We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful campsite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gila Hot Springs Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gila Hot Springs Ranch
Save
You added Gila Hot Springs Ranch to your Saves list
HC 68 Box 80, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful campsite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a KOA with pool and putt putt, this place is not for you. But if you want a peaceful campsite in a beautiful setting, you found it.

Bath house was clean with heated tile floors. Jacuzzi available with water piped in from the hot spring. Or walk down to river and soak in them there (different owner so a small fee for these).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Davis, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We traveled to the Gila Cliff Dwellings and this place was only 4 miles from there. Rooms were very clean. Would stay there again. Must visit Doc Campbell's Store really nice and the best ice cream every, he sells a few groceries. Make sure you take an ice chest with food and drinks. The motel has stove, refrigerator & microwave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were going the the Gila Cliff Dwellings and wanted to stay close to keep from having to travel back and forth to Silver City on a goat trail of a road. The place at Gila Hot Springs fit the needs. We made reservations by phone and ok with the price. The key was at Doc Campbell's store. Make sure you try the ice cream and buy something from Doc. They have some supplies if you forgot anything. The motel have large rooms and everything you need to stay, micro, coffee pot, toaster, pots and pans as well as all the eating utensils. We likes the place and will stay again if in the area. A suggestion, bring a night light, it is real dark there at night.
Back down the road a very short distance is a privately own hot springs. You drive through a horse riding arena, a pack of pigmy goats and down the road to the hot springs. It costs a whole $4 per person for all day if you like. A couple of the springs are warm and a couple are HOT. But you will get used to it. A little information you might like to know ahead of time, clothing is optional in the hot springs. If you have kids with you it might be worth a quick look before to dip. If you are into tenting and dry camping, you can do it at the springs for $5 per day and that includes the hot springs.

Room Tip: There is only 3 rooms. Two on the bottom floor and a large room up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Passing through this spring we stayed overnight after going to the Clift Dwellings. their friend had just died (the white horse ..legendary long distance runner and amazing guy)..they were gone dealing with stuff and left the place open for us. I liked it a lot.A old school house reworked in the hippie era. The two hot pools right out side are great but be ready for the resident bull snake in the rocks. the bed was great...bullfrog serenade!

Room Tip: All the way down the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in a building that looks like it used to a barn converted into units. Ours was a one bedroom, one bathroom, living room, and kitchen downstairs unit. It was clean and economical, but more importantly, it was across the street from Doc Campbell's Post where they sell the best and creamiest ice cream anywhere! We went back 3 times in 24 hours and tried the coconut, vanilla, and strawberry flavors, WOW! Also, my daughter and I drove 1/4 of a mile and soaked in some natural hot springs for a few bucks per person. It was very secluded; the two of us were the only ones there. We walked around the RV park and saw horses and other animals there. Our younger daughter had a fever and there is no store that sells children's Tylenol or Advil or any other fever reducer anywhere! There was also no doctor, clinic, or hospital until you go down the hill which was over an hour's drive away. Gila Hot Springs Ranch desk clerk directed us to a local resident who has a little medical training and took a look at my daughter. More importantly, she had an extra children's Tylenol that our daughter could take to get rid of her fever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We TRIED to stay there on 10/12/2012. In checking in the "camp host" acted as though we were putting her out. We asked where we could find some wood for the fireplace and was told it was too hot for a fire! Asked again if we could have some wood and she provides kindling! We went to bed at 9:30 and my son and I decided that the beds were too hard and lumpy to sleep on. I have slept on softer ground. We left at 11:30 and drove to find better accomodations (45 minutes at least to nearest town). Asked for a refund, flatly refused!

Room Tip: Stay at Bear Creek Cabins in Pinos Altos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Gila Hot Springs Ranch, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
I'm so sorry that you found things unsatisfactory. We would love to inform you that Gila Hot springs Ranch & RV is now under new management. This winter we are also undergoing some important renovations! If you have the vacation time stop by again & see how things have changed. I promise you won't be disappointed. Thank you for the feedback. See you soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We rented the upstairs apartment and found it nice. Nothing fancy, but nice. We read up ahead of time and found out that you must bring your own food, so no problem there. There is a small store across the road, with limited hours, and a very unfriendly man behind the counter.
We rented horses and a guide and had a wonderful ride in the mountains. It was the highlight of our entire vacation. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The horses were surefooted and not at all nags.
The hot tub use was extra, and the hot tub was full of leaves. We cleaned it first, and did enjoy it, although we felt the extra charge was unnescessary.
We had 5 women in our group and only paid $100 for the apartment. We felt it was a good value.

Room Tip: The upstairs has a balcony and an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gila Hot Springs Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gila Hot Springs Ranch

Address: HC 68 Box 80, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Silver City
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking to stay one night or several nights, you will find that our accommodations have everything you need to make your vacation relaxed and stress free. Surrounded by unbelievable views of the Gila National Forest and the Gila Wilderness areas of the Gila, you will delight in the peace and solitude found here at Gila Hot Springs Ranch. Our facilities are open year-round and we are available for singles, families, businesses and other groups. Just in case you have forgotten something, there are plenty of items available at Doc Campbell's Post. Lodging Our rental units are spacious and comfortable. These self-catered apartments are each fully furnished, including a kitchen for your convenience. The best part is that there are no televisions or phones to interfere with your vacation. The lodgings here at Gila Hot Springs Ranch all have natural hot springs water which is very soft and completely safe for drinking. A natural hot springs Jacuzzi is also available. You will however, need to bring your own groceries and personal supplies. Apartment Options: There are two downstairs units available. Each can sleep up to six people and includes: One bedroom with two double beds Full bath Furnished kitchen with dishes Living area with a queen sleeper sofa Fireplace Porch with charcoal grill The upstairs unit can sleep up to 10 adults and includes: Two bedrooms - each with one double and one single bed Larger bathroom Larger living area with a queen size sleeper sofa Two roll-a-ways Fully furnished kitchen Deck Combine your stay with one of our horseback day excursions or enjoy other recreational activities such fishing, swimming, hiking, bird watching or just relaxing. RV Park and Campground Whether you are camping in a tent or full-size recreational vehicle, there is a place at the Gila Hot Springs ranch. Owned and operated by Becky Campbell, this facility is an AAA rated campground. We are committed to make sure that your camping experience is an enjoyable success. Free Wi-Fi is available at Doc Campbell's Outpost. Our campgrounds have both hot and cold taps at all hookups. You have the option to enjoy the hot springs water in your own RV or you can use the RV Park showers and Jacuzzi. Horse corrals are available. We also have a picnic pavilion with a grill. A fire ring is also available and is a great place for group activities. In addition, your children can romp and play in our playground. Hot-springs Campground Our secluded river campground is a shady primitive area with natural hot water pools located beside the West Fork of the Gila River. Hot water spigots are available to provide you with safe drinking water. Restrooms and trashcans are nearby however, there is no electricity or showers. This is the perfect area if you are looking for seclusion. There is limited occupancy so be sure to make reservations in advanced. Although this is an ideal spot for remote tent camping, it is not recommended for large RV's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gila Hot Springs Ranch Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gila Hot Springs Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.