We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, bad and ugly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murray Hotel to your Saves list
Murray Hotel
200 West Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The good, bad and ugly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really want to love the Murray, but it's got some warts. The good: art deco to the max. The decor is very appealing. The king room was spacious and comfy, bathroom average size, but adequate. Price is competitive with chain hotels in the area..$115 total per nite. Location is great, near downtown shops. The bad: the renovation is far from complete...doors unfinished, elevator with bare metal walls and loose carpet, no restaurant. The ugly: Our room was about 65 degrees (guessing, no thermostat) and NO control of the heat. The front desk clerk said there were space heaters available, but all were in use by other guests. Also, there is no air conditioning. Not a problem in Nov., but I would not recommend a July stay. There were several other minor items...no stopper in the sink, no chair at the desk in our room, no vent in the bath, only local tv channels, no cable. In spite of these, we did enjoy our stay, but hope the owners continue to improve the facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
57
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alma, NM
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you can overlook a bit of restoration constuction, you will be staying at not only a "classic" 1930's hotel, but the best hotel in all of Southwest New Mexico. What a surprise! This hotel is a bright shining star in a sea of incredibly mediocre overpriced hotels in Silver City. Thank you for taking on this impossible sad old building and resurrecting it. For years it stood vacant and a mess as it sadly declined in the middle of Historic downtown. I love the attention to it's original 1930 era and yet somehow you brought the beauty of all the modern comforts to the room. The rooms are impeccably done with style and comfort (the beds are heavenly). This experience was well worth it. I commend your persistence and vision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's wonderful to see an investment being made in this historical hotel. Very clean and excellent service. They're still working through the remodel process so you'll little signs here and there of the remodel still in process. Our king bed room was a corner room and very spacious. The bathroom was wonderfully remodeled but a bit small. I loved we could open the windows as we stayed in October and enjoyed the breeze. As you know when the sun goes down the temp drops fast and they were still working on being prepared for the cooler temps. We had extra blankets and we slept comfortably. It's in a great location, allowing us to park our car and walk to everything downtown. We were able to walk to and from dinner at Shevek's. We look forward to returning to see the on going changes. Also they give us a credit to eat breakfast at Vicki's at our leisure, which was a wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is going to be a charming spot when it is completely finished. The restoration shows great attention to detail and to what is important in a hotel: service, amenities, good technology. The only drawback is the limited channel selection (basic free channels) and poor quality (giant non-HD with very limited volume control) on the TV, and I understand that a number of the rooms do not offer TVs (more authentic experience, that), so this may not be a concern for all. Great location, walking distance to galleries, restaurants and spa servicces. Had no trouble with parking but see that it is extremely limited; they have reportedly purchased a lot, but it is some distance from the hotel. Not that that is a problem: Silver City is beautifully walkable and there are numerous galleries and restaurants between the hotel's front door and the parking-lot-to-be site.

Room Tip: Pay attention to TV/non TV wings. Elevator is very fast, no problem being on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Charming and comfortable. Reasonably priced. Located in the middle of town and convenient to everything. We felt like time travelers, but with all the conveniences of our time...fast wi-fi, good cell signal and so on. Parking can be a little dicey. it's a lovely hotel and we will surely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The renovation is not quite complete (the exterior, ballroom, and restaurant are still in the works)... but don't let that keep you from staying here. The bed and bedding in our king room were simply divine! The bathroom sink, tub, and interior doors are original to the property and have been handsomely refinished... such a nice touch! The staff is amazing (be sure to ask Moose for a tour of the remaining renovation). There are no coffee makers in the rooms, so Mary makes sure there is ample complementary Allegro coffee and real half-and-half waiting for you before your tiny stroll to Vicki's for a super yummy breakfast (right now, a $5/person voucher for breakfast is included in the price of the room). Basically, you get a lot of bang for your buck when you stay at the fabulously art-deco Murray Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Transport latest tech gismo's to the subtle yet flamboyant elegance of Art Deco 1940's and that's the Murray. Exquisite luxary of perfect bedding and large fluffy towels, decor with subtle colors, simple design in what was once a city, now a revived art and eatery experience, add warm welcome from helpful desk staff and that's the Murray. Location ideal for walking the town. Street Parking. No ice. Free bottled water offered at desk. Otis Elevator assists in time travel effect or take optional "exercise room": 5 stories of stairs. King rooms are on corners with cross ventilation windows, winter, they "got" steam heat. Large comfortable arm chair, but no second chair for the computer desk. We requested one and were cheerfully given one from the office. Very Quiet. Very Solid Comfort. Fresh. Re-opened July 3, 2012 after 7 year renovation. When in Silver City stay at the Murray Hotel.

Room Tip: King rooms are worth the few dollars extra, atleast while they are offering a 20% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 200 West Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.