We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been in this nice old hotel once before, but then the room was so small that we could hardly move around. This time we got a bigger room, which had a separate living room and a bed room with a large bed. The room was very comfortable. The bed was sturdy with a good mattress. There were a small fridge and a microwave in the room too. There was free WI-FI, which was nice. The hotel was in a central place in walking distance to all good restaurants and stores.

The lobby and the breakfast area were very nicely decorated giving an old traditional sense.

During day time it was rather loud although our room was not facing the main road. But the night was very quiet. The noises started again around 7.30 a.m. when people were having breakfast in the dining area, which was right outside the room. People going up and down the stairs also made enough noise.

Breakfast was included in the price and when we went there it was kind of busy and there was no place to sit. Besides, the breakfast seemed to be a lot of refined carbohydrates. So we decided to skip it and go out.

The owner checked us in and he was very nice and helpful.

I can see myself coming back here sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    25
    6
    14
See reviews for
8
55
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dodgeville
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Palace Hotel is an "Old West" historic hotel, with the charm of a much earlier time.
The proprietors are friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. Breakfast is served upstairs outside the rooms, and trays of cookies and jelly beans greet the guests as they arrive upstairs.
If you are looking for a modern hotel of the chain variety with every possible amenity, this may not be the place for you. There is no pool or jacuzzi, and only limited Wifi. But if you want to experience a town more personally and directly, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A discount coupon of 10% is offered at the hotel's website, but the prices are already extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, wonderful location, and great rates! We will definitely stay there again. The only drawback was that the Wifi did not work in our room, but we were able to connect to it in the gathering room. We highly recommend The Palace Hotel in Silver City!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for the first time in January. It is a great location,in walking distance to alot of great shops,restaurants and museum. You felt like you were stepping into history and it was very nicely appointed. The breakfast offering was ok and we enjoyed visiting with other guests in the dining area. It was a real bargain too! We had reserved a room with a king bed but when we arrived asked if we could see the other available rooms, which they were happy to let us see. Each room has it's own unique appointments but we decided to keep the room they had for us.
Silver City old town is really a jewel!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor and I don't recall there being an elevator so it's probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've stayed at the Palace Hotel twice a year for the past 3 years and will be going back again this year. The hotel has so much character and the owners are lovely. It's hard to define just what the attraction is, but the atmosphere, the location and the owners just make a stay here a thoroughly delightful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Quaint rooms,with great owners and a decent breakfast. Close to everything going on downtown. Not your run of the mill chain and just what we wanted. The breakfast was an added bonus.

Room Tip: We had a large room (bedroom, sitting room, what was a kitchen and bathroom)above the rock store dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a King room with a sitting room. It was great. Each room is unique. The Hotel is located right in the middle of the old town. Fun to be able to walk out the door to various shops, restaurants and museum. Would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants something a bit different than today's motels. Be aware that there is no elevator. The breakfast is served in the sitting room on the second floor. Excellent value for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.