We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel is great! It's located in downtown Silver city so you can walk around and visit easily, plus it's close to the museums and a lot of little cafes and restaurants.
The owners are adorable, they even upgraded my room for free so I could get wifi, when I explained that part of my work needs the internet.
I had a great sleep even though I was on a room on the street, the noise didn't bother me (it's not like this is New York...)
Breakfast was very nice and right outside my room.
All in all a great stay!
If you ever visit Silver City, this is the place to be for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    26
    6
    14
See reviews for
8
58
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Wow! It was just like stepping back in time! Enter the stunning lobby, up the grand staircase and down the narrow hallways to your room. All was quiet and we had a great rest here. Breakfast is provided and gives you a chance to meet the other guests. Sure there were a few quirks, but staying here was an adventure, a priceless change of pace from the chain motels we have gotten used to. Rates were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: The front desk will let you inspect rooms so you can choose the size and decor you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Classic Lady from back in the Day. Rooms are smallish, that's how they were built back in the 1800's. What a pleasant place and a trip back in time. Clean and light, so anti-chain its a breath of fresh air. Staff is capable, courteous and professional. Right in the middle of the old Bullard St. business district, there's coffee, restaurants, antiques, art galleries, all within a few blocks. A nice continental breakfast is included and the coffee is fine. Skip the mega-corporate boxes and enjoy a little old-fashioned elegance.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen or bigger unless you're traveling alone. Single rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you love old historic hotels and don't mind a little wear around the edges, then this place is for you. Right in the heart of downtown, it's easy walking to the shops, museums, and university.

The hotel has great vintage decorations and our room was very comfortable. We stayed during the week and didn't have any problem with street noise described by others. The bathroom was a little small and could probably benefit from some period decoration as well.

The common room upstairs was lovely and we used the wi-fi at night at one of the tables.

While I do strongly recommend this hotel for beauty, location, and price, I do have a few constructive and friendly suggestions. The breakfast is made up of mostly 'Great Value' brand stuff. I would suggest having the excellent downstairs cafe or nearby bakery provide yummy muffins and coffee instead. Also, there are a few spots that could use a touch of fresh paint.

I look forward to staying at this hotel and recommend it. Why stay at the Motel 6 when you can stay at this beautiful and convenient place for just a few dollars more?

Room Tip: The potentially noisy bar is on the southside, on bullard Street. Our room was on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stay in a historic building that has been restored to its former glory. Live in staff made us feel welcome and could not be any more helpful. Building was very interesting in itself, not to mention being located in a wonderfuly historic part of Silver City. Rooms were comfortable and had all necesities. Continental breakfast was basic but good. Would not hesitate to stay here on any future trips.

Room Tip: light sleepers might want a room on the side away from the bars next door. We did not have any prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having stayed here a few years back, my wife and I were expecting a quaint, vintage hotel. Yes, we even understand that there are "quirks" about a hotel of the age - such as some of the rooms having a bathroom down the hall.
What we got this visit was a hotel that had promise, but was loosing its charm quickly.
The place is getting rough around the edges and it not checked, it will decline soon.
I hope the owners check the progress downhill and return this beauty its true form.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This could be an incredibly charming old hotel but instead it is a tatty, worn out mess. We have stayed here twice years ago and it was much nicer but it seems there has been no maintenance done recently.
The lobby is really cute and it gives you great expectations but once you get to your room those go away pretty fast. Everything in the rooms is the cheapest possible item for the job. Cheap bedding (the sheets were all rough and pilled). Plastic shower box with a hand soap dispenser stuck on the wall and a temperature control knob that has no bearing on the water temperature. I got a shower with luke warm water that occasionally gave bursts of pure cold and 30 minutes later my husband's shower was so hot he couldn't stand it. Turning the knob changed nothing at all. Broken toilet lid. Cheapest breakfast food possible. This place is Walmart all the way.
It really is unfortunate because while the rooms are tiny it could be a really cool place.
The other problem is the noise level. We were offered ear plugs AFTER we checked in. It would have been really nice to warn us that our room was right over the bar before we payed for it. The street noise is really bad as well with lots of ghetto blasting at the corner. With earplugs in and the fan running all night to drowned out the noise we were able to sleep but it would have been nice to know before hand.
I love old hotels with creaky floors and history but it really makes me sad when people don't bother to really take care of them. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the room first and do not take one near the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W. Broadway, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.