We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big City Gourmet Cuisine in a Small Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shevek & Co

Shevek & Co
602 N. Bullard, Silver City, NM 88061
+1 575-534-9168
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Casual Haute Cuisine." A blend of International Traditional Mediterranean & Mediterranean Fusion Cuisines. Adherents to the Slow Food Movement- all dishes are made from scratch to order. Largest Wine Cellar and Microbrew & Import Beer list in SWNM. Italian Espresso. We buy local, organic, sustainable & humanely raised produce and meats with no hormones or antibiotics. All dishes come in 3 sizes to create the dining experience you desire. Enjoy the full Seasonal Menu in our dining room or have a selection of tapas in our Wine/Beer/Espresso Bar. Members of the SW New Mexico Green Chamber of Commerce.Find us & Chef Shevek on Facebook, ChefShevek on Twitter or read Shevek's blog & get recipes at blogspot as thekissmethodgourmetCooking class schedule- taught at the restaurant- and the list of our canned foods are available through thekissmethodgourmet
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big City Gourmet Cuisine in a Small Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Silver City is a remote town, located at least an hour's drive from the nearest interstate highway and two-and-a-half hours from the nearest large city. It's a place one goes to get away to enjoy beautiful scenery, quaint shops and to relax in the thin mountain air.

When my wife and I recently drove there from our home in Southern California, our expectations for sophisticated cuisine were non-existent. As a pair of foodies, we resigned ourselves to enjoy all the town has to offer, but fine dining was not on our agenda--that is until we came upon a restaurant called Shevek & Co.

We went there mid-week, the first week of July 2013. What we found was an owner/chef who is passionate about enlightening the palates of wayfarers and locals through exciting Mediterranean-style cuisine in which flavor and nuance are the stars of every single dish.

Because the menu is so diverse and eclectic, we opted for the Chef's selection of tapas. We wanted to sample as much of what Shevek has to offer as possible. Personally served by Chef Shevek himself, we went with his recommendations on which tapas to try. After focusing on our culinary preferences, he headed for the kitchen to oversee preparation of our meals.

First out was a soup of our choice. My lovely wife had a rich, savory seafood bisque and I the cooled cherry soup. How can I describe my soup? It was chilled perfectly and was a creamy burgundy color with an enticing fragrance. Floating in it were plump, sweet locally grown pie cherries. The mixture was made from three different wines and subtle spices that creted a harmonious medley of sweetness and refreshment on a hot summer evening. Left to my own devices, I would have had a gallon of this luxurious fruity mixture.

Next, the tapas began a parade to our table, with an explanation of how each was prepared from Chef Shevek. First was a duck dish, spiced in a middle-eastern Mediterranean style with mint, herbs and a rich honey glaze. The duck was cooked to perfection and the flavorings were subtle and satisfying. Next came a cold calamari dish to offset the heavier duck. Light, tangy and tender, the calamari was among the best I've had anywhere in the world. Then came a beef dish prepared using Lebanese-style seasonings and herbs that are typically used for roasting lamb. The technique works perfectly, with the exotic seasonings coming to the forefront without overpowering the tender perfectly cooked beef. As our last dish we were presented a lovely Portuguese chorizo that featured overtones of smoke and peppery spiciness. For dessert, we had the dark chocolate mousse, which again highlighted the rich Belgian chocolate without any cloying sweetness. Of course, our dishes were accompanied by a flight of wines selected by Chef Shevek, and each were paired perfectly with our dishes.

A grand feast such as this would result in a weighty tab in New York, San Francisco or Chicago. In Silver City, it is a bargain at under $100 for the two of us.

How or why Chef Shevek came to Silver City is a mystery to me. He could have successful restaurants in any city he chose. We are very glad we came across his bistro in Silver City. It was indeed an unexpected and pleasant surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    24
    12
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced - not worth the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First of all, be aware that the Trip Advisor rating of $15-30 is not accurate. Entrees were $30-50. I can see that the chef is inventive, but our entree had a very strong, strange flavor. Not even sure it was the pork tenderloin as ordered. The pate was also a disappointment. The cheese plate and wine selection were the only bright spots for me. Other than the server, who was knowledgable and professional. Again, be prepared to drop north of $100 for two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefshevek, Manager at Shevek & Co, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Sorry your experience wasn't up to what either one of us would have desired. Thank you for the praise of your waiter; we try hard to train them well. I only wish you would have let your waitperson know when you weren't enjoying a dish, since our policy has ALWAYS been to fix any problem that we are aware of--and we never charge for a dish a guest lets us know is unsatisfactory after a couple of bites.
On prices--we sell very few entrees, since most of our guests order tapas. The typical adult eats 3 tapas which usually averages between $28-30/person. Most will add a dessert and drinks. The average entree eater usually only orders an entree. We change our menus 6 times a year and our lowest priced entree can start at as little as $18.
I can assure you that New Mexico fines for false advertising on a menu. The pork was the tenderloin cut--the only cut of pork I buy. The "strange" taste could have come from one of 2 sources:
1) We use nothing but Kurabuto/Berkshire heritage breed of pig; specifically from Six Points collective--you can find them online. This breed has a very red meat and the stronger taste that comes from not being bred as "The Other White Meat."
2) The other flavors that many Americans aren't fully familiar with is ground sumac and juniper berries. Either of these could have been the "strange" taste you disliked. If your waiter had been notified we would have gladly replaced it with something more to your liking.
Same for any other dish you had. My menu is very large and eclectic and not all items will please all palates, but we try hard to make a dinner's experience as enjoyable as possible. We hope you return and allow us to the chance the serve you properly by letting your waitperson know when we aren't achieving that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chopped would have chopped it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant over the July 4th weekend, and found it inconsistent, at best. TripAdvisor reviews and a recommendation by our local hotel lead us to expect a grand meal and dining experience. We were disappointed. While the menu was impressive, and the concept of sampler-sized servings was excellent, the execution left quite a bit to be desired: Chopped would have chopped this place after the second round. I started with the seafood bisque; it was delicious, followed by a duck dish, which was quite good. But it was downhill from there. The calamari dish was overwhelmed by a spicy sauce. The sauce by itself was quite good, but it rendered the very subtle calamari tasteless. The finale was the filet minion that had virtually no seasoning other than the accompanying sauce. As there was no salt or pepper on the table, the message was ‘you don’t need any’. Unfortunately, that piece of meat really needed seasoning. My wife’s dishes were similarly inconsistent: one was quite good, one was fair, and one was just not very good. Two of her dishes required seasoning. Our waiter was both pretentious and arrogant, laying on praise when we finished a dish (‘your empty dish is praise enough’), and not commenting when we didn’t. We will not return in this town where there is a large choice of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefshevek, Owner at Shevek & Co, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy all of your experience with us. I have had a talk with your waiter to try to be more attentive to signs of displeasure since it has always been our policy to fix any problems we have been made aware of. We have NEVER charged for any dish a guest has told us they disliked after the first couple of bites. And we try to have our waitstaff ask if the food is up to standards around the guests' third taste.
As you would have noticed, our tables are quite small so we try to remove the maximum clutter possible. With that in mind, if you had asked for a salt mill and/or a pepper mill your waiter would have gladly brought them to table--they reside on the waitstand. Yes, we do salt and pepper a steak before cooking, but we do salt lightly in an attempt to serve healthier food.
We hope you someday return and let our waitstaff know if you find a dish not to your liking so we can fix it then and there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Surprise in Silver City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the BEST meal ever at Shevek & Co. What a discovery. The menu was so diverse, the potions were perfect and the service sublime. I hate to even call it service because we had the feeling of being invited guests at Chef Shevek's home. Amber Wind was our server and host. He was marvelous, joyful and knowledgeable about the food and wine. Chef Shevek spoke with us about his menu, asked about our experience and our satisfaction with his food. We enjoyed the three levels of meal portions, entre, mezze and tapas. My husband had a mezze portion of both the seafood bisque (scrumptious beyond belief) and the sausage linguini (spicy and yummy) and I had tapas portions of the bisque (light and creamy), a fabulous vol-au-vent (a succulent vegetable stew in a puff pastry) and a frittata bursting with flavors. Each dish was so full of flavor it sung in my mouth. I would hesitate to have the entre portion of anything just because I like the ability to sample several dishes before becoming stuffed. When you finish the meal you just want to start again. The wine was very very good too and came from an extensive wine list. EVERYTHING was outstanding. We have eaten meals in good and great restaurants in 48 states and a few foreign countries and this meal stands out among the very best. We had three deserts because we couldn't settle on just two. The carrot cake billed as "the best carrot cake on the planet" WAS. I make a mean carrot cake but this one topped it. The chocolate cake was divine and deeply chocolate and the custard with figs was incredible. I don't think there are enough superlatives to describe this restaurant. We will definitely make this a three-hour destination adventure with friends. Our first trip to Silver City will not be our last. We hope Chef Shevek is able to bring his quality of food, service and total ambiance closer to Tucson so it is not a three-hour drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not your average small town restaurant. What a delicious, thoughtful menu. Locally sourced
food. Service could not have been more or better. Might make a trip to Silver City just to eat there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shevek & Co also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 

Been to Shevek & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shevek & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.