We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn At Apgar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Village Inn At Apgar
Save Saved
You added Village Inn At Apgar to your Saves list
Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, each night in a different room. The first night, we had a room with a kitchenette and then the second night, we stayed in a room that just had a double bed in it. Both rooms were on the first floor, which we actually preferred over having one on the 2nd floor because the first floor rooms had a more direct view of the lake without any railing. This hotel is directly on Lake McDonald so you have lovely views of the lake, and each room has a door that opens out towards the lake and has a pair of wooden chairs to relax in. For the first floor rooms, you literally scramble over some rocks and then are down on the beach area.

The rooms were basic and rustic – what you would expect for a park lodge. The bathrooms in both rooms had an actual bathtub, rather than just a cramped stand up shower that we had in some of the other hotels we stayed in the park. We had a fair amount of flies in the room, but they give you a fly swatter for this reason. There is parking in front of the building, and we never had a problem finding a spot. There is wifi in the lobby, and in the rooms that are close to the lobby.

Village Inn is located in Apgar Village so it is located close to a restaurant (Eddie’s) and other shops (including a place that sells ice cream/yogurt). Overall, we really liked this hotel because of the beautiful views overlooking Lake McDonald. We would definitely stay here again if we were looking for accommodations on this side of the park. Compared to the other 2 hotels that we stayed at in the park (Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Glacier Park Lodge), we felt Village Inn was the best value for the money because of the views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    75
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
83
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Right on Lake McDonald. Chairs outside room, to enjoy the view. Just be prepared for biting flies! Clean. Beds comfortable. Rooms quiet & good sized. Bathroom good. Staff helpful. Red jammer buses stop nearby. Decent restaurant within walking distance. Older building. Get reservations early.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed two nights here in late August - great time to enjoy the park - smaller crowds - easy to travel through the park and find parking spots at various spots. The Village Inn is a very nice place to stay. All rooms open to Lake McDonald - you are only a few feet from the shore line. We had a two bedroom unit on the second floor - clean, spacious, comfortable beds. Check-in and check-out was easy. The staff was helpful and friendly. You are within walking distances of restaurants and shopping. The one gift store has a nice selection of wine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the beginning of september 2013. We got there late after a late flight to Kalispell airport. Distance between FCA and the Inn take about 30-40m by car.

+
Clean
Room was sufficiently large
Very nice view from the balcony (shared)
Ideally placed at the beginning of the Going to the Sun Road. In the NP.
Places to eat and shop at walking distance
Wifi at reception was adequate

-
Rather old (but well maintained)

Overall: I would certainly return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay for my 1st night in the area, easy drive in from the airport and perfect location to unwind before and after doing Going to the Sun Road. Shops and restaurants walking distance, rooms have a lake view with comfy patio chairs to enjoy it. Boat rentals and swimming, at southwest end of Lake McDonald. Very friendly staff, and not overcrowded/built too. Would stay here again for sure, preferred to Lake McDonald Lodge's more touristy area.

I chose the motel, for the view from the rooms. But there are cabins too, good for families.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a lakeside view room, if staying in the motel. The cabins are set back behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervey bay
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reasonably spacious accommodation with an attached kitchen. Very comfortable beds and basic facilities in the kitchen (did have full frig, microwave and stove). However the draw card was the stunning location right on the shores of Lake McKenzie. It was lovely to sit on the outside verandah late afternoon and sip wine (out of paper cups). No glasses of any type in the room and the office could not provide any either. Shame.


It really was a picture postcard location. You can forgive the faults to have this view.

Room Tip: Just come to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we rolled into Apgar we thought we had been in a time warp back to an early Elvis movie. The little town was "old school" and the Village Inn was exactly in tune with this setting--we loved it.

We stayed in room 60 on the first floor. There was a bit of noise from above. If I had to do over, I would have preferred to be on the first floor. The view was outstanding though with the lake right in front of us and the mountains in the background.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn At Apgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.