We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food - Long Hours - Nice Staff - My Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie's Cafe & Gifts

Eddie's Cafe & Gifts
Apgar Village, Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 restaurants in West Glacier
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Long Hours - Nice Staff - My Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

During my 2 weeks at Glacier National Park, this was my favorite restaurant. Menu has a good selection, and they were really great about letting me substitute "anything green you have in the kitchen" instead of fries, etc., with my meals. After several days backpacking between trips into town, just wanted as much fruit and veg as I could get, and they delivered. And they were really nice about letting me pick where I sat, so eating alone didn't feel uncomfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    23
    41
    38
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“New Ownership Better Get A Grip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I had breakfast at 9:30 AM. I ordered the Montana Scramble my wife ordered two egg breakfast. Montana Scramble = burnt fried potatoes, steak pieces overdone, two eggs over easy (burnt and slopped) on top of a small sprinkle of cheddar, six tiny burnt pieces of onion that I barely found. My wifes plate was similar and her scrambled egg? A small flat disc. No, it's not the liquid type of eggs it was real. To add to all of this after we choked down our meal the waiter says, "Sorry your eggs weren't done the way you requested them." This comment made on his own out of the blue. I told him the whole meal was horrible. He said he would tell the cook and walked away. I just want everyone who reads this to know I've NEVER told a server this before. I know that we should have told them we don't want our food and left. I'll own that. Take our advice, don't go here. There's some really great places right outside the park. I hope this will save you 25.00 for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Reubens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in West Glacier at the Village Inn. This place was close by, it was late and we were hungry so we tried it. I knew nothing about it at the time. We had a great experience. The reuben sandwiches were delicious and the fries were hot and tasty. The service was quick and efficient. I read the reviews already published just before I wrote this review and was surprised. We had no problems. I guess different days, wait staff and entrees make quite a difference. I hope this restaurant heeds the reviews and makes some changes because we know they can get it right sometimes. They did the evening we visited

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good place to relax or recover from a hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Eddie's is a reliable place for a burger, a beer and a chat. Friendly and relaxed, open late, easy-going. After filling up, take a stroll down the street and along Lake MacDonald for a beautiful view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I went to Eddie's with my wife and son on our way through Glacier National Park. After reading the previous posts about Eddie's we were hesitant. MAN WERE WE WRONG!!!

We knew that it was the end of the season as everything else had already been closed down. Apparently this place is the only restaurant that knows that people come after Labor Day.

Once inside we were welcomed by a waitstaff that were happy to talk with us about our travels and theirs. I got the Buffalo burger, it was perfectly done and a neat treat being in Montana. My wife got the Fiesta Salad with chicken. She loved the salad so much she had to personally tell the chef. My son's food was adequate but what really made him happy was the crayons and coloring book the waitress brought to keep him occupied.

Other reviewers must have been tired from a long day's hike because I did not have a problem with service or food. In fact they were both the highlight of our trip. Maybe people should look up from their anger filled trips to realize what a gem in the crown of glacier this place really is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie's Cafe & Gifts also viewed

 

Been to Eddie's Cafe & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie's Cafe & Gifts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.