We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alotta Gelato

Alotta Gelato
619 N. Bullard St., Silver City, NM 88061-5410
575-534-4995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Silver City
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: New Mexico's oldest gelato shop, serving home made gelato (Italian ice cream) and fresh-baked desserts. Featured in Fodor's, Frommer's, Moon Guides, and Travel section of the NY Times! Located in Silver City's historic Arts & Cultural District, Alotta Gelato is open 7 days a week from Noon to 9:00 PM (Sun-Thu), or Noon to 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat). Both indoor and outdoor seating is available, and we can pack your purchase 'to go.' Ask about our dairy-free, gluten-free, and sugar-free flavors. Find us on Facebook!
Isleton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The gelato was very average tasting. Nothing special in my opinion. I had the Girl Scout thin mint cookie and my husband had the rockyroad. Mine was a lot better than his. The guy working was friendly though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We freely provide samples of our 30-plus flavors so that you can find exactly what suits you; there should be no reason for anyone to settle for something that is merely average. Regardless, we want *satisfied* customers, and will do what we can to make sure of that; if you stop by our store and identify yourself, we will be happy to provide a refund of your purchase price-- no questions asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's cold, sweet gelato. Fruity or creamy, they make it there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I wish I'd remember about this place more often... but then again, maybe not. They've always been open for me when it's occurred to me to stop by which is more than I can say for many other Silver City businesses. Service has always been very friendly and you can sample before you buy, as it should be with this kind of product. Need something sweet and cold and don't want to be treated poorly by the teenie-boppers at Dairy Queen? This is the place. Parking in the somewhat vibrant downtown kinda sucks sometimes but it might be worth it, depending on how bad your sweet tooth is. The pints+ could be a little better price but I'm not so sure that would be a good thing. I really like all the flavors I've tried but I'm partial to the pistachio. Mmm... pistachio gelato...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us!

A word of explanation about the price of our pints: the cost of a pint ($8.49) is actually pretty fair, when you consider that the cost of two large cups of gelato ($4.75 x 2=$9.50) is $1.01 more than a pint...and contains 2oz. less.

Here's a tip about parking: the lot behind Cafe Un Mundo, the one where the Farmers Market is held on Saturday mornings, is very close by and always has space available.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Give this one a try. Locally owned, hand made gelato or italian style ice cream. Many tasty fruit flavours. Large servings in the regular cup. Good price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
A person of few words...and all of them complimentary. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy in Silver City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Owners Mitch and Star have created a wee bit of Italy in Silver City. All their gelatos are made right on site and flavors vary according to the season. My fave is Gila Conglomerate, named for the local wilderness but they have all the familiar flavors as well. Additionally, they are open every day - and night - and are happy to let you sample before you buy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you, ma'am!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thin mint gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very good gelato for USA. Recommend the Girl Scout Thin Mint gelato! Friendly quick service from a proprietor who knows his business

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad that you had a chance to try Girl Scout Mint Cookie Crunch. Every year, on the first day they go on sale, we buy a case of Thin Mints from a local Girl Scout troop; we crush them up and add them to our mint chocolate gelato, and we'll keep it up until we run out of cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alotta Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Alotta Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alotta Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.