We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Guides Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glacier Guides Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Guides Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Hagerstown, MD
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I don't say this often, but our stay was perfect. The setting of this alpine-styled lodge in the woods among native plantings captured me from the first look. But then there was Chloe and then Josh and then a beautiful, comfortable, spotlessly clean room owned by a business with an eco-conscience. Oh my. I could have stayed a month. I certainly hope, hope, hope to return there in my lifetime for a longer stay. While they may call their breakfast a continental, it is really more like the continent: there were so many great and healthy choices that I had to forego tasting all that I had wished I could. Bonus: they have a phone in the dining area with unlimited long distance. Bonus: sitting on the patio outside of our room with a great book. Calgon, take me to Glacier Guides Lodge!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor. We are older and the second floor has steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierGuidesInc, Marketing/Sustainability Director at Glacier Guides Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Wow. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. We couldn't be luckier to have such a great staff that take such pride in their work. We are constantly trying to find better ways to be a "responsible business", so we are happy to hear when our guests are appreciative of our eco-efforts. Thank you for choosing Glacier Guides Lodge. We hope that you are able to visit us again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
111
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our trip to Glacier National Park began (Sept. 3-5, three nights) at Glacier Guides Lodge. It was our first trip to the park and we needed much advice regarding tours, sites to see and best hiking trails for fit, but mature, hikers who were afraid of bears. We were given so much attention by the staff we felt like royalty. We were, because it was short notice, closed out of a Glacier Guides hiking tour, but our hosts were able to talk the tour company into taking us along anyway. We loved all the attention they lavished upon us. We wanted to stay another night, but they were all booked. So, on to the next hotel, in Kalispell. But wait, we really liked Glacier NP so why not just drive back and so we did. Glacier Guides had a nice, calm, rafting trip scheduled so we joined in. While conversing with others in the raft, it became clear that they too were staying at the Glacier Guides Lodge, in fact they had taken our room! They had stayed there before and experienced the same feeling of being well taken care of.
They only have a small number of rooms so make reservations well in advance. They also have an excellent website with friendly telephone and email follow up.

Room Tip: It is set back from the road a bit and if you arrive after dark the driveway is pitch black. You mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierGuidesInc, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Guides Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. It's great that you were able to partake in some of our guided activities as well. Glacier is an amazing place and has so much to offer. Thank you for choosing Glacier Guides Lodge. We hope that you are able to come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Glacier Guides lodge is located near the East entrance to Glacier Park. Its location is perfect for access day hikes around the park without actual staying in the park itself. The rooms are nicely decorated with a small fridge for drinks in the room. They serve a decent breakfast in the morning with mostly breads, yogurt, cereals and great coffee. The staff were all very accommodating and were present but not overbearing. The guide we used for our day hike to Cobalt lake was phenomenal. If you get a chance to explore the Two Medicine area of Glacier Park, it is well worth the 90 minute drive. The setting of the lodge just off the main road in a grove of trees is ideal for quiet evenings and quick access to the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back from St. Mary Lodge, which we loved. We had a late start from there, due to illness, so we arrived late, around 8:00 PM. We did call to let them know we would be arriving late. We called 2 nr's, no one picked up the phone.
It was pitched black, and the sign was not lit up when we arrived.( If they even had a light. ) We passed it by, and it was very hard to find the Hotel in the dark.
Not a good first impression.
The beds were very good, and it was cozy, but the girl that cleaned our room forgot the sink and the floor.
There was no sink in the bathroom, only out in the hallway on top of the fridge. It didn't feel sanitary.

I also woke up around 5 every morning, by walking and noise coming from downstairs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Glacier Guides Lodge is a charming quaint accommodation nestled in the woods just a hop skip and jump away from the park entrance. The decor is cabin like and well thought out, our room had a small outside sitting area that looked out into the woods. The gal who checked us in was delightful and well acquainted with area. The included breakfast was nice and fresh. Sorry we weren't staying longer the place begged you to relax and set a spell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Lodge is easily the best hotel facility in or near Glacier Park. (That's not saying all that much considering the general run of greatly overpriced and under-achieving hotels around the Park).

Let me say, however, that my overall experience here was the best I've had in any hotel anywhere. The physical facility is terrific and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is first-rate.

If you are going to Glacier, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No doubt, best in the area. Nearly new, spacious accommodation in a quiet forest setting. Friendly, helpful reception and an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and baked goods. Highly recommended. Only negative was our room heater was being repaired but we managed with the bathroom heater.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierGuidesInc, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Guides Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Glacier Guides Lodge. We are sorry to hear that your heater was having an "off day". We are a fairly new hotel, however, we do experience the rare malfunction. We sincerely appreciate your patience during your stay. We sincerely thank you for choosing Glacier Guides Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Montana Raft Company and Glacier Guides, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly); each private room has a full bath, 2 queen bed(s), AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy Trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Guides Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.