We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Many Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Many Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Many Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

No matter where You were at in the lobby or in your room or at the restsruant aor on the deck the view of the mountain and lake was always breataking.
Enjoyed the historioc history of this Hotel. Loved the big old beams in the lobby. Enjoyed the peace and quite in the room with no TV and no radio . Just enjoyed the surrounding beauty.
Food was excellent and staff was very friendly and helpful.
Driving around in the evening we did get to see our 1st grizzely feeding by the side of the road.
The only thing we did not like was the hike to the top of the hill to the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I live in Montana and until now had only camped in Glacier. This trip I was able to stay in a room at the historic Lodge. It was built in 1915 so yes it is an old building, but I believe that just adds to the charm! The rooms are a decent size, and some have balconies that overlook the lake. Make sure you request one of these rooms. Also make sure to get up before sun up one morning and see all the stars-- if you haven't seen the Montana sky at night away from lights this is the place to do it!

Room Tip: Lakefront with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arapaho
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked two rooms here well in advance of our trip and it was well worth it. The food was great and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The views well outstanding, we saw bears and Big Horn sheep from the deck but you really needed binoculars to see them up close. Driving over Going to the Sun roads was fantastic, just take your time to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This historic motel has an amazing lobby with plenty of seats and a great view of the lake and mountains. And outside is a very large deck with more seating - with an even better view. The restaurants seemed pricey and didn't seem to have a lot of variety. Heidi's snack shop was convenient for packing a lunch to take on day hikes. Often there was evening entertainment in the lobby- the violinist we heard was very good! Inside there are tables with partially completed jigsaw puzzles- I counted at least 8 of them. We had a non-refurbished room supposedly- but it was very nice and more than adequate- I think the only difference is a coffee maker and updated plumbing- but our plumbing was just fine and we got complementary vouchers for two coffee/teas daily- each- from Heidi's and that was just as good - if not better -to me!

Room Tip: We had a corner w/o a balcony- am glad we didn't pay extra for a balcony- the deck was fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location and view left me speechless. It's located away from the Going-to-the-Sun crowds, and the Apgar crowds and the St. Mary's crowds. It felt like I had found a secret hideaway. Very historic, made with huge logs. The large sitting room from which registration, gift shops and restaurants were accessed had a ceiling vaulted to at least 3 stories high. We had lunch in the lounge (that's where lunch is served) which was quite good with a stunning view of the lake and surrounding mountains and glaciers. There is a fairly large parking lot, which is good since the park's free shuttle doesn't make it to this part of the park. Several hikes begin from the edge of the parking lot. And there are horses to rent at the edge of the parking lot (Swan Mountain Outfitters). Unfortunately, we did not see any wildlife enroute to, at or when leaving the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Many Glacier Lodge for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The restaurants and Heidi's snack bar were convenient with good food. Get to the restaurants early (5:30 pm) as the hotel was packed with people so you can imagine how crowded the on site restaurants can be. They say there is Internet but we never got connected. If you are happy to have cell service, TV, radio, etc., then best not to stay. But, if you want to drink coffee or snack on the outside deck overlooking a breathtakingly gorgeous lake and mountain view, while searching for wildlife, then you would be in the right spot. We saw black bear and moose around the lake. The ranger tour to Grinnell Glacier was very enjoyable; the ranger gave a detailed description of geology and its effect on biology. There was also an historical tour of the lodge; quite informative. I heard folks complain about their rooms but we lucked out and had a newly refurbished handicap accessible room with a huge bathroom and view of the lake just outside our window. We had a door going outside where you could put out lawn chairs on the grass and watch the world go by. Parking is not that close and up a fairly steep hill but you can drive down to unload. The bellboys are dressed in lederhosen in keeping with the Swiss architecture of most of the great northern railroad buildings. The staff is primarily college students from all over and some of the musically talented ones put on evening shows.

Room Tip: First floor has lots of traffic so might be louder than other floors. Ask for a refurbished room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The setting alone on swiftcurrent lake is something to behold! Its very much like being thrown back in time. Our room was refurbished with stickley furniture and a stone chase in the corner. The window overlooked the lake and I kind of felt they ;might have shot the movie the shining there! Our bathroom was very spacious and had a wonderful clawfoot tub. Great after hiking to iceberg lake which was the best hike of our trip. We had a romantic dinner in the restored dining room and were impressed with the talented violinist who played during dinner. I would definately recommend the entire experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Many Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many Glacier Lodge

Address: Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Many Glacier Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Many Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.