We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but Goodie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oldie but Goodie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you are expecting fancy this isn't the place for you but if you are looking to experience old town Silver City this is the best place to stay. We visited in July and the air conditioning isn't the best but we opened a window and enjoyed the cooler night air. This place is very old but also very clean and very interesting. The people there were very nice, in fact everyone around town in the neat little shops were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    25
    6
    14
See reviews for
8
55
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. It is a fun and funky place. We have always found the rooms clean and comfortable. This is a building built in 1890. If you're the type of person who likes the history of the area and time, this is the place for you. It is not a 4 diamond resort but does not claim to be. The issues with the AC and some funky electrical layouts that are spoken about in other reviews are true. But we have seen that over the years the owners are trying to keep the feel of a very old hotel and dealing with a 100+yr old building. I give them an "A" for effort. We have taken friends to this place and they loved it. We will be back again.

Room Tip: get a room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our historic hotel. Our building was built in 1882 and we wear our age ever so slightly. We have added air conditioning units in our two room suites recently and in the colder months have wonderful radiator heating. Please note that our building does have upgraded electrical, although the rooms have fewer outlets than a newer property. We have surge protector extension cords for our guest's use if needed.

We appreciate your continued patronage, hoping to greet you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The location is good if you are on foot; every good restaurant in town is within walking distance, along with other city attractions, such as they are. However, this is an aged hotel and has not been well upgraded. "Air-conditioned suites" are two rooms with three fans and a swamp cooler. There were no dressers in our room and we had to stash clothes in odd places, including what we were told was the only desk in the entire building, (which we specially requested). The internet is only good if not too many people are using it. We made do with our own extension cord when electricity wasn't well located. The ironing board wobbled dangerously. The TV was the size of a large computer screen and was hard to hear over the fans. The oversized bathtub took hours to drain. The breakfast was surprisingly generous but the canned fruit had started to turn in the heat. I really hated the foam pillows.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Make sure the desk knows what amenities you need so they can find the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your response. We take all of our guest's concerns seriously and do our very best to correct issues that arise. Please note our two room suites do not have swamp coolers, but portable air conditioning units, and new flat screen televisions which do not have a controlled volume. Also, several of our larger rooms/suites do have desks and reliable wifi. We never had and will never have 'foam' pillows. We work diligently to upgrade our 1882 historic property and will continue to in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockdale, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is still paper and pen. It was a little different than any place we have ever stayed. We stayed in a 2 room suite. It was roomy, but only one room had an ac unit. the other had a huge fan and that room was hot all night. In the morning we realized the large fan might have been some sort of water cooler, but no one showed us how it. Breakfast was on the lighter side of continental. But the real plates and bowls and silverware were a nice compromise. The only other complaint is, we felt as if we had to be extra quit because it was a more like a house/hallway setting. Weird but it works I guess. Oh and Hubby swears he heard someone breathing in our room....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the issues with your stay and the inconveniences you experienced, but thank you for providing feedback as it helps to make positive changes. Our historic property was built 132 years ago and is far more insulated for noise, heating and cooling than many newly constructed buildings. Also, we have posted quiet times from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. in our interior hallways. As far as 'breathing in our room' - we have yet to personally experience paranormal activity after 24 years of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We started our stay by killing a cockroach in the room. Then we had to kill about 15 beetles (not bed bugs) that were attracted to the bed, not sure how they got in. We paid for an air conditioned room, but the room air conditioner didn't reach the bed so we were hot the first night, but didn't want to open the window and possibly let in more beetles. The bed also was super soft and swayed in the middle. The next day, we ate the breakfast and I spent the rest of the day vomiting in the room. It was awful. I'm not sure what was bad, although we did notice that some of the yogurt's were expired. I would never stay here again although they have put a lot of work into making the place pretty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am sorry about your negative experience at our hotel. We encourage our guests who may have a problem to present their concerns with our staff so we can rectify the situation immediately, sometimes by changing rooms/suites for them. We do have a professional exterminator spray for pests on a regular basis hopefully to ensure we are bug free. Our beds are new and we have found bed firmness is a matter of personal preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Continental Divide Trail goes right through Silver City, until the trail re-route is finished that will go around town. I was hiking the trail through New Mexico and planned to take a day off in Silver City. I was glad I chose the Palace Hotel--it was cheaper than the chain motels and closer to amenities so I didn't have to walk all over town to get what I needed--laundry, market, restaurant (there is a brew pub across the street and a coffee place around the corner), outdoor store (Gila Hike and Bike), computer at library (although the hotel has wireless).I was also delighted with the ambiance from the 1880's. I enjoyed being on the second floor and looking down on downtown Silver City. The room was comfortable. They provided breakfast, which was good and there was always cookies available for munching. I wish I stayed another night, there's so much to do and see in town..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

From the time we walk in the door we're transported back 100 years - except we have all the amenities of 2014. Bear in mind that this building dates from the glory days of Silver City - insulation is thin by modern standards, and all rooms are on the second floor, which does not have elevator access. What it does have is a beautiful sitting area to sit, relax, have a drink or snack, play games, meet new people - and have breakfast in the morning. Some rooms do not have AC, but do have ceiling fans, so that would be worth asking about in hot weather. There are restaurants in easy walking distance, and the Palace serves a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. just ask. 2 room suites are available for about 15 bucks more, and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.