We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on a Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn At Apgar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Village Inn At Apgar to your Saves list
Village Inn At Apgar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfection on a Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We could not have had a better stay at Village Inn. So relaxing. Our teen kids kayaked one morning. We'd awake at sunrise and then take brief nap and hit the trails. We loved Eddies for snack or dessert and dinner our first evening but had a kitchen to have cereal or sandwiches when hungry from all our hiking. Coffee was good and kitchen was stocked with everything you'd need to cook full meal but we kept it pretty simple. Loved the cleaning staff lady she was a delight. We went early in season so no bugs at all and crowds were light and will do it again. That view to wake up to was worth it all! Loved all the gift shops too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
85
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had one of the best views we ever had from a hotel room - we were in the ground floor overlooking lake McDonald a real treat any time of the day and evening.
The rooms per se were simple by functional. Kitchen with all the main accessories like cooker and microwave, but plastic plates and cups which you had to wash up yourself - not part of the daily service.
Bathroom simple but they provided nice shampoo conditioner body cream and wash. Nice towels.
The internet wasn't working for half of our stay, and after that only by reception.
Reception staff was nice and helpful with hikes maps etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Grass, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was so thrilled with our stay at Village Inn. This is one spot that is much more breath taking than the pics on the internet can show. Every room is lake side on beautiful Lake McDonald. The rooms are clean and comfy. The staff is very friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We came into Glacier on the west side and decided to stay 2 nights at Apgar and wow are we glad we did. The Many Glacier side is the sexy side - and for good reason - but wow this side was the most wonderful way to start our vacation. The little town (by town I mean block) of Apgar is just adorable - with a few cute shops and a restaurant and visitors center. We stayed on the bottom floor of the Village Inn and holy moly - the view and experience of it all was awesome. The rooms are old, and not fancy, but who the heck cares and why are you in your room other than sleeping anyway - but to look out your room window at the mountain and lake view is heavenly. The first morning, we brought out our camp stove and had breakfast right there on the front porch. then we walked 2 minutes to rent a kayak on glassy water and we felt like we had the entire lake to ourselves. they - we rented a stand up paddleboard (crazy cheap) and had a total blast taking turns trying that for the firs time ever - SO fun. Later the sunset was so gorgeous we just made dinner again right there on the deck to soak it all in...........it is hard to describe - but this place just oozes calmness, and serenity, and quiet and peacefullness and stunning beauty - can you tell we liked it there??!!! Next time we would get the kitchenette probably, but either way is fine and we loved the bottom floor and didn't find it noisy at all.

Room Tip: The kitchenette could be useful for sure, we used our cooler and campstove and that was fine too. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at the Village Inn at Apgar for 2 nights from Aug 31 – Sept 1, 2013. The Village Inn is located within Glacier Park in the little village of Apgar, at the beginning of the Going to the Sun Road and directly on the shore of spectacular Lake McDonald. You just can’t beat the two-story Village Inn in terms of location, convenience and beautiful scenery.

This Inn will remind you of its heritage as a vintage motor inn of 1950s and 1960s. Keeping its original look and feel, the Village Inn is made of dark wood and paneling, inside and out, and you park your car right by your unit and/or the stairs going to the second floor. Inside, the units have the old-fashioned linoleum flooring plus old style carpeting and drapes. Posters of Glacier Park are hung on the paneled walls.

Our specific room ended up being #61, located right behind the office. It was a downstairs unit with a twin bed + double bed and a kitchenette. The kitchenette was well supplied in dishes and cookware and contained a full size fridge, stove and microwave. We enjoyed preparing some of our own meals. The bathroom was very large, with a bathtub/shower combination, and although the fixtures were somewhat dated, everything worked just fine and was kept very clean. The beds and bedding were comfortable.

I highly recommend this room and the one directly next to it - you can still receive the wi-fi signal from the office area next door and there are no stairs to climb. The only downside to this unit was that there were children running around on the floor above us and that was a bit distracting at night until they went to sleep. Our room, as all the rooms at the Inn, opened directly onto the lakefront patio, where we had comfortable wooden chairs for relaxing and a view of the deep blue lake and mountains directly in front of us.

We also spent a lot of time at the picnic table placed in the lawn just outside the office. Here we could see the rental boat dock and were able to get away from the crowds on the beach just in front of the rooms. At this table, you can still receive a strong wi-fi signal. Honestly, we tried not to stay glued to our ipads or phones very often during our visit, but could not resist staying in touch with family and friends and posting live photos from this beautiful place.

Just a leisurely stroll down the road from the Village Inn, Apgar has several “artsy” shops with local artwork and crafts; an old converted school house; an informative Visitor Center; and Eddie’s Café where you can eat a wide variety of good food, from hardy breakfasts to beef and buffalo burgers to huckleberry everything (don’t miss the huckleberry cobbler and/or Bear Paw Pie!) And you will want to line up with the crowd outside of Eddie’s in the evening for delicious ice cream cones and to mingle with all the folks gathered around. It was a fun way to meet people and to relax after a long day of hiking and sightseeing.

(One more note – don’t confuse the Village Inn at Apgar with the Apgar Village Lodge. The Apgar Lodge units are actually individual cabins set in the woods behind the Village Inn. These cabins do not have the spectacular view of the lake and mountains that the Village Inn rooms do.)

In sum, we highly recommend staying at the Village Inn at Apgar during your visit to Glacier National Park, especially if you want the rustic, historical experience and convenience of staying in a park accommodation. You can’t beat the view and everything at the Inn was kept clean and tidy. In fact, we enjoyed the Village Inn at Apgar just as much as the larger Many Glacier Inn (Trip Advisor review written for that as well) on the other side of the park. Just remember to book the Village Inn early – at least a year in advance. We hope to be back someday!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room with a kitchenette. You will be directly on the beach with no railing to ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, each night in a different room. The first night, we had a room with a kitchenette and then the second night, we stayed in a room that just had a double bed in it. Both rooms were on the first floor, which we actually preferred over having one on the 2nd floor because the first floor rooms had a more direct view of the lake without any railing. This hotel is directly on Lake McDonald so you have lovely views of the lake, and each room has a door that opens out towards the lake and has a pair of wooden chairs to relax in. For the first floor rooms, you literally scramble over some rocks and then are down on the beach area.

The rooms were basic and rustic – what you would expect for a park lodge. The bathrooms in both rooms had an actual bathtub, rather than just a cramped stand up shower that we had in some of the other hotels we stayed in the park. We had a fair amount of flies in the room, but they give you a fly swatter for this reason. There is parking in front of the building, and we never had a problem finding a spot. There is wifi in the lobby, and in the rooms that are close to the lobby.

Village Inn is located in Apgar Village so it is located close to a restaurant (Eddie’s) and other shops (including a place that sells ice cream/yogurt). Overall, we really liked this hotel because of the beautiful views overlooking Lake McDonald. We would definitely stay here again if we were looking for accommodations on this side of the park. Compared to the other 2 hotels that we stayed at in the park (Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Glacier Park Lodge), we felt Village Inn was the best value for the money because of the views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Right on Lake McDonald. Chairs outside room, to enjoy the view. Just be prepared for biting flies! Clean. Beds comfortable. Rooms quiet & good sized. Bathroom good. Staff helpful. Red jammer buses stop nearby. Decent restaurant within walking distance. Older building. Get reservations early.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn At Apgar 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Village Inn At Apgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn At Apgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.