We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Wayland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Enjoyed everything about the hotel, staff were awesome, beds not all that great, could really use some new mattresses. Great Location, Great Restaurants, Easy walk to shopping, really enjoyed my stay. Off site parking is expensive, so prepare yourself for the extra cost. Lovely old hotel with alot of grace and elegance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    53
    19
    20
See reviews for
76
35
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a neighborhood with access to shopping and great restaurants. The hotel is old. The bathrooms have been upgraded recently. However, the hotel owners need to do something about the carpets and air conditioning. The carpets are wrinkling...they are so old. I wore white socks in my room...bad mistake. They were so dirty from the carpets...ugh!

Air conditioning is variable. One of our rooms was very cool and the other, there was nothing we could do to get it cooler. The housekeeping staff kept opening the drapes after we closed them to keep the sun out. So, that didn't help either. To the hotel's defense, it was very hot the week we were there.

Some of the staff are outstanding: Angelo, Johnny, Russell and most of the valet staff are great. Marie and Julie are great at the front desk. However, there are some new ladies working the front desk that need to return to hospitality school. Even the hotel manager has challenges greeting the guests.

The breakfast is pretty good. One of the attendants is outstanding, Mary is her name. The others make no eye contact, rarely clean off the tables, and have difficulty keeping the food replenished.

Pricing for the hotel is somewhat higher than what one would expect. They probably are banking on the neighborhood.

If you stay here, bring a pair of socks! Linens and bedding are fine...just the dirty old carpets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was concerned about this property based on some previous reviews, but have to give credit where it is due - Best Western Gregory exceeded all expectations and was a great value. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in addition to being very attentive to our needs. While the common area furnishings and finishes are a bit dated, we were extremely pleased with our room. The bathroom was modern and gorgeous. Our bedroom was well-appointed and functional, and the bed was excellent. Sheets, towels, etc. were all clean, and our housekeeper was very good. Our room was on the side of the building, so we had minimal street noise. Never heard a peep from neighbors, and we know they were there because the hotel was full during our stay. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, and being just steps to subway and lot of dining options in all directions. We will stay here again on our next visit to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us. We have other improvements planned for later this year and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacey wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here in April while on vacation. The rooms are small and a little outdated but a great bargain. It is close to small neighborhood restaurants and close to the subway. Angelo and the other employees treated us great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing very helpful feedback! We have recently completed bathroom renovations for a vast majority of our hotel and we have other improvements planned for later this year. Thanks again for your very helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Easily identified as very old fashioned. Our bathroom's fixtures looked identical to my parents' bathroom they had renovated in 1963. Throughout the hotel floors, carpets, everything is just a bit too worn. Are you driving? They have valet parking for a fee (I think it was $20-$25) or you can drive around for quite a while looking for street parking, which may or may not be at a meter. I found the staff complaining about each other in a he-said/she-said sort of way that I should not have heard. Only the bellman was extraordinarily helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Every room is a different shape and size, so have a good long conversation with the front desk staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing very helpful feedback! We have recently completed bathroom renovations for a vast majority of our hotel but you must have stayed in one of the last OLD bathrooms. Please give us another try, and I personally promise that I will make sure that you get a free upgrade and get a NEW bathroom. Thanks again for your very helpful comments.

Barry Gilliland
General Manager
(718) 238-3737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently stayed here before the Bike NY 5 Boro Bike Ride and cannot believe some of the negative comments posted. I called the hotel several times before we arrived and was pleased with the help I received and while we were there, they were very attentive to what we needed like having a safe place to store our bikes overnight. I can't say what the food might have been like since we left at 4:45 a.m. but the man handling our car was very prompt and friendly, even at that early hour of the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel since the price, for the City, was reasonable, clean and yes smaller rooms but you are in the City!!! Also, there are many good restaurants in the area that are good in various price ranges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Address: 8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gregory Hotel is ideally located in the beautiful Bay Ridge section of Brooklyn. Guests are two miles from Staten Island and eight miles from the historic Brooklyn Bridge, leading to sightseeing, shopping, corporate offices and nightlife in New York City. The Metro (subway system) is less than two blocks from the hotel as well as major City Bus routes. Each well appointed guest room features Cable Television with Free Internet Access. Guests staying at the Gregory Hotel receive a Free Hot Breakfast and Complimentary Newspaper. The property also features a quaint Lobby Bar. There is a Business Center on property with complimentary internet. All guest room are equipped with complimentary high speed internet access. Valet parking is available at an additional charge. More than 3,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space is available for corporate meeting, seminars, luncheons and cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brooklyn
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.