We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfies this hometown girl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vincennes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Vincennes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vincennes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2720 Battery Rd, Vincennes, IN 47591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vincennes
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Satisfies this hometown girl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm a native of Vincennes. Born there. Lived there til I graduated from high school. And have been returning from more than 50 years of weddings, anniversaries, deaths, and best friend visits. Over that time I've stayed in just about every motel in town -- past and present. With that database of Vincennes motel experiences for comparison, I can honestly say: This is one of the best!

Large well-kept rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice pool. Great breakfast. Comfortable beds. Reasonably convenient location. What more could you possibly expect in a moderately-priced chain motel? But wait -- there's more --

The staff actually know why the street they're on is named "Battery Place"! (And it's NOT because the area was an encampment for a battery of soldiers, as one guest insisted to me. It's because that whole area of development was once the site of an Autolite battery factory. Ok, so maybe you think it's a small thing that the staff know that. I don't; I think it's an indication of management that cares, that makes sure the front desk is informed about the area and can answer guests' questions with more than "I dunno." They can give good directions. They can make recommendations on what food and drink you'll find where (and p.s. Vincennes is short on restaurants that serve alcohol, so if you want wine with dinner it is smart to ask where you can get it.)

I felt like I was with neighbors, not a bunch of chain motel clones. I'll be using it as my base of operations for future visits "home."

Room Tip: Other than close to the elevator where people tend to congregate and can be loud, all rooms are peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vincennes, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much, and hope we see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Vincennes. It was a nice weekend away celebrating our first anniversary. The staff was friendly and hotel was very clean and very nice. Only thing that dropped the rating to a very good was that the jets in our whirlpool hot tub did not work. Since we got there later and it was only for a night, we did not complain but told the front desk upon check out. I would suggest this hotel for travelers as well as families as it is very nice and only a stones throw away from the fantastic historic sites in Vincennes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vincennes, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I wish you would have called to the front desk, we could have fixed yoru issue. It is 99% all the time the red button on the wall for emergency stop that need to be pulled out.

Thank you and hope you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was excellent. We had an issue with one of the rooms which was quickly remedied. The staff offered a conference room for the inconvienence and was extremely helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel when visiting Vincennes.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean, spacious and very intuned to business travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vincennes, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when we took our son to school. We were very impressed! The hotel was spotless! Our room was very nice and big! The staff was super nice! The gentleman at the front desk, John, was so helpful and friendly, that I felt I needed to mention his name!
We liked this hotel so much we have already booked it for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We originally booked at the Econo Lodge and got a refund because due to my health issues I couldn't stay in the room they gave us. We came to the HI Express and asked if rooms were available and what we went through across the street. The staff was so friendly and gave us a suite at a discounted price. It was still quite a bit more than we planned on paying but well worth it. The room was spotless, nice decor, nice pool area and breakfast area. Felt safe walking around where we didn't at the other hotel. Also it is a very handicap accessible hotel. And I just can't say enough how nice the man at the front desk was. I really wish I would've remembered his name. Will definitely stay here again when we come visit our son who is attending Vincennes University.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vincennes, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you liked our hotel. Please comeback and stay with us again. We look forward to meeting your every need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

As platinum members of HI we know that they can vary considerably from place to place. This property in Vincennes is very well maintained and decorated.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we appreciated the extra details. Free bottled water in the lobby with cookies and snack bars in the afternoon.
There was a lovely palm and beach mural around the pool, which was fun and they provided detergent to wash our clothes.
The housekeeper, Linda, followed up every day on the room cleaning which was great. Would definitely recommend and return again. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Booked a quick room on priceline and got a rate of 80 bucks.

Hotel is very basic and has everything a traveler might need. Rooms are spacious and have all basic amenities. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Had a nice pool and workout area.

The staff was very polite and even had a good conversation with the Breakfast attendant. She was very nice.

Great hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vincennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vincennes

Address: 2720 Battery Rd, Vincennes, IN 47591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Vincennes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vincennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vincennes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Vincennes, Indiana Hotel Boasts Premium Comfort Come and enjoy our excellent Vincennes Holiday Inn Express accommodations in Vincennes, IN. Our hotel in historic Vincennes is just 11 miles from Lawrenceville - Vincennes International Airport (LWV). Families will enjoy staying in our Vincennes, IN hotel, located off Highway 41 in beautiful southern Indiana. Vincennes is the oldest city in Indiana and features many buildings from the early 1800s. The hotel is convenient to many local attractions including the Sugar Loaf Indian Mound, the Old Cathedral and the Harrison Mansion, Grouseland. Other nearby sights include the Red Skelton Performing Arts Center and the George Rogers Clark National Historic Park. Business travelers will appreciate our choice accommodations in Vincennes, IN. Situated in a suburban area, our Vincennes hotel is convenient to major cities that include Indianapolis, Evansville, Chicago and St. Louis. We are close to several large companies, such as Wabash Steel, Gemtron, Hamilton Glass and Golden Rule, so you can make it on time to all your meetings. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer and copier. While staying at our Vincennes hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a fitness center and free high-speed Internet access. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Vincennes hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vincennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vincennes Hotel Vincennes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vincennes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.