We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs

The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs
Save Saved
You added The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs to your Saves list
151 West Fork Rd., PO Box 85, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Silver City B&B and Inns
Odessa, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This B & B is in an old schoolhouse. It is kind of like staying in a museum or at your grandma's house. There are antiques throughout the house. It is very quiet and the owners are very nice and accomodating. It is a very family friendly atmosphere. The other guests were very interesting to talk to over breakfast. We were told that we would need to bring our own food which was not a problem for us. The hot spring tubs did have some algae and the rocks were a little sharp on the bottom but I think it was worth it for the privacy and lack of hassle. There are no rules for the hot tubs so you can just lean back and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

This large lodge is owned by free spirits with Jethro Tull and Jefferson Airplane vinyls.
The rooms were interestingly eclectic but a bit stuffy upstairs. The beds/mattresses were old but adequately comfortable.
The walls and spice containers in the common kitchen were grimy.
The hot springs pools (2 small ones) were algae-filled with sharp gravel at the bottom.
However, for an adventure, it was one. We watched a skunk family from the expansive front porch. And the other guests were interesting company.
Breakfast, which was included, was homemade-including the cinnamon bread/toast.
The owner-proprietors were gracious, interesting, and most accommodating.



However, forvan adventure, it was one. We watched a family of skunks from the large front porch.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed here four nights and it was wonderful. The family running it is the best and great to talk to. You stay in an old school house so it is very rustic and cool. It is beautiful here and on my last day I stayed at the lodge the whole day because I did not want to be anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

All I really want to say about this fabulous little spot is that I had the best night sleep in a decade~not pulling your leg here. Maybe it was the quiet, the flannel sheets, the snuggly little bedroom, the informal, down to earth atmosphere, the 3rd day ofsoaking in hot springs or feeling like I was back at summer camp. Who cares why I slept like I did. It was great. Dean was great. the breakfast he made us (only 4 guests) was like being with a really loving, caring family on holiday. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I got stuck in Gila during a blizzard after seeing the Cliff Dwellings. There was a family staying at the lodge, but they let us take stay in an extra room. The owners are super friendly and willing to help in any way possible. There was no tv or cell phone service but they have wireless internet, a DVD player and VCR, puzzles, and board games. As the other reviews say this place is rustic, but it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa. State
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

If you are a Ritz Carlton type, don't go. It is very rustic and very out of the way. But given that it is a very difficult drive 2 1/2 hour drive from anywhere else to see the Cliff Dwellings , it is worth the lack of amenities to stay there. We were going to stay two nights, but because the drive from Silver City was so arduous and long (36 miles = 2.5 hours with no sightseeing stops) we elected to stay one night, see the ruins and other things in the monument the next day then drive out that day.

We were there after Labor day, and had the entire lodge to ourselves which was fine for me, but my wife found it a bit spooky.

Be sure to take whatever food and other things you need as there is only a very rudimentary store nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Family friendly, with a convivial atmosphere. This lodge was our “base camp” for a couple of day hikes into the Gila Wilderness and a visit to the cliff dwellings. It is probably the closest, or maybe even the only, lodging near the cliff dwellings. It was quiet, friendly, comfortable, and rustic. I think that rustic is important to remember – the building is an old school house that has been made into a lodge of sorts. We really liked it, but it isn’t luxurious.
Mealtimes were fun, breakfast was prepared for us – and was really good. Dinners were communal, most of the families (we were the only ones without children that spring break week) were friendly and willing to share food, refreshments, and stories/tips on what to see/do in the area

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs

Address: 151 West Fork Rd., PO Box 85, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilderness Lodge and Hotsprings is a perfect base camp for hiking the Gila Wilderness or visiting the Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument. Perfect for family reunions and gatherings of friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wilderness Lodge And Hot Springs Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilderness Lodge and Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;