We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed staying here - would go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Guides Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glacier Guides Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Guides Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed staying here - would go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Beautiful place - back in a grove away from the road, but only a short walk to the best restaurant in town - and very comfortable and spacious rooms. I also liked their ecological consciousness (for example, having soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower). The service was terrific - Don was great. We had to leave very early in the morning, before breakfast, so Don fixed us a couple of really nice 'breakfast bags' with yogurt, bagels & flavored cream cheese that they mix themselves, and fruits, to take with us to the airport.

Room Tip: They're probably all the same, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
112
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family of 9 recently stayed at the Lodge. I booked the Lodge based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor. Everything I read on Trip Advisor was absolutely correct. This Lodge was a true gem. Josh, the manager was the best. He made reservations for us the first night at a local restaurant.
Josh was professional, thoughtful, helpful and very knowledgeable when it came to just about everything in and around Glacier National Park. The Lodge was in a great secluded location, but we could walk to restaurants, grocery store and West Glacier Village. Our rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated in a western theme. First floor Lodge rooms had a private patio with table and chairs facing the woods....really nice. Great breakfast every morning....excellent coffee. Can't say enough nice things about Glacier Guides Lodge.....highly recommended...don't miss it if you are traveling to Glacier National Park

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We loved the place, the vibe, Josh, the visiting dogs, the area, the quiet, the food...well, everything! It was easy getting there and it's tucked off the road so it's pretty quiet, except in the morning when a million bird songs erupt! But no copmplaint here! I am a vegan and the lodge helped me out by providing hearty wheat bread, granola bars, fruit, cereal, and soy milk. The coffee was extremely good! Josh was so helpful in advising and encouraging us with our daily planned excursions. We had room 12 and except for a small hitch with some humming motor sound that eventually disappeared, we proclaim this to be the most peaceful and beautiful room. We had views outdoors on 2 walls helping us feel like we were camping in comfort. One other minor issue for us that most people would enjoy rather than being upset- the daily maid service. We didn't want them to come into our room and make up the beds and such but they did anyway. Oh well. It could be worse! Plentiful parking, reasonable rates. Just great!

Room Tip: room 12 ROCKS!!!! great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Glacier Guides for a couple nights while exploring the park. Don was truly knowledgeable about the park. He provided excellent suggestions for hikes in the park and on places to eat in the area. Our room was awesome! The room was clean and well supplied with soap, shampoo and conditioner. We could not have been happier with the facilities. The facility appeared to be fairly new. The facility is not on Hwy 2 (which is a good thing due to the road and train traffic) but still easy to locate if you follow the signs. It is in walking distance to everything in West Glacier including the park entrance and the shops in the park.

Room Tip: If you choose the ground floor you can have a back porch with chairs. Great place to sit and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Lodge in West Glacier is conveneint to the West Glacier Park entrance. Our stay was made even better by the innkeeper Josh, who was cheery and very helpful. He gave us quite a few good tips of what to do while in the Park. Would definitely recommend the lodger

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found Glacier Guides Lodge by accident and it was our favorite place to stay during our vacation. It was a great place to stay, beautiful setting. It was quite, peaceful and clean. We only wished there had been an opening for the following night. Would recommend GGL to family and friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our inkeeper Don and gentle giant Rosco ( malamute) welcomed us to this lovely, serene lodge in the woods- just about three minutes from the hustle and bustle of the west entrance to Glacier Park. The lodge has 12 rooms and a public area and is decorated in rustic and traditional look and furnishings; the rooms are a slightly odd mix of contemporary and rustic furnishings and decor. The medium sized rooms featured twin queen beds and linens of good quality and a refrigerator. The small bathroom had very good toiletries and medium weight, tiny towels. The TV was a small flatscreen with seemingly unlimited channels. The telephone is in the common area downstairs. Internet is complementary ( thank you) and ice is self serve. The rate, which is pretty stiff in high season, includes a continental breakfast of pretty typical quality and selection. There are a limited number of good enough restaurants within a short drive. While the Glacier Guides Lodge may not have the pizazz of some of the major hotels inside the park- it is a well run, comfortable alternative and deserves a look.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 make an attractive pairing- they share a lovely back patio area that is surrounded b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Montana Raft Company and Glacier Guides, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly); each private room has a full bath, 2 queen bed(s), AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy Trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Guides Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.