We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one big hole in the ground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chino mine vista point

Chino mine vista point
on Hwy 152, about 15 miles east of Silver City, Gps 32. 7917425 N, 108. 0672635 W, Silver City, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Joseph
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“one big hole in the ground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We found the view of this very large open pit mine interesting. The displays at the viewpoint gave good historical data.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
203 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Hard viewing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I suppose if you like mines, this would be fantastic. Being more of an outdoor enthusiast with a great respect for nature, both my husband and I found it disturbing. Sad to see what has been done to the earth.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view of the size of an open operating mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Yes the colors are beautiful, but the shear size of the mine is mind boggling! It is a rare treat to get this close to an open operating mine. When you can see the mine from town, you know it's very big! Most people don't get to see a mine close up. Keep in mind that was how this town was founded and still exists today.

I inserted an excerpt from Freeport-McMoRan website for the following info:

The Chino Mine originally mined by Native Americans and later by Spaniards. The open-pit mine began production in 1910. The original concentrator went into operation in 1911, but was replaced by a new facility in 1982. A smelter was commissioned in 1939 and was modernized in 1985 to increase capacity and achieve compliance with the Clean Air Act. In 2005, the smelter was permanently closed. It became part of Freeport-McMoRan in 2007.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HUGE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a massive open pit copper mine. Make sure and stop for a look. They have a nice history board explaining the history of the mine. Take your binoculars so you can check out the huge dump trucks at work (24/7 !).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Really neat to see how we get our copper. View point was great. The huge tire was a hit with my kids.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino mine vista point also viewed

 

Been to Chino mine vista point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chino mine vista point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.