We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver City Museum

Silver City Museum
312 West Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061
505-538-5921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a restored 1881 Mansard/Italianate house, you'll find this fascinating history museum, which includes more than 20,000 items and artifacts related to the people and history of southwest New Mexico.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The museum itself is quite interesting and tells the story of silver mining in the area. We have a guided tour. Don't expect to see any ghost town, however, but there is nothing to look at.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The building itself is part of the history. You are in what used to be a fine mansion of the 1800s. The displays are well done and very specific to the area of Silver City. You can see old photos and artifacts of life in the old west. Then there are exhibits that change from time to time. In summer the ice cream social with old fashioned cake walk out in the front yard is a town favorite especially for the little kids...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Silver City Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this small museum. The building is an old historical house that was also used at one time as a fire hall, boarding house, and more. We enjoyed seeing photos of the town's history. There was a couple rooms of photos of Hispanic music groups which we were not interested in. The museum takes donations instead of charging admission. There are 3 levels but the stairs to the cupola are quite steep and narrow so be careful if you plan on going all the way up.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We enjoyed some of the displays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The museum is in a neat old house. It is fairly small and much of the displays were not of interest to us, but we did enjoy learning about the Big Ditch, as we had walked through the park earlier. We also enjoyed a photographic display of New Mexico ghost towns (I'm not sure if this is a permanent display), and the walk up the stairs for a view from the house's cupola. The gift shop is very nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historical Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great stop on our tour of historic Silver City. Easy to find. Friendly staff. Great collection of historical artifacts.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver City Museum also viewed

 

Been to Silver City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.