We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Silver City gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alotta Gelato

Alotta Gelato
619 N. Bullard St., Silver City, NM 88061-5410
575-534-4995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Silver City
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: New Mexico's oldest gelato shop, serving home made gelato (Italian ice cream) and fresh-baked desserts. Featured in Fodor's, Frommer's, Moon Guides, and Travel section of the NY Times! Located in Silver City's historic Arts & Cultural District, Alotta Gelato is open 7 days a week from Noon to 9:00 PM (Sun-Thu), or Noon to 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat). Both indoor and outdoor seating is available, and we can pack your purchase 'to go.' Ask about our dairy-free, gluten-free, and sugar-free flavors. Find us on Facebook!
Pinos Altos, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Silver City gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Original, homemade gelato in a changing variety of flavors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

The freshly made gelato is to die for!
Love the variety of flavors and the option of dairy free fruit gelato.
The owners will gladly let you sample flavors before making a purchase.
Prices are very reasonable and serving sizes are GREAT!
A great asset to the dining experience in downtown!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
I'm glad you enjoy our fruit flavors. Each one has about 600 grams of real fruit added to each 4-liter batch (except the Lemon flavor-- you wouldn't want us to add 600 grams of lemons!)...and that's in addition to the flavorings we make them with.

Many customers visiting us for the first time ask: "Don't you have anything that's dairy-free?" Some of them are startled when I tell them that we have *9* of them available!

Thanks again for your enthusiasm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I love the gelato served here. Also, they have a nice set up where you can go in and play a bunch of board games they have available.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
It's gratifying when someone appreciates both our product and our atmosphere. We're firm believers in the concept of a 'third place'-- when you're not at home (your first place) or at work (the second place), you can come here, meet your friends, have a treat, relax, read, play a game, etc.

PS: Congratulations on your recent marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great gelato, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

I live in Silver City and am so glad that we have Alotta Gelato! The gelato is excellent, the store is inviting and Mitch and Star are great! My friends and I go in often to enjoy some gelato and visit. The store is family friendly as they have board games that can be played while you enjoy gelato. A Silver City gem for sure!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Starr and Mitch thank you for the compliments! In a small town like this, repeat customers are essential-- and cherished; thanks for being one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I don't like ice cream, but I'll eat his great stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

He usually keeps some sugar free and no sugar added selections around too. Mitch and Starr are a great gelatto pair.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Silver City has a relatively high percentages of diabetics, along with folks who want to cut their sugar intake-- and they are entitled to have a treat like everybody else! We searched far and wide for good sugar-free products, ones that taste as good as those made with sugar, and we think we've succeeded. We always have at least one on hand, sometimes as many as three different flavors.

Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alotta Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Alotta Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alotta Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.