We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it a lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gila Hot Springs Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gila Hot Springs Ranch
Save
You added Gila Hot Springs Ranch to your Saves list
HC 68 Box 80, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Liked it a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Passing through this spring we stayed overnight after going to the Clift Dwellings. their friend had just died (the white horse ..legendary long distance runner and amazing guy)..they were gone dealing with stuff and left the place open for us. I liked it a lot.A old school house reworked in the hippie era. The two hot pools right out side are great but be ready for the resident bull snake in the rocks. the bed was great...bullfrog serenade!

Room Tip: All the way down the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in a building that looks like it used to a barn converted into units. Ours was a one bedroom, one bathroom, living room, and kitchen downstairs unit. It was clean and economical, but more importantly, it was across the street from Doc Campbell's Post where they sell the best and creamiest ice cream anywhere! We went back 3 times in 24 hours and tried the coconut, vanilla, and strawberry flavors, WOW! Also, my daughter and I drove 1/4 of a mile and soaked in some natural hot springs for a few bucks per person. It was very secluded; the two of us were the only ones there. We walked around the RV park and saw horses and other animals there. Our younger daughter had a fever and there is no store that sells children's Tylenol or Advil or any other fever reducer anywhere! There was also no doctor, clinic, or hospital until you go down the hill which was over an hour's drive away. Gila Hot Springs Ranch desk clerk directed us to a local resident who has a little medical training and took a look at my daughter. More importantly, she had an extra children's Tylenol that our daughter could take to get rid of her fever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We TRIED to stay there on 10/12/2012. In checking in the "camp host" acted as though we were putting her out. We asked where we could find some wood for the fireplace and was told it was too hot for a fire! Asked again if we could have some wood and she provides kindling! We went to bed at 9:30 and my son and I decided that the beds were too hard and lumpy to sleep on. I have slept on softer ground. We left at 11:30 and drove to find better accomodations (45 minutes at least to nearest town). Asked for a refund, flatly refused!

Room Tip: Stay at Bear Creek Cabins in Pinos Altos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Gila Hot Springs Ranch, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
I'm so sorry that you found things unsatisfactory. We would love to inform you that Gila Hot springs Ranch & RV is now under new management. This winter we are also undergoing some important renovations! If you have the vacation time stop by again & see how things have changed. I promise you won't be disappointed. Thank you for the feedback. See you soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We rented the upstairs apartment and found it nice. Nothing fancy, but nice. We read up ahead of time and found out that you must bring your own food, so no problem there. There is a small store across the road, with limited hours, and a very unfriendly man behind the counter.
We rented horses and a guide and had a wonderful ride in the mountains. It was the highlight of our entire vacation. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The horses were surefooted and not at all nags.
The hot tub use was extra, and the hot tub was full of leaves. We cleaned it first, and did enjoy it, although we felt the extra charge was unnescessary.
We had 5 women in our group and only paid $100 for the apartment. We felt it was a good value.

Room Tip: The upstairs has a balcony and an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are using RV park, perhaps your experience will be different. But be aware that "jacuzzi" is a cinderblock hut not to mention extra $4.00 per person "one time" charge. The actual Gila Hot Springs are 15 minutes away including the highway crossing and extra $4.00 per person a day. If you plan to stay in the "apartments" beware of extra charges and most depressing decor. It's rather prison like. My friend and I traveled 5 hours from Tuscon, AZ to visit Gila Hot Springs and go horseback riding. When we finally arrived at the GHSR we were hit with the room without the view and "jacuzzi charge". In addition my horse wrangler (my friend transported her horse) was coming back 2 days later and nobody seemed to be aware of the arrangements we have made even though the people who run the RV Park and the rental horses and the Gila Hot Springs and the "Visitor Center" are related. Apparently the "day number" people do not communicate to the "night number" people. For the horse folks they were sure heartless by making us move the horse trailer back and forth across the highway since they could not point us to the corral that was reserved for us. (Another "Day number" "Night number" miscommunication). At least they gave us our money back. Since most of the Forest Service volunteers stay at the RV park, these folks do not need your money and apparently habve not heard about customer service either. Spend your $85.00 elsewhere!!! We ended up staying at the Wildwood Retreat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Gila Hot Springs Ranch, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
I'm so sorry that you found things unsatisfactory. We would love to inform you that Gila Hot springs Ranch & RV is now under new management. This winter we are also undergoing some important renovations! If you have the vacation time stop by again & see how things have changed. I promise you won't be disappointed. Thank you for the feedback. See you soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

First, the hot springs are not actually part of this property. The entrance is half a mile down the road and another half a mile down a crude dirt road. You can drive right down them. The hot springs are owned by someone else and the daily fee is not included in the Ranch fees.

Also, the on-site hot springs jacuzzi was still "closed for the season" in May.

That being said, the apartments were nice. Very clean and large.

This is a fine place if you really want to get away from it all. There is a small store on the property but nothing else nearby. No phone service or internet available.

The hot springs, once we found them, were absolutely fabulous and right along the river so we could spend the day there picnicking, soaking, wading in the cold river water, and then head back to the apartment to clean up and barbeque for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is an RV park that also offers 3 or 4 furnished "apartments" for rent at pretty reasonable prices. They are located just 4 miles from the entrance of the Gila Cliff Dwellings. The apartments have a large living room, full kitchen, separate bedroom, and bathroom. No air conditioning but the bedroom had a large ceiling fan and windows on 2 walls for cross-ventilation. Not at all fancy but clean and well-maintained. No credit cards accepted, cash or checks only. Very quiet except when our upstairs neighbors arrived back at home.

Be warned that there are no places to eat anywhere in the area, the closest restaurant is in Lake Roberts, which is 30-45 minutes away down a winding mountain road. The only place anywhere nearby that sells any kind of food (sandwiches and snacks) is the general store across the street, which has very limited hours (10-4:30). So be sure to bring supplies with you to prepare your own meals.

It's not a vacation paradise, but if you're going to go hiking near the Cliff Dwellings and don't want to drive a distance to find a place to sleep, this is a very viable nearby option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gila Hot Springs Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gila Hot Springs Ranch

Address: HC 68 Box 80, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Silver City
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking to stay one night or several nights, you will find that our accommodations have everything you need to make your vacation relaxed and stress free. Surrounded by unbelievable views of the Gila National Forest and the Gila Wilderness areas of the Gila, you will delight in the peace and solitude found here at Gila Hot Springs Ranch. Our facilities are open year-round and we are available for singles, families, businesses and other groups. Just in case you have forgotten something, there are plenty of items available at Doc Campbell's Post. Lodging Our rental units are spacious and comfortable. These self-catered apartments are each fully furnished, including a kitchen for your convenience. The best part is that there are no televisions or phones to interfere with your vacation. The lodgings here at Gila Hot Springs Ranch all have natural hot springs water which is very soft and completely safe for drinking. A natural hot springs Jacuzzi is also available. You will however, need to bring your own groceries and personal supplies. Apartment Options: There are two downstairs units available. Each can sleep up to six people and includes: One bedroom with two double beds Full bath Furnished kitchen with dishes Living area with a queen sleeper sofa Fireplace Porch with charcoal grill The upstairs unit can sleep up to 10 adults and includes: Two bedrooms - each with one double and one single bed Larger bathroom Larger living area with a queen size sleeper sofa Two roll-a-ways Fully furnished kitchen Deck Combine your stay with one of our horseback day excursions or enjoy other recreational activities such fishing, swimming, hiking, bird watching or just relaxing. RV Park and Campground Whether you are camping in a tent or full-size recreational vehicle, there is a place at the Gila Hot Springs ranch. Owned and operated by Becky Campbell, this facility is an AAA rated campground. We are committed to make sure that your camping experience is an enjoyable success. Free Wi-Fi is available at Doc Campbell's Outpost. Our campgrounds have both hot and cold taps at all hookups. You have the option to enjoy the hot springs water in your own RV or you can use the RV Park showers and Jacuzzi. Horse corrals are available. We also have a picnic pavilion with a grill. A fire ring is also available and is a great place for group activities. In addition, your children can romp and play in our playground. Hot-springs Campground Our secluded river campground is a shady primitive area with natural hot water pools located beside the West Fork of the Gila River. Hot water spigots are available to provide you with safe drinking water. Restrooms and trashcans are nearby however, there is no electricity or showers. This is the perfect area if you are looking for seclusion. There is limited occupancy so be sure to make reservations in advanced. Although this is an ideal spot for remote tent camping, it is not recommended for large RV's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gila Hot Springs Ranch Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gila Hot Springs Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.