We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Many Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Many Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Many Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Arapaho
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked two rooms here well in advance of our trip and it was well worth it. The food was great and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The views well outstanding, we saw bears and Big Horn sheep from the deck but you really needed binoculars to see them up close. Driving over Going to the Sun roads was fantastic, just take your time to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This historic motel has an amazing lobby with plenty of seats and a great view of the lake and mountains. And outside is a very large deck with more seating - with an even better view. The restaurants seemed pricey and didn't seem to have a lot of variety. Heidi's snack shop was convenient for packing a lunch to take on day hikes. Often there was evening entertainment in the lobby- the violinist we heard was very good! Inside there are tables with partially completed jigsaw puzzles- I counted at least 8 of them. We had a non-refurbished room supposedly- but it was very nice and more than adequate- I think the only difference is a coffee maker and updated plumbing- but our plumbing was just fine and we got complementary vouchers for two coffee/teas daily- each- from Heidi's and that was just as good - if not better -to me!

Room Tip: We had a corner w/o a balcony- am glad we didn't pay extra for a balcony- the deck was fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location and view left me speechless. It's located away from the Going-to-the-Sun crowds, and the Apgar crowds and the St. Mary's crowds. It felt like I had found a secret hideaway. Very historic, made with huge logs. The large sitting room from which registration, gift shops and restaurants were accessed had a ceiling vaulted to at least 3 stories high. We had lunch in the lounge (that's where lunch is served) which was quite good with a stunning view of the lake and surrounding mountains and glaciers. There is a fairly large parking lot, which is good since the park's free shuttle doesn't make it to this part of the park. Several hikes begin from the edge of the parking lot. And there are horses to rent at the edge of the parking lot (Swan Mountain Outfitters). Unfortunately, we did not see any wildlife enroute to, at or when leaving the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Many Glacier Lodge for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The restaurants and Heidi's snack bar were convenient with good food. Get to the restaurants early (5:30 pm) as the hotel was packed with people so you can imagine how crowded the on site restaurants can be. They say there is Internet but we never got connected. If you are happy to have cell service, TV, radio, etc., then best not to stay. But, if you want to drink coffee or snack on the outside deck overlooking a breathtakingly gorgeous lake and mountain view, while searching for wildlife, then you would be in the right spot. We saw black bear and moose around the lake. The ranger tour to Grinnell Glacier was very enjoyable; the ranger gave a detailed description of geology and its effect on biology. There was also an historical tour of the lodge; quite informative. I heard folks complain about their rooms but we lucked out and had a newly refurbished handicap accessible room with a huge bathroom and view of the lake just outside our window. We had a door going outside where you could put out lawn chairs on the grass and watch the world go by. Parking is not that close and up a fairly steep hill but you can drive down to unload. The bellboys are dressed in lederhosen in keeping with the Swiss architecture of most of the great northern railroad buildings. The staff is primarily college students from all over and some of the musically talented ones put on evening shows.

Room Tip: First floor has lots of traffic so might be louder than other floors. Ask for a refurbished room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The setting alone on swiftcurrent lake is something to behold! Its very much like being thrown back in time. Our room was refurbished with stickley furniture and a stone chase in the corner. The window overlooked the lake and I kind of felt they ;might have shot the movie the shining there! Our bathroom was very spacious and had a wonderful clawfoot tub. Great after hiking to iceberg lake which was the best hike of our trip. We had a romantic dinner in the restored dining room and were impressed with the talented violinist who played during dinner. I would definately recommend the entire experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Breathtaking views, lots of wildlife sightings including grizzly bears, black bears, mountain goats, moose, etc. Get a refurbished lake view room with a balcony. They are beautifully renovated with claw foot tubs, gorgeous furnishings which are era appropriate, single serve coffee & tea machine, etc.. With my husband's spotting scope, we saw a momma moose with baby across the Swift Current Lake right in front of our balcony room. Spectacular and a chance of a lifetime! Lake view table in the dining room with great food, wonderful waiters. Life doesn't get any better than that. Interlachen Lounge can get drinks from the bar and then great seating area with views of lake and hillside where we spotted the moose, several grizzly bears eating huckleberries and lots of mountain goats. The bellman wears lederhosen and the entire lodge has a great German feel. We also had cheese fondue before dinner! I would highly recommend this hotel. Only down side is the parking lot but a minor inconvenience given the other positives. From Many Glacier hotel book the 8:30am Grinnel Glacier Boat Trip which includes the Ranger led hike to the Glacier.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished lakefront room with a balcony. We were on third floor which was perfect. Wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The view was amazing from our room, especially in the morning when the mountains were reflected in the lake.

The room was small, but clean and everything worked, so no complaints. The shower was also small, but usable.

Our refurbished room meant we had an elevator and a small fan in the room. Plumbing and electrical were undoubtedly updated.

We truly enjoyed the lobby and deck. Some seats face the beautiful view. Others are gathered around the large fireplace, where the people watching is excellent.

We ate in the main dining room, the casual restaurant (Interlaken Lounge) and got coffee and snacks at Heidi's. I even found the gift shop to be reasonably priced.

The parking is the biggest headache - and would be terrible for someone with a disability. It is up a steep hill from the hotel, necessitating a long walk whenever you need your car. I would strongly recommend a golf cart service by the bellmen to drive people up to the parking lot.

Oh, and the wildlife viewing, bears and moose, is amazing around Many Glacier. We didn't manage to get a balcony room - it would have been fun to search for bears sitting on the balcony.
Reserve early (we reserved 15 months ahead and still did not get a balcony or the bed types we would have preferred.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Many Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many Glacier Lodge

Address: Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Many Glacier Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Many Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.