We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, Fantastic view, friendly service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Highland Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Save
You added Glacier Highland Resort to your Saves list
Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great room, Fantastic view, friendly service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

After reading many of the bad reviews about this resort, I feel compelled to dispell some. The Highland Resort is simply that, a rustic resort and if you are expecting the Ritz, then you are better off going to the Ritz. My room was meticulously clean with a breath taking view of the beautiful mountains in the fall. The beds were comfortable, sheets clean and fresh smelling, as were the towels. The water was hot and ice available for soft drinks. It was the office employee's last day of the season and she went above and beyond to make certain I had everything I could possibly need and that I was all set before she left. The rest of the stay I dealt with the staff at the gas station/restaurant next door, both of which were excellent. The food was great and the staff was friendly, prompt with coffee, and prices reasonable. They were concerned for my safety as well with good advice for travel on the mountain at that time of year. This was one of the most enjoyable stays I have had at a resort in many, many years and will return again and again, time permitting. Great job Highland Resort!!! Oh yes, about the train whistle - the historic Amtrak train station and Glacier Association (wonderful bookstore) is down from the resort on the other side of the street. Yes, Amtrak comes through twice a day, as do freight trains, however, after being outdoors in the fresh air, hiking and walking, 50 trains coming through at one time would not have been able to wake me - besides, hasn't anyone ever heard of ear-plugs?

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    19
    21
    11
See reviews for
24
29
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

This appeared to be a nice place to stay per the pictures. However we found the rooms had very thin walls and we could hear every conversation within 2 rooms of us. Not to mention the trains coming and going all hours of the day & night. The hot water in the sink took 8 to 10 mins. to heat up, the shower was abit better @ getting warm. This was all times of the day, not just in the morning. The hot tub was out of commission when we were there, and we weren't advised of this ahead of time. There was not extra rolls of TP left in the bathroom, so we had to walk to the office to retrieve some when needed. I would not stay here again, the price was not even a plus for the rooms. The restaurant was o.k., but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

After staying on the east side of the park in some cottages, we thought the west side lodging would be equally nice. Not so. This place was a bit on the run-down side, the hot tub had no water, and it is definitely not a "resort." basic accommodations at best- with some bugs and old bedding. The train noise was also annoying. Everything can be heard in the next-door room, b/c the walls are thin. It was also pretty chilly at night.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

The stay at Glacier Highland was a serious disappointment. We rented two rooms and both were dirty and outdated. The hot tub was "still broke". The bedspreads in both rooms looked like chenille rejects from the 1950's. We all pulled them off our beds because we didn't want them to touch our skin. The back windows were still broken, blinds in our bathroom didn't work. Nor did the overhead fan and light. One room had standing water in the bathroom. A call was placed to the office. No one responded. We were told the owners were at the Belton (local bar & restaurant). Window coverings looked like very old pillow cases and the one in our room was partially torn down. In both rooms we ran out of hot water after one person showered. We stayed two nights and it was a downer to to come back to the room.
There are a few good things I can say about the hotel. The location and price are good. The sheets were clean. Otherwise, beware.

  • Liked — location, price & clean sheets
  • Disliked — Dirty, dingy and poor service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayden idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

A amazing experince a conveint place to go there is wonderful rooms with rustic furniture a perfect place to go . its nice to know that you have a nice clean room to come back to while exploring glaicer nat. park. wonderful restraunt for fuel berfore you hit the trails exploring the beatiful lands of glaicer nat park.After your long day its nice to come home and have a soak in the jacuzzi i would defently reccomend it to anyone going to glaicer nat. park

  • Liked — everthing about it
  • Disliked — i liked everthing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed here two days beginning 7/11/07. From the street the motel looked OK. However, it actually had a lot of short comings.

The rooms did not have A/C, and don't don't let anybody convince you that you don't need A/C in Glacier. Day time tempatures in West Glacier were in the high 90's, and didn't cool off to a comfortable sleeping tempature until after mid-night.

The motel was next to the highway and large trucks passing during the
night were very loud. Also, the train tracks are directly accross the
highway, and trains came by all night long. Perhaps the noise wouldn't have been so bad if the room had A/C and you could close the window.

The bed was very hard. If I slept on my side my arm that was down would go to sleep. Also, the pillows had plastic covers under the pillow cases. The plastic crinkled at the slightest movement of your head.

There was no dead-bolt lock for the door nor a safety chain latch.

There were no phones in the rooms. On the second evening of our stay I went by the office to see where the ice machine was, and the desk clerk said "you son called yesterday. Said it was not an emergency."
I wonder when or if I would have gotten the message if I hadn't gone by the office.

The shower had a heavy dark black shower curtain. When you closed the
curtain to shower there was hardly enough light to bathe by. Kind of creepy.

We killed two spiders in the room. I suspect that people leave the room door open sometimes to get cross ventillation, and the bugs come
in.

There was no ice machine on the premises. However, if you walked accross the street to the motel gift shop they would give you a 1/2 bag of ice.

Needless to say our experience was such that we would not stay in this motel agin nor we recommend it to anyone else.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No A/C.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I visited GNP for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and pulled up to Glacier Highland Resort and requested a room. The very friendly lady at the desk offered us the only room left at the time, a nice, clean, large room located in the building upstairs from the office and directly on the road and across from the railroad depot. After visiting the newly-remodeled room, we decided we wanted something more secluded instead. (Besides, the jacuzzi was out of order) Fortunately for us, as we pulled away, the desk lady called out to our car that she had just had a cancellation and the room in the unit up the hill had become available.

The charming room we stayed in was in a separate building from the office and carved out of a hillside as another person on this post has mentioned. It was off the highway as opposed to the earlier room we had looked at, so we didn't have to worry about traffic noise directly outside our window. We did, however, hear trains pass by, but not loudly enough to wake us in the night.

The hotel unit we stayed in was rustic-looking with log exterior somewhat reminiscent of National Park lodges, albeit much newer and plainer. I liked being able to back our car up to our room and the two outdoor chairs and table made it easy to relax and enjoy the view and quiet of the mountains instead of the highway.

The roomy interior looked like an bright old hunting lodge with rustic pine furniture and the most comfortable leather chair (with ottoman) I have ever sat in. Nice touches such as the cream-colored chenille bedspreads, homemade curtains with pine cornices, & mirror embellished with local ranch branding irons were charming and clean as was the rest of the room. The bathroom had shiny, brand-new linoleum, but no electrical outlet. A box fan, provided in lieu of air-conditioning, served us fine, since Montana nights are cool and that was the only time we were in our room. Besides, I prefer listening to crickets ran than the hum of an air conditioner. Satellite TV was provided, but no instructions were included with the two remote controls for those of us unfamiliar with such.

We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant which has a nice souvenir shop, with plenty of books for sale, as well. (In the railroad depot across the street is a not-for-profit bookstore, too) Ice is provided in bags, free of charge, to resort guests from the restaurant location. This resort is definitely well-maintained, and evidence of the owner's efforts is visible in new construction, including new hitching post-style lamp posts and landscaping.

Our cell phone signal, via AT&T was nonexistent, but that was part of the charm of our location, directly past the entrance to West Glacier. For those of us unwilling or unable to pay the prices to stay within the Glacier National Parks lodges, Glacier Highland Resort is a well-maintained, pleasant, relaxing, & budget-minded alternative.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Highland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.