We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, safe location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great, safe location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Pros: location.... safe and quiet. Plenty of stores walking distance away. R train station close by. Decent breakfast. Friendly staff.

Cons: overpriced. Old out dated look inside. Small rooms. Security guards not helpful at all.

Room Tip: Get a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
59
28
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I love coming here, home to me. The staff are kind, welcoming and will immediatley take care of any issues that may arise. I have come to know many by first names as they do me. WIth children or a child having a free breakfast is so very helpful. Adults can wait, but kids can't an dteh breakfast is nutritious, not just donuts and coffee, but a healthy variety. PArking is on the street or they offer overnight at a price that beats any NY hotel,save stress and have it parker.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed at the Gregory while visiting a family member in Bay Ridge. We had stayed here a few years ago. The staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. Location was convenient to where we wanted to go. Overall a nice stay, will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

best place to stay at, nice rooms, excellent service, great food, excellent entertainment, a little expensive but it is worth the stay, it is in a nice area a lot of places to go and go and eat, great shopping area,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My partner and I came to New York for a family reunion. Not knowing what kind of accomodations the nephew had, we decided to use our Best Western card and looked for a place. Imagine our surprise when we found this hotel only four short blocks from his house. It was a distance we could easily walk. We've stayed in hotels in New York in the past and found them to be wanting. This was quiet, clean and fairly spacious by New York standards. The breakfast served was very adequate and filling. When we come to visit the relatives again, we'll stay at the Gregory. The only downside was the subway rumbled under the street in front of the hotel but we soon got used to it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor right above the front door. Yes, a tree does grow in Brookllyn and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

i have never been in a hotel like this one in the world ! they are like a bunch of rude people !!! from the manager to the employees !!!!!! i recommend you dont give them your car to pARK IT because i gave my car in the night to an employee and in the morning i saw all lights were open from the night and the driver seat was broken !!! so i confirted the employee and he started shouting at me so i talked to the manager there he said its not there fault and started arguing with me saying my car is old and not worth anything !!!! not even taking care of me as a customer ! and in the evening i came to the hotel they didnt accept to take it to the park although i was paying $25 per night so i was trying to solve this issue and they told me to take it or else i will receive a ticket i requested the put a hotel sign for permit parking until i just bring my keys and after minutes only i found a ticket on my car!!!!! it was all their fault !! beacuse the manager told the front desk to call the police and give me a ticket and that how i had a $115 ticket !!!! the employee damaged my car he drives the car in a rude way !! and the manager defends the employee telling me i am a lier! so i wanted to leave the hotel after i have booked 2 rooms and they told me to leave the hotel if i wanted !!! i have never seen such a manager that doesnt take care of the customer !! doesnt he care about the hotel reputation !!!!! and also the service was bad u have to beg them to clean ur room ! such a bad hoteeeeeeeeeeel !!!!

Room Tip: worst service in the world ! and never give them ur car they will damage it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I cannot get into details (for obvious reasons) but most of the information in this review is simply not true. The guest and his family were upset because they wanted us to pay to fix something that was clearly previously broken. They screamed at me and my staff that we needed to pay to fix it (the seat) and that “the customer is always right so you have to pay for it; no questions asked”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We live close by and had to stay in the hotel while we were having a renovations done at home and during a work week so we just needed a place to sleep/eat. Since this is the only decent hotel in town they took advantage. The price per night was very high (Manhattan prices). Bay Ridge is NOT Manhattan so if you're not very very familiar with NY you may think this is okay. Yes, you can sometimes here and feel the subway underground but you would need to be very quite to feel or hear anything. The hotel is clean and the room, although small, suited our needs. The bed was okay, the bathroom seems recently renovated and we had a safe in the room (more about this later). BW's we've stayed at in other areas of the country don't normally have safes in the room which, if you read my other BW reviews, is a major nuisance. There's no fridge or microwave. Maybe since everything in terms of food, etc are steps from the hotel. But after a long work day it would have been nice to at least have a fridge. The staff seemed pleasant enough although I personally did not have one-on-one contact with anyone during our stay. I did request our room be vacuumed one day after we requested that the AC be serviced because it was not working properly. The repair person had left some debris behind. Our request wasn't honored that day but was the next. The AC was fixed-YAY! The continental breakfast was better then in many other hotels. Fresh NY bagels, eggs, bacon, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt. That was a very nice surprise! No plastic wrapped stale danish or expired cereal here. My spouse checked out without much hassle but was asked if you used the safe (??). It seems there's a surcharge for using their safe and you're on the honor system if you use it. So, my final note here is if you in a pinch for a place to stay this is a good option. Just be prepared to pay for it.

Room Tip: Request a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Address: 8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gregory Hotel is ideally located in the beautiful Bay Ridge section of Brooklyn. Guests are two miles from Staten Island and eight miles from the historic Brooklyn Bridge, leading to sightseeing, shopping, corporate offices and nightlife in New York City. The Metro (subway system) is less than two blocks from the hotel as well as major City Bus routes. Each well appointed guest room features Cable Television with Free Internet Access. Guests staying at the Gregory Hotel receive a Free Hot Breakfast and Complimentary Newspaper. The property also features a quaint Lobby Bar. There is a Business Center on property with complimentary internet. All guest room are equipped with complimentary high speed internet access. Valet parking is available at an additional charge. More than 3,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space is available for corporate meeting, seminars, luncheons and cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brooklyn
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;