We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was concerned about this property based on some previous reviews, but have to give credit where it is due - Best Western Gregory exceeded all expectations and was a great value. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in addition to being very attentive to our needs. While the common area furnishings and finishes are a bit dated, we were extremely pleased with our room. The bathroom was modern and gorgeous. Our bedroom was well-appointed and functional, and the bed was excellent. Sheets, towels, etc. were all clean, and our housekeeper was very good. Our room was on the side of the building, so we had minimal street noise. Never heard a peep from neighbors, and we know they were there because the hotel was full during our stay. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, and being just steps to subway and lot of dining options in all directions. We will stay here again on our next visit to Brooklyn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us. We have other improvements planned for later this year and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    63
    48
    18
    20
See reviews for
65
30
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lacey wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here in April while on vacation. The rooms are small and a little outdated but a great bargain. It is close to small neighborhood restaurants and close to the subway. Angelo and the other employees treated us great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing very helpful feedback! We have recently completed bathroom renovations for a vast majority of our hotel and we have other improvements planned for later this year. Thanks again for your very helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Easily identified as very old fashioned. Our bathroom's fixtures looked identical to my parents' bathroom they had renovated in 1963. Throughout the hotel floors, carpets, everything is just a bit too worn. Are you driving? They have valet parking for a fee (I think it was $20-$25) or you can drive around for quite a while looking for street parking, which may or may not be at a meter. I found the staff complaining about each other in a he-said/she-said sort of way that I should not have heard. Only the bellman was extraordinarily helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Every room is a different shape and size, so have a good long conversation with the front desk staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing very helpful feedback! We have recently completed bathroom renovations for a vast majority of our hotel but you must have stayed in one of the last OLD bathrooms. Please give us another try, and I personally promise that I will make sure that you get a free upgrade and get a NEW bathroom. Thanks again for your very helpful comments.

Barry Gilliland
General Manager
(718) 238-3737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently stayed here before the Bike NY 5 Boro Bike Ride and cannot believe some of the negative comments posted. I called the hotel several times before we arrived and was pleased with the help I received and while we were there, they were very attentive to what we needed like having a safe place to store our bikes overnight. I can't say what the food might have been like since we left at 4:45 a.m. but the man handling our car was very prompt and friendly, even at that early hour of the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel since the price, for the City, was reasonable, clean and yes smaller rooms but you are in the City!!! Also, there are many good restaurants in the area that are good in various price ranges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ok, I could whinge on about the plastic cutlery, paper cups and TV blasting away at breakfast - or the old lady next door with her telly making the walls of my room shake from time to time - but I'm not going to. And that's because everyone I've bumped into here, whether they be staff or guests, has been thoroughly friendly, delightful and engaging. This is a hotel with a good heart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are working hard to make improvements and your feedback goes a long ways towards that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family who wanted a safe Brooklyn neighborhood with shops & restaurants & good access to Manhattan. It is a bit pricey but right by the subway and near good dining & shopping. Nice place to stay near Manhattan. Would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gregory_GM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We look forward to your next visit!

Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel

Address: 8315 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gregory Hotel is ideally located in the beautiful Bay Ridge section of Brooklyn. Guests are two miles from Staten Island and eight miles from the historic Brooklyn Bridge, leading to sightseeing, shopping, corporate offices and nightlife in New York City. The Metro (subway system) is less than two blocks from the hotel as well as major City Bus routes. Each well appointed guest room features Cable Television with Free Internet Access. Guests staying at the Gregory Hotel receive a Free Hot Breakfast and Complimentary Newspaper. The property also features a quaint Lobby Bar. There is a Business Center on property with complimentary internet. All guest room are equipped with complimentary high speed internet access. Valet parking is available at an additional charge. More than 3,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space is available for corporate meeting, seminars, luncheons and cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brooklyn
Brooklyn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gregory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.