We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western New Mexico University Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Western New Mexico University Museum
1000 West College Avenue, Silver City, NM
505/538-6386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Silver City
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the campus of Western New Mexico University, this museum features important collections including Casas Grandes pottery, artifacts of Prehistoric Southwestern cultures, historic Navajo rugs and photographs of Silver City and surrounding areas.
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Remarkable museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The WNMU museum has a wonderful collection of Mimbres pottery which is absolutely stunning and unlike any pottery I have seen. There are many other exhibits of Southwestern topics as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Desperately needs help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The pottery is simply breathtaking. I've looked at pottery in SW museums for decades and have rarely seen this level of quality.
The displays are amateurishly constructed and dirty with frequent misspellings. The prohibition against photography is completely assinine. When I asked why I couldn't take flash-free photographs I received an utterly nonsensical explanation.
I'd like to see this world-class pottery placed in the hands of more professional and enlightened curators.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tok
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice museum if you like to see pottery which I do. Lots of mimbres pottery. The antiques area is weak, but the pottery is very strong. Wish they would learn to spell (whoever printed up the explanation boards didn't know how to proofread).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum is a wonderful step back in time, and a great study of the mimbreno people that lived in the southwest a long time ago.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprising collection of Mimbres pottery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I knew very little about the Mimbres before visiting this museum. The person at the front desk was extremely helpful and oriented us to the exhibits, adding tidbits about the collections that we wouldn't have gleaned from the exhibits themselves.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western New Mexico University Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western New Mexico University Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western New Mexico University Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.