We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best I've Experienced....Anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Guides Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glacier Guides Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Guides Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best I've Experienced....Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Lodge is easily the best hotel facility in or near Glacier Park. (That's not saying all that much considering the general run of greatly overpriced and under-achieving hotels around the Park).

Let me say, however, that my overall experience here was the best I've had in any hotel anywhere. The physical facility is terrific and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is first-rate.

If you are going to Glacier, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
112
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No doubt, best in the area. Nearly new, spacious accommodation in a quiet forest setting. Friendly, helpful reception and an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and baked goods. Highly recommended. Only negative was our room heater was being repaired but we managed with the bathroom heater.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierGuidesInc, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Guides Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Glacier Guides Lodge. We are sorry to hear that your heater was having an "off day". We are a fairly new hotel, however, we do experience the rare malfunction. We sincerely appreciate your patience during your stay. We sincerely thank you for choosing Glacier Guides Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Glacier Guides Lodge is the best of both worlds - just across the road from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park, but far from the mayhem of the concessionaire properties. The rooms are new and large enough for comfort, well-appointed with plenty of storage and closet/hook space. The second floor was perfect for our week long stay and very quiet. Josh the innkeeper provided a great continental breakfast spread with the added touch of a daily yummy home-baked item. Josh was also more than helpful in providing hike and car route information, allowing us to make the most of our stay. Also need to mention Josh's free bear spray! This was just one of the ways the Lodge tries to reduce environmental junk from accumulating in the the area. We've already recommended the Lodge to some Montana natives who hadn't heard about it.

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet and has a large porch, but there are first floor rooms with outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

very friendly & helpful staff,especially Josh the innkeeper. A great west side location. The inn was fantastic. Very clean and nicely furnished.Would definitely recommend. Very convenient. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to explore Glacier National Park. Seems fairly new with nice spacious rooms. Very clean, peaceful and fairly quiet (we were on the first floor and could hear walking in the room above us due to the wood floors; you probably hear less noise on the second floor). Exceptional continental breakfast in the morning with fresh breads, healthy dry cereals, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and fresh coffee and tea. Each morning there is something made fresh such as cinnamon rolls, muffins, mini quiches, etc. We look forward to staying here again in the future!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've never been to Glacier. I Had no idea where to start. To split the risk, we went to two lodges: Isaak Walton Inn and Glacier Guides Lodge. Amazingly, they were both great picks. See my other review of the IWI. Glacier Guides is a very new lodge within walking distance of the entrance to the park. The lodge is set back in the trees and up a hill, about four blocks from the train station. The rooms are large with all the amenities and very eco-friendly to boot. They serve a very healthy breakfast every morning. No hot food but great breads, fresh fruit, excellent granolas, yogurt, juice and good coffee. What made the lodge for us was Josh, the manager. He was very accommodating and made sure that we had all we needed and shuttled us to wherever we wanted to go (we came out on the train). I'm SO happy I chose the two smaller lodges I did rather than the HUGE lodges in the park. They are overcrowded, a bit run down, and very expensive. If you pick Glacier Guides, you'll be happy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end have double windows but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We loved our stay at the Glacier Guides Lodge! This was our second trip to Glacier National Park but our first time staying in the West Glacier area. The Glacier Guides Lodge was absolutely fabulous! What a great find! The location is excellent, and near the entrance of the park. Our room #12 on the upper level was immaculate and so very comfortable, and included a private patio area which is shared with room #11. The breakfast is very thoughtful in that it includes gluten free options! Each morning we were treated to fresh fruit, cereals and grains, a variety of breads, juice, yoghurt and coffees and teas. If requested a day in advance, Josh and the Glacier Guides can prepare a lunch for your hike! We did that and what a feast we enjoyed! Josh is the innkeeper, and so helpful with information and any assistance you might need. Josh, along with Max, a happy Vizsla, made our stay extremely special! Thank you, Josh, Max and the Glacier Guides!

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 have a lovely patio area off of their room. Room #12 is on the corner so it also in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Montana Raft Company and Glacier Guides, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly); each private room has a full bath, 2 queen bed(s), AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy Trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Guides Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.