We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apgar Village Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apgar Village Lodge
Save Saved
You added Apgar Village Lodge to your Saves list
Box 398, West Glacier, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The motel has great location, minutes from McDonald lake, and very close to West Glacier park entrance. Rooms are not very big and the furniture is basic, but everything was kept clean. It is a motel, so don't expect too much, but you will have cosy and clean room and will be surrounded by gorgeous scenery. Personnel is very friendly. Also on a plus side, there are several places where you can buy food, including some decent restaurants (Apgar, West Glacier and area around Lake McDonald Loge), which is much better compared to some other parts of the Park. However, there is no wifi, no cell phone reception (AT&T), and no TV, but that is the case in the whole Park. We really enjoyed our stay at Apgar, especially sunrises and sunsets at beautiful Lake McDonald. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The room was cozy and clean and charming, the motel is minutes from the lake and from the restaurant. My only complaint is that there was no wifi in the rooms, it's only accessible from the office, which seems like a needless omission. It's inconvenient because there's no phone service in the park, though I did get a few bars every now and then.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were four women needing a place to stay while on a hiking trip in Glacier and Apgar Village Lodge filled the bill so to speak. We had stayed here last year in another cabin. This time we had cabin no. 20 which was very spacious with a kitchen and sitting area, as well as a loft area with two very comfortable queen size beds. The main floor also had a large bedroom which contained three double beds, on of which was a bit lumpy and perhaps needed to be changed. We also had two bathrooms - one with a shower which as previous contributors mentioned is a bit small, but manageable....and a half bath as well. It's a great setting amidst tall trees and steps away from the shores of Lake Macdonald. The staff are fairly pleasant as well. I would stay here again. This large unit would be very suitable for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

No frills cabin, close to Lake McDonald. The bathroom is small and the shower even smaller. However, the hot water always lasted for two people to shower. The front desk people where friendly and accommodating. No cell phone coverage and you can get wifi on the front deck at the office. Not a lot of room for clothing, so you really can't unpack your suitcase. Great location inside the park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I am a sucker for knotty pine, so I was charmed by our two-room unit. The second bedroom is small - just enough space for a double bed and a couple of suitcases. The shower stall is also small, about 26 inches in each direction. And as other have noted, you can hear the neighbors! But overall, it was so quiet and comfortable that we did not mind that. Fixtures and mattresses were new, and it was sparkling clean. I was concerned about having one of the street-facing motels units, but Apgar is blissfully quiet by 10 p.m. From our door, it was no more than the equivalent of a city block to the lake, the one restaurant in Apgar, the three shops, the ranger station, and the shuttle stop.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have stayed here a couple times..years apart. The cozy, very comfortable, nostalgic cabins are the perfect stay for a park experience. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchen adequately stocked with utensils for the average stay. A short walk to Lake McDonald shore with a spectacular view. Picnic tables just out the back door replete with standing grills available for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a motel room overlooking the creek, was beautiful and peaceful. Be aware, shared walls are pretty thin, but wasn't an issue for us since we had a fan on at night. Was great location for the park, had lots of services on site. No air conditioning or tv, but who needs it when you're in one of the most beautiful places on earth? There were a few bugs in the room, but was to be expected when staying in a cabin. Great value, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apgar Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apgar Village Lodge

Address: Box 398, West Glacier, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cabins and motel located in Apgar of the foot of the lake McDonald. Open May through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apgar Village Hotel West Glacier
Apgar Village Motel
Apgar Village Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apgar Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.