We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fried Chicken, Disappointing Strawberry Shortcake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Glacier Restaurant

West Glacier Restaurant
200 Going to the Sun Rd, West Glacier, MT 59936
406 888 5359
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in West Glacier
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: We welcome you to Glacier National Parks West Entrance as we have welcomed visitors for over sixty years. The restaurant and other West Glacier Mercantile buildings were constructed in 1938 at the junction of the Going to the Sun Road and US Highway 2. We are open mid May thru mid September, serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Our food is all home made, desserts are amazing and staff is exceptional. We are able to accommodate your group whatever the size. We are fully licensed so you may enjoy a cocktail with your meal and we do take out or sack lunches if you prefer to eat "on the fly". Stop in and check out our ice cream cones or huckleberry cream pie!
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Great Fried Chicken, Disappointing Strawberry Shortcake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went for a drink at the bar first and it's a cool little spot, bartender was friendly but unfortunately they didn't have any cider. Then we went next door for dinner. Service was good, very friendly older woman. We each ordered a salad to start, which was just okay, but the fried chicken was really good! We both ordered it and it was a huge portion, fresh, overall a winner. Big disappointment was when we asked about desserts (they have a little soda fountain area in the corner), it sounded like so many great choices and when we asked about the strawberry shortcake, it came highly recommended, but unfortunately came with what tasted like artificial strawberry drenched in a syrup (not like fresh ones that you add sugar too and then they create their own juice). Anyway, the food was actually pretty good hear, but maybe just get ice cream for dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I am thrilled that you loved the fried chicken, but so sorry that you were not happy with the strawberry shortcake! We usually get raves on it and it is always made with home made shortcake and fresh strawberries, but yes, they are mixed with a glaze. I am looking into it, to see if something was changed over the weekend. Thank you for your kind words. Lisa P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    98
    34
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It's basic but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We ate at the West Glacier Restaurant for dinner two times and once for breakfast during our stay at the West Glacier Motel.

The food isn't fancy. It reminds me of a diner. But, the food is adequate and the service is friendly. We didn't have to wait for a table and because we stayed at the Motel we got a 10% discount. They have a fair selection of beer with a few local brews by the bottle.

We had the huckleberry pie for dessert. This was really good. I added a picture to my review.

Breakfast was decent but the service was a little slow.

We would go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us and I love the picture of the huckleberry pie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had breakfast here first and it was really good. Price was great for what you got and the morning staff were very friendly. Because breakfast was so good we came back for dinner. A little pricier but the food was amazing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, glad you enjoyed your meals here and thanks for the "pat on the back" to the staff, they are amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

restaurant has tasty food for a decent price. Clean surroundings, well mannered servers, menu designed to feed the flock with good home cooked style food. Best breakfast around. (of the five places I have tried for breakfast....this IS the best). Would highly recommmend this stop to refuel the system with wholesome food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your review makes me know that we are doing it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but friendly, tasty and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Traditional Park Service type restaurant. Friendly and efficient service and a good choice of lunch options. Their salads are huge and very tasty. Soups are great too. Would recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I always appreciate the comments on our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Glacier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to West Glacier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Glacier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.