We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ice cream is awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alotta Gelato

Alotta Gelato
619 N. Bullard St., Silver City, NM 88061-5410
575-534-4995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: New Mexico's oldest gelato shop, serving home made gelato (Italian ice cream) and fresh-baked desserts. Featured in Fodor's, Frommer's, Moon Guides, and Travel section of the NY Times! Located in Silver City's historic Arts & Cultural District, Alotta Gelato is open 7 days a week from Noon to 9:00 PM (Sun-Thu), or Noon to 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat). Both indoor and outdoor seating is available, and we can pack your purchase 'to go.' Ask about our dairy-free, gluten-free, and sugar-free flavors. Find us on Facebook!
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Ice cream is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I love the ice cream there its super good and so are the brownies. I would definatly recommend it to people who are in silver

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I'm glad you liked our gelato! The brownies (and most of our other baked goods) are made for us locally by Barb Fila, who bakes at the Buckhorn Saloon; I'll let her know that you're a fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Mitch does a wonderful job! Great flavours, many varieties, a couple of non-sugar. We often go there after dinner at home and top the meal with the great tastes of this gelato!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for making us your dessert destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great art display, fantastic selection of gelato. The Conglomerate is for the Heath Bar/caramel lovers in the crowd. Yum.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed our gelato. We used to live in Baltimore (and later in Fairfax), so we were practically neighbors! Be careful: Silver City (and our gelato) tends to make people come back...and eventually move here-- you've been warned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Reminds us of the Gelati in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful !

My wife and I have spent a bit of time in Sicily... And the gelati at Alotta Gelato rivals any of the gelati places that we visited in Sicily. The flavors were sharp and rich... Had a large number of varieties (including my favorite - pistachio). And the owner was friendly and helpful.

After eating this gelati, it is very difficult to go back and eat plain old ice cream.

Highly recommended... Especially if you have never eaten gelati before.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Grazie mille! I'm pleased when people new to gelato enjoy our product, and I'm even more so when 'experienced' experts like you compare us to what they enjoyed in Italy! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonderful gelato in a wonderful little town. We had a variety of flavors, all excellent. Especially good were the sour cherry and the chocolate coconut.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for writing! I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed Silver City; there a lot of us who chose specifically to live here, and it's always nice to hear from someone who feels the same way-- but watch out: many of us started out as visitors, and kept coming back until we finally moved here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alotta Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Alotta Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alotta Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.