We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy, home style Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina Restaurant

La Cocina Restaurant
201 W College Ave, Silver City, NM 88061-5418
575-388-8687
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 65 Restaurants in Silver City
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Spicy, home style Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

La Cocina is a little Mom-and-Pop Mexican place we walked into on a Friday evening. The service was quick and friendly. I ordered a taco and enchilada combo, but the enchilada sauce was way too spicy for my tastes. The taco was just right. My husband enjoyed his meal more...but he likes things spicier than I do. The salsa brought with a basket of chips was pretty hot, too. All the combo platters at La Cocina included sopaipillas with honey for dessert. I liked that.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Econolodge and La Cocina delivers. There was a small confusion with my cc and the manager was awesome, as was the girl who delivered. The food was awesome, the prices were decent, and the delivery time was fast!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, and hey, they even deliver!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were just passing through Silver City, in a motel and just didn't feel like going to a restaurant, so this restaurant delivered which was great.

The food is above average, really better than we expected. I got a green chile combo which had that always good New Mexican flavor.

Also, just fyi, for some reason a lot of restaurants in this town close on Sundays. This place however was open.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food if you have spare salt!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I got takeout late on a sunday, and it was probably the best thing available. The menu was extensive. The kitchen smelled great and looked clean. The service was ok, but the food was ready quickly. That said, the meal lacked salt. Besides the very spicy red chile sauce, the food was bland and the portions moderate. Our two entrees totalled $14, so it was a bargain.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

If you want to try a good home style mexican cuisine, this is the place, it's not part of a chain restaurant, so it's really authentic mexican style, the service is super, super slow, but the food is very good, and the best it's the prices, you will pay alot less for food tha what you pay in fancy restaurants around, the quality is so far very very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.