We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Silver City, NM ???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Silver City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Silver City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1103 Superior Street, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Silver City
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Silver City, NM ???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

During a recent trip to Silver City, NM, some acquaintances booked a room for me and my family at this particular hotel. They told us unequivocally that this was the best hotel in town. Again, when we were waiting to check in, we heard the clerk echo the same sentiment to another person who was checking in. Great we thought. The place looked OK from the outside, at least. We had requested a crib for our infant as well as a refrigerator for our room. Being very conscious for cleanliness especially when our infant daughter is involved, we asked if the crib was cleaned prior to issuance. The clerk assured us that it was. Upon checking into our room, we always do a cursory check to ensure there are no blatant problems, e.g. ants in the room, etc. Though we didn't find any vermin, we did find trash around the bed skirt, the carpets heavily soiled, the bed skirt itself was dirty and uncleaned as well as the bathroom floor was uncleaned due to the presence of hair (not ours) and other debris. We also found an unopened bottle of male enhancement pills in a dresser drawer. When we went to assemble the crib, I noticed a few yellow in color stains on the white bars of the crib. We always carry disinfectant wipes with us, so I gave the entire crib a wipe down in which the unknown yellow stains came off. Though the above items did not qualify as a deal breaker for us, we nonetheless let the front desk know of the problems. They were apologetic and said that they would bring up the matters with housekeeping and management. We never heard from either nor did the hotel attempt in any way to remedy the situation. Since we were so far from any sort of civilization in Silver City, we felt stuck with the accommodations. If this is in fact the best hotel in Silver City, keep driving to Las Cruces if you can, to get a better selection of hotels. The housekeeping in this hotel needs remedial basic cleanliness training as well as does the management in customer relations. I would not recommend this hotel unless it absolutely couldn't be avoided, i.e. staying in Silver City. On a more positive note though, the staff in the morning breakfast area were very pleasant and responsive.

Room Tip: Stay in Las Cruces instead, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
29
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Our twin queen sized room was so cluttered with furniture we had to rearrange it to be able to store my suitcase beside my bed (the only place it would fit)
The room had no fridge or microwave so if you want either there was a $10 a day charge for each
The fitness room boasts four machines but only one was working the other outdated one was inaccurate
Tucked behind Wendy's and over 2 miles from the Old Town its location is not great

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Silver City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear David E,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you have given us a high score on Cleanliness. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

rooms are average for what you pay for...housekeeping needs to learn to quit slamming doors all morning and pay attention to the cleanliness of the room/bedding.

I'm sure this property will improve with time since it is now under new management. I look forward to seeing the improvements my next visit to Silver City...because I will stay here again and check it out.

The breakfast is not very good for non-meat-eaters...but the fruit was fresh and the juice was great.

Front desk staff needs a little training on customer service..like telling me they could not make change for a $20???..but after a little coercing, they seemed to have the change for me...hmmm????

I talked to the corporate manager and reviewed my stay with him...he provided some of the best customer service that I have seen in a long time

Other than the little things that will improve...the trip was fun.

Lke I said..I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Az
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Silver City was a perfect place for our family members to stay during a family reunion. From the planning of this event to our departure, Ms. Carrillo was there to help. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. A big thank you to Ms. Carrillo and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights along with 10 other family members and found our rooms as well as the rest of the hotel to be very clean and well managed. We felt that the manager, Ms. Carrillo, went above and beyond to accommodate all of our needs and requests. All the staff was very friendly and well trained. The breakfast was very good, fresh and plentiful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

hotel is clean and very well managed. Mgr. Michelle was extremely accommodating for our reunion and made sure all of our family members were comfortable. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Laurie at breakfast was personable and the selections were generous. Manager Michelle Carrillo was recovering from surgery but was still active checking the facilities. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Silver City as this was the third consecutive year in which we have had a reuni
on there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place us slipping, rooms are dirty, carpets stained, beds are horrible and rooms stink they try to mask it with a foo foo spray but smell dominates. Maids can be friendly but they do not clean. Clean to them is making ur bed and changing out ur towels. So if ur staying more than a night a want a clean room pack ur vacuum and supplies cause u will have to do it urself. Personal feeling if they were made to wear uniforms that fit and looked professional perhaps they would have more prides in their work, cause if u don't take pride in urself its going to show through ur work. Breakfast staff, Lori and maintenance, Mack have great work ethic and are professional and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Silver City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear cruznthru,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I am glad our breakfast staff were professional and friendly. I apologize for the overall condition of the room and for the inconvenience it may have caused you. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Silver City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Silver City

Address: 1103 Superior Street, Silver City, NM 88061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Silver City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Silver City, New Mexico is near Historic Downtown Silver City with it's restaurants, galleries and shopping. The Gila National Forest and Wilderness areas, Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument, City of Rocks State Park, Faywood Hot Springs, Glenwood Catwalk Recreation Area, Chino Mine, Tyrone Mine and the WNMU Campus are within easy driving distance. Tourist and real estate relocation information are available in our lobby. The goal of our hotel is to provide our guests with an inviting, comfortable and safe atmosphere that exceeds expectations. We will do this by providing both our guests and our employees with a positive experience while maintaining our honesty, integrity and love for what we do. Hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Silver City, NM and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Silver City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Silver City Hotel Silver City
Holiday Inn Silver City
Silver City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Silver City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.