I understand why it is the way it is. The staff was very nice and helpful with local advice as well as helping with some of our special needs. (Parking husband's bicycle he rode in on from Washington state, etc.) I would definitely stay there again. The location is great -- you're in the park within a couple minutes drive.

Oh, and the people who complain about train noise are just that... complainers. It was not an issue and anywhere you would stay in West Glacier, the tracks are right there, so it doesn't matter which place you would choose.

Room Tip: Choose Cabin 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The mini fridge was nice but beyond that it was a cheap motel room with a high end price due to its location to the park. The cheaper motels in the area do not have fridges at all. The service was very good but the breakfast was minimal still good though. Wifi worked in my room but not in others. Door squeeked and fan was broken but it was cool and didn't need it. Overall I would definitely stay again if I had a large group there are rooms with 3-4 beds and would be a great deal for a group.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyle, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are a family of four and any other hotel anywhere in the area was going to make us rent two rooms because either they didn't actually have enough beds for all four of us to sleep or, if they did have enough beds, we still couldn't be in the same room. The reason: our son (17) was an adult and rooms could only have 2 adults in them. Very, very frustrating! The Vista Motel had a room with a queen and two doubles and allowed us all to be in the same room (actually the sleeping areas were separated by a wall).

The rooms are very basic without tv or a/c. We did have a mini fridge and a microwave. Our bathroom was very tiny and we had a great joke over it's size. The room was very clean and we we very comfortable in the room. The view is quite nice and it's just a mile (at the most) to the park. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

We did not stay for the breakfast and opted instead to get an early start on the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I paid over $100 for a room that had no tv, ac, or Internet. The shampoo and body wash was watered down, the wireless Internet couldn't reach my room, and the breakfast was literally toast, coffee and tang. I don't mind these kinds of living quarters if the price was more inline with what you get (like $30). It was just one step up from a tent on a campground...which is only $15 per night. I felt ripped off when I left the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy r, Manager at Vista Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am sorry Mike you felt our motel was over priced. If you call around the area you will see all of the motels are similar in price. We do not advertise air conditioning or TV in our motel. We do offer internet in our community rock room which has a spectacular view of the peaks of Glacier National Park. We would never water down our shampoo and shower gel. We are proud to offer in our showers dispensers with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. We are a green conscious motel. We installed a dispenser on the shower wall, which eliminates excess plastic in the garbage. Our continental breakfast is simple, we never claim it as anything else. Just a nice way for us to say thank you for staying at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The mattresses in our room were apparently brand new and gave the best night sleep of our entire vacation. The rooms have a vintage motel smell. Lovely breakfast. No tv but the office gives out free dvd viewers and dvds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good vibes! Very close to the west entrance of Glacier; clean; VERY friendly staff; nice view. Pool looked nice, but we didn't use it.

The website says the continental breakfast is "light," this is very true: just some toast, English muffins, instant oatmeal, juice, and coffee.

Our shower stall was positioned so that water sprayed right onto the ground. We had to make a make-shift wall to hold the curtain in place using a bunch of lotion and shampoo like bottles.

Not a tons of amenities but it is certainly worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 12340 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel West Glacier
Vista Motel West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.